BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2020 Giro della Toscana - Memorial Alfredo Martini (1.1), Italy

92nd edition: September 16, 2020

Giro della Toscana podium history | 2019 edition

Pontedera - Pontedera, 182.9 km

Fernando Gaviria

Fernando Gaviria has this sprint nailed from way back. Sirotti photo

Weather at the start/finish city of Pontedera at 1:50 PM, local time: 31C (88F), sunny, with the wind from the northwest at 8 km/hr (5 mph). There is a 5% chance of rain.

The Race: Here's the report from winner Fernando Gaviria's UAE-Team Emirates.

Fernando Gaviria took his 6th win of the season, coming home first to win the bunch sprint at the Giro della Toscana in Italy.

Gaviria opened up his sprint with more than 400m to go after the 182.9km day starting and finishing in Pontedera.

The win marks his 46th career victory and the 25th win of the year for UAE Team Emirates.

Gaviria: “Whenever I pin a number on my bike I want to try and win. I made a couple of mistakes in Tirreno but I’ve recovered well since then and today we did a good job as a team. I was sitting a bit further down the group trying to stay out of stress and I saw an opportunity to go early in the sprint and I managed to get a big gap and luckily no-one came past me.”

Meanwhile Jasper Philipsen just fell short of his second win of the season, the Belgian being edged out by Frenchman Arnaud Demare (Groupama-FDJ). The stage was neutralized early-on for over 100km due to issues with road traffic, though action resumed in the final hour at which point the racing began to heat up.

Ulissi finished safely in the pack and continues to wear the yellow jersey as leader of the general classification.

UAE Team Emirates also lead the team classification while Philipsen holds second overall, the points jersey and the young riders jersey.

Complete results:

182.9 kilometers raced at an average speed of 43.103 km/hr

1 GAVIRIA Fernando UAE-Team Emirates 4hr 14min 36sec
2 STANNARD Robert Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
3 HAYTER Ethan INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
4 GHIRMAY Biniam Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
5 BISSEGGER Stefan Switzerland s.t.
6 PACIONI Luca Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
7 ROELANDTS Jurgen Movistar s.t.
8 VERMEERSCH Florian Lotto-Soudal s.t.
9 PASQUALON Andrea Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
10 CIMA Imerio Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
11 KONYCHEV Alexander Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
12 SOTO Nelson Colombia Tierra de Atletas s.t.
13 BARBERO Carlos NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
14 MOSCA Jacopo Italy s.t.
15 BOUHANNI Nacer Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
16 VELASCO Simone Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
17 BATTAGLIN Enrico Bahrain-McLaren s.t.
18 FIORELLI Filippo Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
19 GABBURO Davide Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
20 GOLDSTEIN Omer Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
21 TIZZA Marco Italy s.t.
22 AMADORI Marino Italy s.t.
23 SCHMIDT Mads Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
24 RUEGG Lukas Switzerland s.t.
25 VENCHIARUTTI Nicola Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
26 DI SANTE Antonio Sangemini Trevigiani s.t.
27 MARINOZZI Alessandro Sangemini Trevigiani s.t.
28 PEAK Barnabas Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
29 GRONDIN Donavan Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
30 AULAR Orluis Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
31 SMITH Dion Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
32 MARTIN Gotzon Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
33 MAES Nikolas Lotto-Soudal s.t.
34 AZURMENDI Ibai Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
35 NESI Nicolas D'Amico-UM Tools s.t.
36 BAIS Mattia Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
37 TIBERI Antonio Italy s.t.
38 ARCAS Jorge Movistar s.t.
39 RUMAC Josip Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
40 BONGIORNO Francesco Vini Zabù KTM s.t.
41 MURGANO Marco Italy s.t.
42 MAZZUCCO Fabio Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
43 BATTISTELLA Samuele NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
44 PETILLI Simone Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
45 DE ROSSI Lucas Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
46 FLUCKIGER Mathias Switzerland s.t.
47 CONCI Nicola Italy s.t.
48 LAMMERTINK Maurits Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
49 RIABUSHENKO Alexandr UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
50 ROTA Lorenzo Vini Zabù KTM s.t.
51 ATAPUMA Darwin Colombia Tierra de Atletas s.t.
52 ARASHIRO Yukiya Bahrain-McLaren s.t.
53 DLAMINI Nic NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
54 ROMANO Francesco Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
55 HAILEMICHAEL Mulu Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
56 COVILI Luca Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
57 GRMAY Tsgabu Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
58 EIKING Odd Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
59 ZARDINI Edoardo Vini Zabù KTM s.t.
60 MITRI James Vini Zabù KTM s.t.
61 INKELAAR Kevin Bahrain-McLaren s.t.
62 FERNANDEZ Delio Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
63 TORTOMASI Leonardo Vini Zabù KTM s.t.
64 BARONI Alessandro Italy s.t.
65 RAVANELLI Simone Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
66 COVI Alessandro UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
67 PICCOLI James Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
68 FINETTO Mauro Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
69 BASSO Leonardo INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
70 RODRIGUEZ Cristian Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
71 MOSCON Gianni INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
72 AGUIRRE Hernan Colombia Tierra de Atletas s.t.
73 COLOMBO Filippo Switzerland s.t.
74 DIAZ Jose Manuel Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
75 SCHULTZ Nick Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
76 MARTINELLI Ivan D'Amico-UM Tools s.t.
77 RAGGIO Luca D'Amico-UM Tools s.t.
78 PEDRERO Antonio Movistar s.t.
79 HENAO Sebastian INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
80 GHEBREIGZABHIER Amanuel NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
81 DELAPLACE Anthony Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
82 ZANA Filippo Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
83 TONELLI Alessandro Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
84 NORSGAARD Mathias Movistar s.t.
85 BROWN Connor NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
86 MADER Gino NTT Pro Cycling @ 1min 51sec
87 DEWULF Stan Lotto-Soudal s.t.
88 DOUBEY Fabien Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
89 RODRIGUEZ Carlos INEOS Grenadiers 2:03
90 RADICE Raffaele Sangemini Trevigiani 2:15
91 HOLMES Matthew Lotto-Soudal 2:57
92 ELOSEGUI Inigo Movistar s.t.
93 VITZTHUM Simon Switzerland 3:28
94 HOLLMANN Juri Movistar s.t.
95 MOLANO Juan UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
96 SUTHERLAND Rory Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
97 BADILATTI Matteo Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
98 HANSEN Adam Lotto-Soudal s.t.
99 BOEV Igor Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
100 ZEA Luis Daniel Sangemini Trevigiani s.t.
101 GARCIA Carlos Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
102 CARR Simon Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
103 REUTIMANN Mathias Switzerland s.t.
104 HOLLENSTEIN Reto Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
105 GOLAS Michał INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
106 NOVAK Domen Bahrain-McLaren s.t.
107 MCCABE Travis Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
108 MORA Sebastian Movistar s.t.
109 SCOTSON Callum Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
110 SALVIETTI Niccolo Sangemini Trevigiani s.t.
111 QUIROZ Oscar Colombia Tierra de Atletas s.t.
112 RICHEZE Maximiliano UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
113 KUZMIN Anton Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
114 CIMA Damiano Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
115 ANGULO Antonio Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
116 DUPONT Timothy Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
117 WILLIAMS Stephen Bahrain-McLaren s.t.
118 KNEES Christian INEOS Grenadiers 7:03
119 BOU Joan Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
120 KULIKOV Vladislav Gazprom-RusVelo 7:31
121 BIZKARRA Mikel Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
122 ITURRIA Mikel Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.