BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2021 Giro dell'Emilia (1.Pro) Results

104th edition: Saturday, October 2, 2021

Giro dell'Emilia podium history | 2020 edition | 2022 edition | Course map & profile | Photos

Tuesday, October 2: Caselecchio di Reno - San Luca (Bologna), Italy. 195.3 km

Primoz Roglic

Primoz Roglic takes a solo win in San Luca. Sirotti photo

Weather at the finish city of Bologna at 1:45 PM, local time: 22C (71F), fair, with the wind from the east at 13 km/hr (8 mph). In the late afternoon there is a 20% chance of rain.

Cycling's 50 Craziest Stories

The race: Here's the report from winner Primoz Roglic's Jumbo-Visma team.

Primoz Roglic has won the Giro dell’Emilia for the second time. The many top riders made for an attractive race, in which the Slovenian of Team Jumbo-Visma won on the final climb.

The overture of a quartet of Italian autumn classics had a traditional course. Ten riders escaped. The peloton did not allow them to increase their lead too much. At the foot of the hill towards the Basilica of San Luca, which had to be conquered five times, the battle really started. Eight riders, including Roglic and Jonas Vingegaard, outflanked the original break of the day.

What followed was an exciting battle between the riders at the front. Roglic rode alertly and parried attacks from Remco Evenepoel, Joao Almeida, Michael Woods and Adam Yates, among others. In the last kilometre he decided to accelerate. The Slovenian then crossed the finish line solo and won. As a result, he increased his number of season wins to twelve. Team Jumbo-Visma’s victory tally is now at 41. If the Olympic time trial title of the Slovenian is included, the number 42.

“It was a tough race”, Roglic acknowledged. “We were in control of the race all day. The whole team contributed to that. At about forty kilometers from the finish line, we came to the front with several strong riders. It was a good scenario that Jonas and I were there, and a little before that Sepp as well. We rode alertly all day and were in the places we wanted to be. I was able to follow every attack in the final phase.

"In the last few hundred metres I saw my chance and decided to attack myself. Luckily I had good legs and I was able to take the victory. Again I enjoyed the crowd along the side. That makes this victory extra nice. I have a lot of good memories of this climb and I’m glad I was able to add one today. Hopefully, I can return here in the future and fight for victory again. The focus now is on Milan-Turin and the Tour of Lombardy. I’m ready to end the season in a beautiful way”, ended Roglic, who also won the prologue of the Giro at San Luca.

Les Woodlands book Cycling's 50 Craziest Stories is available as an audiobook here.

Complete Results:


195.3 kilometers raced at an average speed of 39.799 km/hr

1 Primoz Roglic Jumbo-Visma 4hr 54min 26sec
2 Joao Almeida Deceuninck-Quick Step @ 3sec
3 Michael Woods Israel Start-Up Nation 0:05
4 Adam Yates INEOS Grenadiers 0:10
5 Remco Evenepoel Deceuninck-Quick Step 0:28
6 Daniel Martin Israel Start-Up Nation 1:23
7 Bauke Mollema Trek-Segafredo 1:45
8 Diego Ulissi UAE Team Emirates 1:46
9 Ben Hermans Israel Start-Up Nation 1:50
10 Nairo Quintana Arkéa-Samsic 1:59
11 Alessandro de Marchi Israel Start-Up Nation 2:05
12 Jonas Vingegaard Jumbo-Visma 2:09
13 Cristian Scaroni Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
14 Domenico Pozzovivo Qhubeka-NextHash 2:11
15 Steven Kruijswijk Jumbo-Visma 2:15
16 Steff Cras Lotto Soudal 2:23
17 Pavel Sivakov INEOS Grenadiers 2:46
18 Clement Champoussin Ag2r-Citroën 3:08
19 Giovanni Aleotti BORA-hansgrohe 3:59
20 Neilson Powless EF Education-Nippo 4:23
21 Clement Berthet Ag2r-Citroën 4:27
22 Harm Vanhoucke Lotto Soudal 4:29
23 Simone Velasco Gazprom-RusVelo 4:42
24 Rigoberto Uran EF Education-Nippo 5:21
25 Sepp Kuss Jumbo-Visma s.t.
26 David Gaudu Groupama-FDJ 5:41
27 Pierre Latour TotalEnergies s.t.
28 Geoffrey Bouchard Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
29 Sergio Higuita EF Education-Nippo s.t.
30 Fausto Masnada Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
31 Andrea Bagioli Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
32 Elie Gesbert Arkéa-Samsic 5:56
33 Daniel Savini Bardiani CSF Faizanè 6:01
34 Simone Ravanelli Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec 6:17
35 Jaakko Hanninen Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
36 Aleksandr Vlasov Astana-Premier Tech s.t.
37 Attila Valter Groupama-FDJ 6:27
38 Andrea Garosio Bardiani CSF Faizanè 6:47
39 Ruben Guerreiro EF Education-Nippo 6:52
40 Giovanni Carboni Bardiani CSF Faizanè 7:33
41 Jimmy Whelan EF Education-Nippo 8:07
42 Dayer Quintana Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
43 Koen Bouwman Jumbo-Visma 8:10
44 Matteo Badilatti Groupama-FDJ s.t.
45 Riccardo Lucca General Store-Essegibi s.t.
46 Luca Chirico Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec 8:27
47 Mattia Bais Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
48 Erik Fetter Eolo-Kometa s.t.
49 Thibaut Pinot Groupama-FDJ 8:30
50 Julien Bernard Trek-Segafredo s.t.
51 Kevin Colleoni Team BikeExchange 8:41
52 Luca Covili Bardiani CSF Faizanè 8:46
53 Matteo Fabbro Bora-hansgrohe 9:10
54 Edoardo Zardini Vini Zabù 9:32
55 Samuele Zoccarato Bardiani CSF Faizanè 10:38

2021 Giro dell'Emilia map & profile:

Giro Emilia map

2021 Giro dell'Emilia map

Dieo Emilia map

2021 Giro dell'Emilia profile

2021 Giro dell'Emilia photos by Fotoreporter Sirotti:


Groupama-FDJ is introduced during the starting ceremonies.


It's about time to race.

Primoz roglic

Primoz Roglic wins this ancient race.

Joao Almeida

Joao Almeida was second.

Michael Woods

Michael Woods finished third.

Primoz roglic

Roglic just after winnng the race.

Primoz Roglic

Winner Pirmoz Roglic with Adriano Amici, head of the organization the runs the Giro dell'Emilia


The podium, from left: Joao Almeida (2nd), Primoz Roglic (1st) & Michael Woods (3rd).