BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2018 Coppa Ugo Agostoni - Giro delle Brianze
(1.1), Italy

72nd edition: Saturday, September 15, 2018

Coppa Agostoni podium history | 2017 edition | 2019 edition

Lissone - Lissone, 199.9 km

Gianni Moscon

Gianni Moscon wins the 72nd Coppa Agostoni

The race: Here's the report from winner Gianni Moscon's Team Sky.

Gianni Moscon secured an impressive victory at Coppa Agostoni following a long-range breakaway effort. The Italian powered clear of the pack on the tough roads around Lissone and forged on into the final 60 kilometres. Moscon was joined by Damiano Caruso (Italy/BMC Racing), with Angel Madrazo (Delko Marseille) bolstering their ranks as they caught the day’s breakaway.

Team Sky had worked hard on the front during the day to keep the early move in check, providing an ideal launchpad for Moscon’s move. With two groups giving chase behind, Rein Taaramae (Direct Energie) made the bridge across the gap and it would be he and Moscon who headed into the final kilometre together.

Moscon played it cool to comfortably win the two-up sprint, taking his first victory of the year in the process.

A strong performance from the team was boosted further by the involvement of three new riders, with Eddie Dunbar, plus stagiaires Mark Donovan and Ethan Hayter, working hard on their debut in Team Sky colours.

Sport Director Dario Cioni was a happy man after the race and talked us through an impressive day for the team. He told "It was a hard race and also a long way from the local circuit to the finish line. This was a challenge, but Gianni was very motivated to work and he's done a lot of training up on the Stelvio. Obviously today he also wanted to show to the Italian team ahead of the world championships that he is ready to race.

"He did a ride very similar to what Egan (Bernal) did last year and we decided to take it on. Mark Donovan was pulling early on, and then Eddie and (Michal) Golas took it up before the last two climbs. That is where Gianni went and he managed to get away. It was a long way with a small gap, but we know he is a good time triallist so we were confident that he could hold on.

"When Taaramae came across that was a good thing and that helped a lot for the last 10km. Gianni played it really smart at the finish. He put himself in the best position and started the last kilometre on the wheel. He was very smart."

Complete results

199.9 kilometers raced at an average speed of 41.423 km/hr

1 Gianni Moscon Sky 4hr 49min 33sec
2 Rein Taaramäe Direct Energie @ 1sec
3 Enrico Gasparotto Bahrain-Merida +23''
4 Luca Wackermann Bardiani-CSF +24''
5 Pierpaolo Ficara Amore & Vita-Prodir +30''
6 Davide Orrico Vorarlberg-Santic s.t.
7 Anthony Delaplace Fortuneo-Samsic +32''
8 Marc Hirschi Switzerland +34''
9 Ivan Rovnyi Gazprom-RusVelo +54''
10 Francesco Gavazzi Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
11 Mauro Finetto Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
12 Romain Bardet Ag2r La Mondiale +55''
13 Damiano Caruso Italy s.t.
14 Ivan Santaromita Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
15 Ángel Madrazo Delko-Marseille Provence +1' 40''
16 Davide Ballerini Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec +4' 24''
17 Simone Ponzi Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
18 Kristian Sbaragli Israel Cycling Academy s.t.
19 Grega Bole Bahrain-Merida s.t.
20 Simone Ravanelli Italy +4' 25''
21 Lorenzo Rota Bardiani-CSF s.t.
22 Marco Tizza Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
23 Jon Irisarri Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
24 Pierre-Luc Périchon Fortuneo-Samsic s.t.
25 Lilian Calmejane Direct Energie s.t.
26 Delio Fernández Delko-Marseille Provence s.t.
27 Mattia Cattaneo Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
28 Marco Canola Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
29 Giovanni Visconti Bahrain-Merida s.t.
30 Gordian Banzer Switzerland s.t.
31 Fausto Masnada Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
32 Romain Sicard Direct Energie +4' 26''
33 Gino Mäder Switzerland s.t.
34 Edoardo Zardini Wilier Triestina-Selle Italia s.t.
35 Maxime Bouet Fortuneo-Samsic s.t.
36 Diego Rosa Sky +4' 27''
37 Eros Capecchi Italy +4' 28''
38 Kilian Frankiny Switzerland s.t.
39 Matteo Fabbro Italy +4' 33''
40 Eddie Dunbar Sky s.t.
41 Benoît Cosnefroy Ag2r La Mondiale s.t.
42 Samuele Battistella Italy s.t.
43 Daniel Turek Israel Cycling Academy +4' 34''
44 Edwin Ávila Israel Cycling Academy s.t.