BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2012 Tour de France
July, 2012

Stage 14, Sunday, July 15: Limoux - Foix, 191 km

Back to 2012 Tour de France | Stage 14 map and profile | Stage 14 photos |

Stage 14, Sunday, July 15: Limoux - Foix, 191 km. High mountains

Major ascents:

Stage 14 finish

The Race: Tacks were scattered on the road near the top of the Mur de Péguère, causing chaos. Cadel Evans had to get at least three wheel changes. The pack rode a semi-neutralized ride in to the finish.

Five riders (Luis-Leon Sanchez, Peter Sagan, Sandy Casar, Philippe Gilbert, Gorka Izaguirre) pulled free of the day's break on the final climb. Sanchez attacked on a small rise with about 10 kilometers to go, just as Sagan was eating. He grew his gap over the remaining kilometers for the stage win.

No change to the top standings with the pack shutting down the race after Cadel Evans regained the field and an attempted escape by Pierre Rolland was ended.

Results: 162 classified finishers.

  1. Luis-Leon Sanchez (Rabobank) 4hr 50min 29sec. 39.4 km/hr
  2. Peter Sagan (Liquigas) @ 47sec
  3. Sandy Casar (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  4. Philippe Gilbert (BMC) s.t.
  5. Gorka Izaguirre (Euskaltel) s.t.
  6. Sergio Paulinho (Saxo-Tinkoff) @ 2min 51sec
  7. Sébastien Minard (Ag2r) s.t.
  8. Martin Velits (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 3min 49sec
  9. Eduard Vorganov (Katusha) @ 4min 51sec
  10. Steven Kruijswijk (Rabobank) @ 4min 53sec
  11. Cyril Gautier (Europcar) @ 14min 53sec
  12. Luis Angel Mate (Cofidis) @ 18min 15sec
  13. Julien Simon (Saur-Sojasun) s.t.
  14. Mikael Cherel (Ag2r) s.t.
  15. Bradley Wiggins (Sky) s.t.
  16. Cadel Evans (BMC) s.t.
  17. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas) s.t.
  18. Kristijan Koren (Liquigas) s.t.
  19. Brice Feillu (Saur-Sojasun) s.t.
  20. Christopher Froome (Sky) s.t.
  21. Johnny Hoogerland (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  22. Christian Knees (Sky) s.t.
  23. Matthieu Ladagnous (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  24. Chris Anker Sorensen (Saxo-Tinkoff) s.t.
  25. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) s.t.
  26. Davide Malacarne (Europcar) s.t.
  27. Haimar Zubeldia (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  28. Nicolas Roche (Ag2r) s.t.
  29. Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  30. Michael Rogers (Sky) s.t.
  31. Michael Schär (BMC) s.t.
  32. Richie Porte (Sky) s.t.
  33. Janez Brajkovic (Astana) s.t.
  34. Francis De Greef (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  35. Maxime Monfort (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  36. Pierre Rolland (Europcar) s.t.
  37. Maxime Bouet (Ag2r) s.t.
  38. Rui Alberto Faria da Costa (Movistar) s.t.
  39. Jérôme Coppel (Saur-Sojasun) s.t.
  40. Amaël Moinard (BMC) s.t.
  41. Frank Schleck (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  42. Thibaut Pinot (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  43. Manuel Quinziato (BMC) s.t.
  44. George Hincapie (BMC) s.t.
  45. Andriy Grivko (Astana) s.t.
  46. Federico Canuti (Liquigas) s.t.
  47. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) s.t.
  48. Sylvester Szmud (Liquigas) s.t.
  49. Fredrik Kessiakoff (Astana) s.t.
  50. Tejay Van Garderen (BMC) s.t.

General Classification: 2,593 km raced so far at an average speed of 40.08 km/hr

  1. Bradley Wiggins (Sky) 64hr 41min 16sec
  2. Christopher Froome (Sky) @ 2min 5sec
  3. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas) @ 2min 23sec
  4. Cadel Evans (BMC) @ 3min 19sec
  5. Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Lotto-Belisol) @ 4min 48sec
  6. Haimar Zubeldia (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 6min 15sec
  7. Tejay Van Garderen (BMC) @ 6min 57sec
  8. Janez Brajkovic (Astana) @ 7min 30sec
  9. Pierre Rolland (Europcar) @ 8min 31sec
  10. Thibaut Pinot (FDJ-Big Mat) @ 8min 51sec
  11. Andréas Klöden (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 9min 29sec
  12. Fran Schleck (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 9min 45sec
  13. Nicolas Roche (Ag2r) @ 10min 49sec
  14. Jérôme Coppel (Saur-Sojasun) @ 11min 27sec
  15. Christopher Horner (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 12min 41sec
  16. Denis Menchov (Katusha) @ 17min 21sec
  17. Maxime Monfort (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 17min 41sec
  18. Egoi Martinez (Euskaltel) @ 18min 4sec
  19. Rui Alberto Faria da Costa (Movistar) @ 19min 2sec
  20. Chris Anker Sorensen (Saxo-Tinkoff) @ 20min 12sec
  21. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) @ 20min 32sec
  22. Eduard Vorganov (Katusha) @ 20min 35sec
  23. Sandy Casar (FDJ-Big Mat) @ 27min 3sec
  24. Peter Velits (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 27min 37sec
  25. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) @ 32min 59sec
  26. Michael Rogers (Sky) @ 33min 13sec
  27. Jelle Venendert (Lotto-Belisol) @ 44min 45sec
  28. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) @ 45min 13sec
  29. Laurens Ten Dam (Rabobank) @ 45min 35sec
  30. Levi Leipheimer (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 47min 17sec
  31. Peter Sagen (Liquigas) @ 47min 32sec
  32. Steven Kruijswijk (Rabobank) @ 48min 34sec
  33. Juan José Cobo (Movistar) @ 54min 40sec
  34. Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) @ 56min 6sec
  35. Philippe Gilbert (BMC) @ 56min 19sec
  36. Alexandre Vinokourov (Astana) @ 56min 43sec
  37. Rein Taaramae (Cofidis) @ 58min 59sec
  38. Jean-Christophe Peraud (Ag2r) s.t.
  39. Gianpaolo Caruso (Katusha) @ 1hr 0min 39sec
  40. Gorka Izaguirre (Euskaltel) @ 1hr 4min 31sec
  41. George Hincapie (BMC) @ 1hr 4min 55sec
  42. Richie Porte (SKY) @ 1hr 5min 26sec
  43. Rafael Valls (Vacansoleil) @ 1hr 6min 40sec
  44. Mikel Cherel (Ag2r) @ 1hr 9min 23sec
  45. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil) @ 1hr 10min 52sec
  46. Cyril Gautier (Europcar) @ 1hr 11min 52sec
  47. Davide Malacarne (Europcar) @ 1hr 12min 30sec
  48. Michael Schär (BMC) @ 1hr 13min 24sec
  49. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) @ 1hr 13min 33sec
  50. Maxime Bouet (Ag2r) @ 1hr 13min 34sec


  1. Fredrik Kessiakoff (Astana): 69 points
  2. Pierre Rolland (Europcar): 55
  3. Chris Anker Sorensen (Saxo-Tinkoff): 39
  4. Thomas Voeckler (Europcar): 33
  5. Michele Scarponi (Lampre): 33


  1. Peter Sagan (Liquigas): 333 points
  2. André Greipel (Lotto-Belisol): 236
  3. Matthew Harley Goss (Orica-GreenEdge): 203
  4. Mark Cavendish (Sky): 129
  5. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky): 125

Young Rider:

  1. Tejay Van Garderen (BMC) 64hr 48min 13sec
  2. Thibaut Pinot (FDJ-Big Mat) @ 1min 54sec
  3. Peter Sagan (Liquigas) @ 40min 35sec
  4. Steven Kruijswijk (Rabobank) @ 41min 37sec
  5. Rein Taaramae (Cofidis) @ 52min 2sec

Team Classification:

  1. Radio Shack-Nissan: 194hr 16min 22sec
  2. Sky @ 12min 38sec
  3. BMC @ 17min 47sec
  4. Astana @ 25min 19sec
  5. Liquigas @ 40min 33sec

Stage 14 map and profile

Stage 14 map

Stage 14 map

Stage 14 profile

Stage 14 profile

Stage 14 photos


The break on the way into Foix, but before Sanchez has escaped. Philippe Gilbert is in front.

Sprint for second

Peter Sagen wins the sprint for second

Sergio Paulinho and Sebastein minard

Sixth and seventh place, Sergio Paulinho and Sebastien Minard

Martin Velits

Martin Velits

Cyril Gautier

Cyril Gautier and Steven Kruijswijk


18 minutes later the peloton showed up, here led by Jurgen van den Broeck and Frank Schleck


Wiggins and Nibali are close by.

Pack finishes

The pack finishes

Michele Scarponi

Michele Scarponi

Levi Leipheimer

Levi Leipheimer

Chris Horner

Chris Horner

Jens Voigt

Jens Voigt

Brett Lancaster

Brett Lancaster




Here they are.

Vincenzo Nibali

Vincenzo Nibali interviewed after the stage.

Mark Cavendish

The day's pace was easy enough that Cavendish did some of the tempo riding for Sky in the hills.


Evidence of the sabotage. One of the photgrapher's motorcycle tire with tacks imbedded.

Wheel with tacks

Another one...

Luis leon Sanchez

A well-earned victory by Luis Leon Sanchez

Bradley Wiggins

Wiggins was unchallenged today.

Fredrik Kessiakoff

Fredrik Kessiakoff keeps the dots.


A fine castle at Foix, the finish town.