BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2012 Tour de France
July, 2012

Stage 5, Thursday, July 5: Rouen - Saint Quentin, 197 km

Back to 2012 Tour de France | Stage 5 map and profile | Photos from stage 5

Stage 5, Thursday, July 5: Rouen - Saint Quentin, 196.5 km

Stage 5 finish

The Race: The peloton let a four-man break stay away until the final kilometer. A rise shortly before the finish probably took away some of Mark Cavendish's speed. Also, with less than three kilometers to go there was a crash which delayed Peter Sagen. That left the field open to André Greipel and his Lotto-Belisol team, who timed things perfectly.

Fabian Cancellara retained his lead in the General Classification. With a single category four climb tomorrow, Cancellara will probably retain the Yellow Jersey until Saturday, when the stage ends with a hilltop finish at the top of the first category La Planche des Belles Filles.


  1. André Greipel (Lotto-Belisol) 4hr 41min 28sec. 41.9 km/hr
  2. Matthew Harley Goss (Orica-Green Edge) s.t.
  3. Juan José Haedo (Saxo-Tinkoff)
  4. Mark Cavendish (Sky) s.t.
  5. Samuel Dumoulin (Cofidis) s.t.
  6. Tom Veelers (Argos-Shimano) s.t.
  7. Oscar Freire (Katusha) s.t.
  8. Alessandro Petacchi (Lampre) s.t.
  9. Sébastien Hinault (Ag2r) s.t.
  10. Yohann Gene (Europcar) s.t.
  11. Bauke Mollema (Rabobank) s.t.
  12. Matthieu Ladagnous (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  13. Borut Bozic (Astana) s.t.
  14. Kenny Robert Van Hummel (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  15. Egoi Martinez (Euskaltel) s.t.
  16. Janez Brajkovic (Astana) s.t.
  17. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel) s.t.
  18. Bradley Wiggins (Sky) s.t.
  19. David Millar (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  20. Michael Schär (BMC) s.t.
  21. Peter Velits (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  22. Andréas Klöden (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  23. Gorka Izaguirre (Euskaltel) s.t.
  24. Tony Gallopin (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  25. Pablo Urtasun (Euskaltel) s.t.
  26. Cadel Evans (BMC) s.t.
  27. Christopher Froome (Sky) s.t.
  28. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas) s.t.
  29. Andriy Grivko (Astana) s.t.
  30. Daryl Impey (Orica-GreenEdge) s.t.
  31. Haimar Zubeldia (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  32. Fabian Cancellara (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  33. Jérôme Coppel (Saur-Sojasun) s.t.
  34. Nicolas roche (Ag2r) s.t.
  35. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  36. Jan Ghyselinck (Cofidis) s.t.
  37. Tejay Van Garderen (BMC) s.t.
  38. Michael Rogers (Sky) s.t.
  39. Koen De Kort (Argos-Shimano) s.t.
  40. George Hincapie (BMC) s.t.
  41. Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  42. Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  43. Denis Menchov (Katusha) s.t.
  44. Vladimir Gusev (Katusha) s.t.
  45. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Sharp s.t.
  46. Robert Gesink (Rabobank) s. t.
  47. Rein Taaramae (Cofidis) s.t.
  48. Mikel Astarloza (Euskaltel) s.t.
  49. Fredrik Kessiakoff (Astana) s.t.
  50. Christopher Horner (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.

General Classification: 1,013.5 km raced so far at an average speed of 40.94 km/hr

  1. Fabian Cancellara (Radio Shack-Nissan) 24hr 45min 30sec
  2. Bradley Wiggins (Sky) @ 7sec
  3. Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  4. Tejay Van Garderen (BMC) @ 10sec
  5. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) @ 11sec
  6. Denis Menchov (Katusha) @ 13sec
  7. Cadel Evans (BMC) @ 17sec
  8. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas) @ 19se
  9. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  10. Andréas Klöden (Radio shack-Nissan) @ 19sec
  11. Bauke Mollema (Rabobank) @ 21sec
  12. Maxime Monfort (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 22sec
  13. Janez Brajkovic (Astana) s.t.
  14. Rein Taarame (Cofidis) s.t.
  15. Peter Sagen (Liquigas) @ 23sec
  16. Jean-Christophe Peraud (Ag2r) s.t.
  17. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  18. Vladimir Gusev (Katusha) @ 24sec
  19. Haimar Zubeldia (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  20. Wouter Poels (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  21. Nicolas Roche (Ag2r) @ 25sec
  22. Michael Rogers (sky) s.t.
  23. Robert Gesink (Rabobank) @ 26sec
  24. Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Lotto-Belisol) @ 28sec
  25. Dries Devenyns (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 29sec
  26. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) s.t.
  27. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) @ 35sec
  28. Eduard Vorganov (Katusha) s.t.
  29. Mikel Astarloza (Euskaltel) @ 37sec
  30. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) s.t.
  31. Frank Schleck (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 38sec
  32. Andriy Grivko (Astana) s.t.
  33. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel) @ 40sec
  34. Robert Kiserlovski (Astana) @ 42sec
  35. Rui Alberto Faria da Costa (Movistar) s.t.
  36. Nick Nuyens (Saxo-Tinkoff) @ 43sec
  37. Pierre Rolland (Europcar) 2 45sec
  38. Levi Leipheimer (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  39. Thibaut Pinot (FDJ-Big Mat) @ 47sec
  40. Jérôme Coppel (Saur-Sojasun 2 48sec
  41. Steven Kruijswijk (Rabobank) @ 53sec
  42. Rob Ruijgh (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  43. Oscar Freire (Katusha) @ 57sec
  44. Jelle Vanendert (Lotto-Belisol) @ 1min 0sec
  45. Rafael Valls (Vacansoleil) @ 1min 1sec
  46. Andrey Kashechkin (Astana) @ 1min 24sec
  47. Christopher Horner (Radio shack-Nissan) @ 1min 29sec
  48. Egoi Martinez (Euskaltel) @ 1min 30sec
  49. Tony Gallopin (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 1min 38sec
  50. Christopher Froome (Sky) @ 1min 41sec


  1. Michael Morkov (Saxo-Tinkoff): 9 points
  2. Ivan Basso (Liquigas): 2
  3. Peter Sagen (Liquigas): 2
  4. Anthony Delaplace (Saur-Sojasun): 2
  5. David Moncoutié (Cofidis): 2


  1. Peter Sagan (Liquigas): 155 points
  2. Matthew Harley Goss (Orica-GreenEdge): 137
  3. André Greipel (Lotto-Belisol): 132
  4. Mark Cavendish (Sky): 119
  5. Alessandrop Petacchi (Lampre): 91

Young Rider:

  1. Tejay Van Garderen (BMC) 24hr 45min 42sec
  2. Edvald Boasson hagen (Sky) @ 1sec
  3. Rein Taaramae (Cofidis) @ 12sec
  4. Peter Sagen (Liquigas) @ 13sec
  5. Wouter Poels (Vacansoleil) @ 14sec

Team Classification:

  1. Sky: 74hr 17min 10sec
  2. Radio Shack-Nissan @ 4sec
  3. BMC @ 6sec
  4. Omega Pharma-Quick Step @ 13sec
  5. Liquigas @ 29sec

Stage map and profile

Stage 5 map

Stage 5 map

Stage 5 profile

Stage 5 profile

Photos from stage 5:

Departure scene

The scene at the departure

David Zabriskie

David Zabriskie rides to the start.

Tyler Farrar

Tyler Farrar

Alexandre Vinokourov and Mic hele Scarponi

Alexandre Vinokourov and Michele Scarponi

Bradley Wiggins

Bradley Wiggins

Fabian Cancellara

Fabian Cancellara

Tejay Van Garderen

Tejay Van Garderen

Marcel Kittel

Marcel Kittel, plagued with knee and gut problems, quit today

Mark Cavendish Adn Edvald Hagen

Mark Cavendish and Edvald Boasson Hagen

Ivan Basso

Ivan Basso fusses with his bike before the start.


Ready to go

Jan Ghyselinck

Look near the more distant red "2" sign. The rider in red is Jan Ghyselinck, who took a flier from the break at the last minute. The break is about to be swallowed by the pack.

Stage 5 finish

The rise before the finish probably took the sting out of Cavendish's legs.

Peter Sagen

Peter Sagen was caught up in the crash just before the finish.


Say "Cheese"