BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2012 Tour de France
July, 2012

Stage 1, Sunday, July 1: Liège - Seraing, 198 km

Back to 2012 Tour de France | Stage map and profile | Photos from stage 1

Stage 1, Sunday, July 1: Liège - Seraing, 198 km

Stage 1 finish

Rated climbs:

The Race: A 6-man break went away early, but Radio Shack-Nissan kept them on a carefully managed leash. Before they were caught, Michael Morkov, first to the top of the day's first three rated climbs, became the 2012 Tour's first KOM.

The field hit the final Côte de Seraing at full speed. Sylvain Chavanel tried to escape, but was brought back. With less than 2 km to go Fabian Cancellara let loose about a million watts, but it wasn't enough to keep Peter Sagen from getting on his wheel. Sagen refused to help Cancellara who was again in the position of dragging a quicker man to the finish. Edvald Boasson Hagen clawed his way up to the two, but was not a factor in the sprint, which Sagen easily won.


  1. Peter Sagen (Liquigas) 4hr 58min 19sec. 39.8 km/hr
  2. Fabian Cancellara (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) s.t.
  4. Philppe Gilbert (BMC) s.t.
  5. Bauke Mollema (Rabobank) s.t.
  6. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) s.t.
  7. Robert Gesink (Rabobank) s.t.
  8. Daniel Martin (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  9. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  10. Dries Devenyns (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  11. Jurgen van den Broeck (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  12. Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  13. Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge) s.t.
  14. Samuel Sumoulin (Cofidis) s.t.
  15. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas) s.t.
  16. Bradley Wiggins (Sky) s.t.
  17. Janez Brajkovic (Astana) s.t.
  18. Nicholas Roche (Ag2r) s.t.
  19. Pierre Rolland (Europcar) s.t.
  20. Cadel Evans (BMC) s.t.
  21. Tejay Van Garderen (BMC) s.t.
  22. Michael Rogers (Sky) s.t.
  23. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) s.t.
  24. Mikael Cherel (Ag2r) s.t.
  25. Rein Taaramae (Cofidis) s.t.
  26. Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Sky) s.t.
  27. Marco Marcato (Vacanseoleil) s.t.
  28. Maxime Monfort (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  29. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel) s.t.
  30. Arthur Vichot (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  31. Jean-Christophe Peraud (Ag2r) s.t.
  32. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  33. Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  34. Frank Schleck (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  35. Andréas Klöden (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  36. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) s.t.
  37. Thomas Danielson (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  38. Haimar Zubeldia (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  39. Jelle Vanendert (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  40. PieterWeening (Orica-GreenEdge) s.t.
  41. Wouter Poels (Europcar) s.t.
  42. Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) s.t.
  43. Vladimir Gusev (Katusha) s.t.
  44. Denis Menchov (Katusha) s.t.
  45. Dominik Nerz (Liquigas) s.t.
  46. Robert Kiserlovski (Astana) s.t.
  47. Koen De Kort (Argos-Shimano) s.t.
  48. Eduard Vorganov (Katusha) s.t.
  49. Mikel Astarloza (Euskaltel) @ 14sec
  50. Michael Albasini (Orica-GreenEdge) s.t.

General Classification:

  1. Fabian Cancellara (Radio Shack-Nissan) 5hr 5min 32sec
  2. Bradley Wiggins (Sky) @ 7sec
  3. Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  4. Tejay Van Garderen (BMC) @ 10sec
  5. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) @ 11sec
  6. Denis Menchov (Katusha) @ 13sec
  7. Philippe Gilbert (BMC) s.t.
  8. Cadel Evans (BMC) @ 17sec
  9. Vincenzo Nibali (Liquigas) @ 18sec
  10. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  11. Andréas Klöden (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 19sec
  12. Bauke Mollema (Rabobank) @ 21sec
  13. Maxime Monfort (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 22sec
  14. Janez Brajkovic (Astana) s.t.
  15. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  16. Rein Taaramae (Cofidis) s.t.
  17. Jean-Christophe Peraud (Ag2r) @ 23sec
  18. Tony Martin (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  19. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  20. Vladimir Gusev (Katusha) @ 24sec
  21. Haimar Zubeldia (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  22. Wouter Poels (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  23. Peter Sagan (Liquigas) s.t.
  24. Daniel Martin (Garmin-Sharp) s.t.
  25. Nicholas Roche (Ag2r) @ 25sec
  26. Michael Rogers (Sky) s.t.
  27. Pieter Weening (Orica-GreenEdge) s.t.
  28. Kanstantsin Sivtsov (Sky) s.t.
  29. Robert Gesink (Rabobank) @ 26sec
  30. Koen De Kort (Argos-Shimano) @ 27sec
  31. Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Lotto-Belisol) @ 28sec
  32. Simon Gerrans (Orica-GreenEdge) @ 29sec
  33. Dries Deveyns (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  34. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) s.t.
  35. Thomas Danielson (Garmin-Sharp) @ 31sec
  36. Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) @ 33sec
  37. Michael Albasini (Orica-GreenEdge) @ 34sec
  38. Arthur Vichot (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  39. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) @ 35sec
  40. Eduard Vorganov (Katusha) s.t.
  41. Mikel Astarloza (Euskaltel) @ 37sec
  42. Dominik Nerz (Liquigas) s.t.
  43. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) s.t.
  44. Lieuwe Westra (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  45. Frank Schleck (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 38sec
  46. Andriy Grivko (Astana) s.t.
  47. Matthieu Ladagnous (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  48. Samuel Sanchez (Euskaltel) @ 40sec
  49. Jelle Vanendert (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  50. Robert Kiserlovski (Astana) @ 42sec
  51. Pierre Rolland (Europcar) @ 45sec
  52. Levi Lepheimer (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.


  1. Michael Morkov (Saxo-Tinkoff): 3 points
  2. Peter Sagen (Liquigas): 1
  3. Pablo Urtasun (Euskaltel): 1


  1. Fabian Cancellara (Radio Shack-Nissan): 55 points
  2. Peter Sagan (Liquigas): 49
  3. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky): 42
  4. Philippe Gilbert (BMC): 33
  5. Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma-Quick Step): 23

Young Rider:

  1. Tejay Van Garderen (BMC) 5hr 5min 42sec
  2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) @ 1sec
  3. Rein Taaramae (Cofidis) @ 12sec
  4. Wouter Poels (Vacansoleil) @ 14sec
  5. Peter Sagen (Liquigas) s.t.

Team Classification:

  1. Sky: 15hr 17mi 10sec
  2. Radio Shack-Nissan @ 4sec
  3. BMC @ 6sec
  4. Omega Pharma-Quick Step @ 13sec
  5. Garmin-Sharp @ 23sec

Stage map and profile

Stage 1 map

Stage 1 map

Stage 1 profile

Stage 1 profile

Photos from Stage 1:

Alexandre Vinokourov

Before the start, Alexandre Vinokourov signs a jersey.

Tejay Van Garderen

White Jersey holder Tejay Van Garderen

Bradley Wiggins

Bradley Wiggins

George Hincapie

George Hincapie before the start

Team Sky

Team Sky

Sylkvain Chavanel

Sylvain Chavanel is enjoying terrific form right now.

Christian Prudhomme

Mr. Big, Tour boss Christian Prudhomme

Jens Voigt

Jens Voigt

Fabian Cancellara

Fabian Cancellara with his spiffy yellow bike to go with his natty yellow jersey.

Mark Cavendish

Mark Cavendish with Androni Giocattoli team manager Gianni Savio

Vincenzo Nibali

Vincenzo Nibali

Peter Sagen

Peter Sagen is ready to ride. Boy is he!

Philippe Gilbert

Philippe Gilbert and his boy

Johnny Hoogerland

Johnny Hoogerland still has scars on his legs from last years terrible crash

Michele Acquarone

Lost? Giro boss Michele Acquarone

Fabian Cancellara

After Sylvain Chavanel attacked on the final climb to Seraing, Fabian Cancellara unleashed a hard counter-attack that ripped him away from the pack. Peter Sagen was on his wheel like stink on poo. Edvald Boasson Hagen is futher back, fighting to get up to them

Cadel Evans

Cadel Evans (with Jurgen van den Broeck on his wheel) did a lot of the work leading the pack back to Cancellara and Sagen

Tony Martin

Tony Martin is finding the going very hard.

Denis Menchov

Denis Menchov and Eduard Vorganov

Stage 1 finish

How good can Sagen get?

Michael Morkov

Michael morkov gets the year's first polka dots

Fabian Cancellara

Another day in yellow for Cancellara