BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Tour de l'Ain (2.1), France

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume 1

Bill and Carol McGann's book The Story of the Giro d'Italia, A Year-by-Year History of the Tour of Italy, Vol 1: 1909 - 1970 is available in print, Kindle eBook & audiobook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

The race:

The Tour de l'Ain (also known as Prix de l'Amitié) professional stage race is held in mid-August and is run in the Jura mountains, just north of the Alps in eastern France, with the final stage ending on the 1,534 meter high Grand Colombier mountain (first included in 1999).

The Tour de l'Ain started as an amateur stage race in 1986. In 1992 it was changed to an "Open" race and allowed professionals to enter. It became a pro-only 2.5 race in 1996.

It has steadily grown in status and in 2005, with the Pro Tour reorganization, was classified as a 2.1 stage race.

In 2001 it had a prologue individual time trial and four stages.

In 2018 the Tour de l'Ain was moved from August to mid-May.

And then in 2020 it was moved back to August.

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames

Complete professional podium history:


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

1996 David Delrieu
18hr 38min 30sec
Jean-Luc Masdupuy
@ 33sec
Christophe Rinero
@ 41sec
738.9 km 39.637
1997 Bobby Julich
19hr 44min 27sec
Fabricre Gougot
@ 44sec
Yvon Ladanois
@ 48sec
781.7 km 39.598
1998 Cristian Gasperoni
18hr 1min 55sec
Alessio Galleti
@ 6sec
Vincent Cali
@ 2min 11sec
736.2 km 40.828
1999 Grzegor Gwiazdowski
16hr 9min 20sec
Christopher Jenner
@ 30sec
Maurizio De Pasquale
@ 1min 35sec
652.3 km 40.376
2000 Serguei Yakovlev
15hr 52min 47sec
Thierry Loder
@ 1sec
Christopher Jenner
@ 1min 22sec
634 km 39.925
2001 Ivailo Gabrovski
13hr 39min 8sec
David Delrieu
@ 36sec
Christophe Oriol
@ 3min 17sec
537.3 km 39.356
2002 Christophe Oriol
15hr 29min 56sec
Richard Virenque
@ 1min 39sec
Ludovic Turpin
@ 2min
630.7 km 40.693
2003 Axel Merckx
14hr 4min 16sec
Samuel Dumoulin
@ 53sec
Jérôme Pineau
@ 53sec
599 km 42.569
2004 Jérôme Pineau
11hr 57min 35sec
Leif Hoste
@ 12sec
Jurgen Van Goolen
@ 14sec
517 km 43.248
2005 Carl Naibo
14hr 42min 12sec
Ludovic Turpin
@ 37sec
Samuel Plouhinec
@ 44sec
578 km 39.311
2006 Cyril Dessel
14hr 56min 53sec
Noan Lelarge
@ 22sec
Xavier Florencio
@ 1min 10sec
580.8 km 38.854
2007 John Gadret
14hr 26min 39sec
Ludovic Turpin
@ 39sec
Bauke Mollema
@ 46sec
558.6 km 38.673
2008 Linus Gerdemann
14hr 14min 3sec
David Moncoutié
@ 12sec
Stéphane Goubert
@ 36sec
556.9 km 39.124
2009 Rein Taaramäe
13hr 3min 7sec
Christopher Horner
@ 25sec
David Moncoutié
@ 32sec
525.6 km 40.270
2010 Haimar Zubeldia
13hr 44min 32sec
Wouter Poels
@ s.t.
David Moncoutié
@ 5sec
572.3 km 41.65
2011 David Moncoutié
14hr 5min 55sec
Wouter Poels
@ 43sec
Leopold Koenig
@ 1min 31sec
557.8 km 39.58
2012 Andrew Talansky
15hr 52min 29sec
Sergio Pardilla
@ 12sec
Daniel Navarro
@ 38sec
695.6 km 41.31
2013 Romain Bardet
14hr 9min 22sec
Luis Leon Sanchez
@ 1min 13sec
John Gadret
@ 1min 15sec
580.5 km 41.02
2014 Bert-Jan Lindeman
14hr 47min 26sec
Romain Bardet
@ 11sec
Dan Martin
@ 1min 36sec
579 km 39.19


Content continues below the ads

Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach!
2015 Alexandre Geniez
14hr 39min 57sec
Florian Vachon
@ 5sec
Pierre-Roger Latour
@ 9sec
609.3 km 41.546
2016 Sam Oomen
14hr 49min 49sec
Bart de Clercq
@ 1sec
Pierre-Roger Latour
@ s.t.
596.4 km 40.215
2017 Thibaut Pinot
12hr 59min 10sec
David Gaudu
@ 14sec
Alexandre Geniez
@ 52sec
536.3 km


2018 Arthur Vichot
11hr 16min 10sec
Nicolas Edet
@ 18sec
Rein Taaramae
@ 46sec
445.8 km 39.558
2019 Thibaut Pinot
10hr 1min 10sec
Mathias Frank
@ 1min 8sec
Rein Taaramae
@ 1min 25sec
399.4 km 39.845
2020 Primoz Roglic
11hr 21min 12sec
Egan Bernal
@ 18sec
Nairo Quintana
@ 28sec
424.5 km 37.366
2021 Michael Storer
9hr 13min 9sec
Harm Vanhoucke
@ 55sec
Matteo Badilatti
@ 1min 1sec
397.5 km 43.117
2022 Guillaume Martin
10hr 34min 43sec
Mattias Jensen
@ 6sec
Rudy Molard
@ 8sec
422.1 km 39.995
2023 Michael Storer
9hr 55min 50sec
Kenny Elissonde
@ 2min 22sec
Niolas Prudhomme
@ 3min 28sec
410.3 km 41.317


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!