BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2021 Brussels Cycling Classic (1.Pro)

Formerly Paris-Brussels/Paris-Bruxelles

101st edition: Saturday, August 28, 2021

Brussels Cycling Classic podium history | 2020 edition | 2022 edition

Brussels - Brussels, 204.8 km

Remco Evenepoel

Remco Evenepoel has left everyone behind. Photo: Photonews

Weather at the start/finish city of Brussels at 2:20 PM, local time: 21C (69F), partly cloudy, with the wind from the north at 18 km/hr (11 mph). There is an 50% chance of rain.

The race: Here's the organizer's race summary.

After 12 km, the early breakaway was formed. Peyskens (Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB), De Vylder (Sport Vlaanderen – Baloise), Traeen (Uno-X Pro Cycling Team), Van Empel (Vini Zabu’), Hesters (Beat Cycling), Scott (Canyon DHB Sungod) and Marchand (Tarteletto – Isorex) raced together to create a maximum lead of 2’27”.

New this year was a double passage on the Muur, Bosberg and Congoberg in Geraardsbergen region. The race really started at the first passage. After Campenaerts and Evenepoel, among others, accelerated on the Muur, an elite group rode to the last remaining riders of the early breakaway. At the start of the second lap in Geraardsbergen we had a leading group with: Evenepoel (Deceuninck – Quick-Step), De Gendt (Intermarché – Wanty – Gobert Matériaux), Gilbert and Van der Sande (Lotto Soudal), Campenaerts (Team Qhubeka Nexthash), Hirschi and McNulty (UAE Team Emirates), De Vylder (Bingoal Pauwels Sauces WB) and Traeen (Uno-X Pro Cycling Team).

At the second passage on the Muur it was Gilbert who accelerated. Campenaerts also went on towards the chapel. For early escapees Traeen and De Vylder the pace was too fast, they had to let go. An elite group of seven riders headed for the 2nd climb of the Bosberg and Congoberg, but there were no attacks.

With a lead of 1’40” the leaders started the last 40 km towards the Houba de Strooperlaan in the heart of Brussels. Two more cobbled sections and slope number 9, the Heiligekruiswegstraat, awaited the riders. On the way to those last obstacles of the day, Evenepoel and Campenaerts tried to break away from the leading group, but they weren’t successful.

With 11km to go, it was Evenepoel who made a decisive attack. He left De Gendt behind and took his second victory in just a few days. After winning the Vlaamse Druivenkoers Overijse, Evenepoel was the best in the Brussels Cycling Classic too. Van der Sande took third place on Boulevard Houba de Strooper.

Complete results:

136 starters, 88 classified finishers, 48 abandons

204.8 kilometers raced at an average speed of 45.765 km/hr

1 Remco Evenepoel Deceuninck-Quick Step 4hr 28min 30sec
2 Aimé De Gendt Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert @ 50sec
3 Tosh Van der Sande Lotto Soudal 2:14
4 Philippe Gilbert Lotto Soudal s.t.
5 Marc Hirschi UAE Team Emirates s.t.
6 Brandon McNulty UAE Team Emirates s.t.
7 Tim Merlier Alpecin-Fenix 2:16
8 Danny van Poppel Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
9 Jérémy Lecroq B&B Hotels s.t.
10 Fernando Gaviria UAE Team Emirates s.t.
11 Martijn Budding BEAT Cycling s.t.
12 Max Walscheid Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
13 Victor Campenaerts Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
14 Bram Welten Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
15 Kenneth Van Rooy Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
16 Gerben Thijssen Lotto Soudal s.t.
17 Jempy Drucker Cofidis s.t.
18 Remy Mertz Bingoal-WB s.t.
19 Cédric Beullens Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
20 Kristian Sbaragli Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
21 Christophe Noppe Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
22 Lorrenzo Manzin TotalEnergies s.t.
23 Rory Townsend Canyon-dhb-SunGod s.t.
24 Roberto Gonzalez Vini Zabù s.t.
25 Mikkel Bjerg UAE Team Emirates s.t.
26 Stanislaw Aniolkowski Bingoal-WB s.t.
27 Arne Marit Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
28 Gil D'Heygere Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
29 Jarrad Drizners Hagens Berman-Axeon s.t.
30 Jakub Mareczko Vini Zabù s.t.
31 Florian Dauphin B&B Hotels s.t.
32 Luke Lamperti Trinity Racing s.t.
33 Tom Bohli Cofidis s.t.
34 Max Walker Trinity Racing s.t.
35 Andrea Peron Novo Nordisk s.t.
36 Michael Mørkøv Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
37 Jordy Bouts BEAT Cycling s.t.
38 Kamil Gradek Vini Zabù s.t.
39 Ryan Christensen Canyon-dhb-SunGod s.t.
40 Brent Van de Kerkhove Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
41 Arjen Livyns Bingoal-WB s.t.
42 Attilio Viviani Cofidis s.t.
43 Luuc Bugter BEAT Cycling s.t.
44 Lennert Teugels Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
45 Andrea Pasqualon Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
46 Michael Garrison Hagens Berman-Axeon s.t.
47 Stan Van Tricht Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
48 Axel Laurance B&B Hotels s.t.
49 Søren Wærenskjold Uno-X s.t.
50 Oliver Rees Trinity Racing s.t.
51 Thomas Bonnet TotalEnergies s.t.
52 Andreas Stokbro Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
53 Matthew Devins Trinity Racing 2:16
54 Nathan Haas Cofidis 2:24
55 Matthew Riccitello Hagens Berman-Axeon s.t.
56 Lukasz Owsian Arkéa-Samsic 2:27
57 Cériel Desal Bingoal-WB s.t.
58 Sven Burger BEAT Cycling s.t.
59 Ylber Sefa Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
60 Hugo Toumire Cofidis s.t.
61 Nicola Bagioli B&B Hotels s.t.
62 Frederik Backaert B&B Hotels s.t.
63 Blake Quick Trinity Racing s.t.
64 Ward Vanhoof Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
65 Adrien Petit TotalEnergies s.t.
66 Finn Fisher-Black UAE Team Emirates s.t.
67 Stijn Steels Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
68 Jasper De Buyst Lotto Soudal s.t.
69 Frederik Frison Lotto Soudal s.t.
70 Emmanuel Morin Cofidis 2:34
71 Erik Resell Uno-X s.t.
72 Alvaro Hodeg Deceuninck-Quick Step 2:38
73 Lukasz Wisniowski Qhubeka-NextHash 2:40
74 Maximiliano Richeze UAE Team Emirates s.t.
75 Matis Louvel Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
76 Alan Jousseaume TotalEnergies s.t.
77 Vegard Stake Laengen UAE Team Emirates s.t.
78 Dries Devenyns Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
79 Luc Wirtgen Bingoal-WB s.t.
80 Taco van der Hoorn Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
81 Mathis Le Berre Arkéa-Samsic 3:10
82 Michael Gogl Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
83 Niccolo Bonifazio TotalEnergies 3:16
84 Jonas Abrahamsen Uno-X 4:26
85 Torstein Træen Uno-X s.t.
86 Julian Mertens Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
87 Jimmy Janssens Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
88 Yannis Voisard Arkéa-Samsic 7:37