BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2017 Japan Cup (HC) Results

26th edition: Sunday, October 22, 2017

Japan Cup podium history | 2016 edition | 2018 edition

Sunday, October 22: Utsunomiya - Utsunomiya, Japan, 144.2 103 km (shortened because of bad weather)

Marco Canola

Marco Canola wins the 2017 Japan Cup

The race: Here's the report from winner Marco Canola's Nippo-Vini Fantini team.

Story of the Tour de France Volume 2

Marco Canola is the Japan Cup 2017 winner. A wonderful success and an historic double. He is the first rider ever to win both the Criterium and the Japan Cup in the same week-end. The first ever of the most important competition of Japan, a race of 1.HC category, a race won by big riders in the past such as Davide Villella in 2016 and also by the #OrangeBlue rider Damiano Cunego in 2008.

Many good competitors today, but the ambitions and motivations of the NIPPO Vini Fantini were at the top and the team reached an incredible double in Criterium and Japan Cup for his sponsor and many Japanese fans.

An unforgettable moment also for the Japanese brand NIPPO Corporation that today wins for the first time ever the Japan Cup of the PROs, with only a victory reached among Under23 category in the past.

Marco Canola on the finish line cannot contain his happiness for one of most important success of his career together with the Giro d’Italia stage victory: “I’m so happy for this victory, that have such a big value for the team and for me. Our team is Italian-Japanese and this is the best gift we can do to our sponsor and to our fans for the trust they give us everyday. I want to dedicate this victory to all our sponsors, today here also from Italy, and to my mother that was sick and I know that for sure I give her a big satisfaction.”

For Marco Canola it is the 6th personal victory of the season, with the additional success in the Criterium of yesterday. Victory number 12 of the team for a final part of the season in Japan that could not be better. A great satisfaction also for Mario Manzoni, the sports director of the team that in a season rich of great success is back in Japan for the first time in 27 years.

In 1990 as rider with the Under-23 Italian selection, the team win the World Championship with the victory of Mirco Gualdi, today as Sport Director of the NIPPO Vini Fantini, for the first time back in Japan, he won and reached this historic goal for NIPPO.

Complete Results:

103 kilometers raced at an average speed of 37.315 km/hr

1 Marco Canola Nippo-Vini Fantini 2hr 45min 37sec
2 Benjamín Prades Team Ukyo s.t.
3 Takeaki Amezawa Utsunomiya Blitzen s.t.
4 Antwan Tolhoek LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
5 Thomas Lebas Kinan s.t.
6 Jasper Stuyven Trek-Segafredo +34''
7 Ben Hill Attaque-Gusto s.t.
8 Enrico Battaglin LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
9 Danilo Wyss BMC s.t.
10 Yusuke Hatanaka Team Ukyo s.t.
11 Davide Villella Cannondale-Drapac s.t.
12 Jai Crawford Kinan s.t.
13 José Vicente Toribio Matrix Powertag s.t.
14 Nathan Earle Team Ukyo s.t.
15 Óscar Pujol Team Ukyo s.t.
16 Ryota Nishizono Bridgestone Anchor s.t.
17 Ivan Santaromita Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
18 Sho Hatsuyama Bridgestone Anchor s.t.
19 Hideto Nakana Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
20 Alexey Vermeulen LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
21 Masahiro Ishigami Japan +1' 16''
22 Charles Planet Novo Nordisk s.t.
23 Naoya Yoshioka Nasu Blasen +1' 18''
24 Koen de Kort Trek-Segafredo s.t.
25 Damiano Cunego Nippo-Vini Fantini +1' 22''
26 Koen Bouwman LottoNL-Jumbo +1' 33''
27 Yoshimitsu Hiratsuka Team Ukyo +3' 55''
28 Keisuke Kimura Japan s.t.
29 Yasuharu Nakajima Kinan +3' 58''
30 Hayato Okamoto Japan s.t.
31 Yukihiro Doi Matrix Powertag s.t.
32 Yuzuru Suzuki Utsunomiya Blitzen s.t.
33 Shotaru Iribe Japan s.t.
34 Airán Fernández Matrix Powertag s.t.
35 Manabu Ishibashi Bridgestone Anchor s.t.
36 David Lozano Novo Nordisk s.t.
37 Michael Schär BMC s.t.
38 Martin Elmiger BMC s.t.
39 Masayuki Shibata Nasu Blasen s.t.
40 Marcos García Kinan +4' 07''
41 Juan José Lobato LottoNL-Jumbo s.t.
42 Fumiyuki Beppu Trek-Segafredo +7' 15''
43 Alan Marangoni Nippo-Vini Fantini s.t.
44 Genki Yamamoto Kinan s.t.
45 Ryu Suzuki Bridgestone Anchor +8' 34''
46 Alex Howes Cannondale-Drapac +9' 11''
47 Daiki Yasuhara Matrix Powertag +11' 29''