BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2020 Gran Piemonte/Giro del Piemonte (1.Pro), Italy

104th edition: Wednesday, August 12, 2020

Gran Piemonte podium history | 2019 edition | Course map & profile

Santo Stefano Belbo - Barolo, 187 km

George Bennett

George Bennett wins the 104th edition of the Giro del Piemonte.

Weather at the finish city of Barolo at 1:45 PM, local time: 29C (85F), Sunny, with the wind from the Northeast at 6 km/hr (4 mph). 15% chance of rain & thunderstorms.

The race: Here's the report from team Deceuninck-Quick Step.

Making just his third appearance – after Strade Bianche and Milano-Torino – since the season restarted, Mikkel Honoré showed a lot of grit and determination Wednesday afternoon, which he spent in the breakaway at the 103rd edition of Gran Piemonte.

On the move from the opening kilometers of the Italian one-day race, which witnessed a very active start, the four-man group built enough of a lead to make the peloton see them as a threat, the gap hovering around seven minutes with some 80 kilometers to go. Their advantage began plummeting only after the chasing teams upped the tempo and one of the members of the quartet was dropped, but even so, the peloton had to dig really deep to peg them back.

Honoré enjoyed a fine day at the front and was caught with only eight kilometers to go, just as they were starting the penultimate climb of the race. That was the place where the bunch got reduced to a dozen riders, and it was from these that George Bennett (Jumbo-Visma) attacked and soloed to victory in Barolo, the small charming town which hosted a couple of Giro d’Italia stages in the past.

One of the most experienced riders in the peloton, Dries Deveyns remained cool on the wet descent and regained contact with the first chasing group three kilometers from home, before sprinting to seventh place on the uphill part in the old city, concluding the race as Deceuninck – Quick-Step’s best placed rider. Pieter Serry followed home shortly, in 14th place, while US stagiaire Sean Quinn impressed by finishing Gran Piemonte – which marked his debut for the Wolfpack – in the top 30.

Complete Results:

124 starters, 94 classified finishers

187 kilometers raced at an average speed of 40.304 km/hr

1 BENNETT George Jumbo-Visma 4hr 38min 23sec
2 ULISSI Diego UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
3 VAN DER POEL Mathieu Alpecin-Fenix @ 4sec
4 VLASOV Aleksandr Astana s.t.
5 GESCHKE Simon CCC Team s.t.
6 ARANBURU Alex Astana s.t.
7 DEVENYNS Dries Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
8 STANNARD Robert Mitchelton-Scott 0:07
9 CICCONE Giulio Trek-Segafredo s.t.
10 VALTER Attila CCC Team s.t.
11 TOLHOEK Antwan Jumbo-Visma 0:09
12 PETILLI Simone Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
13 ROTA Lorenzo Vini Zabu KTM s.t.
14 SERRY Pieter Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
15 HERMANS Ben Israel Start-Up Nation 0:14
16 BRAMBILLA Gianluca Trek-Segafredo 0:16
17 CONTI Valerio UAE-Team Emirates 0:26
18 MOSCON Gianni INEOS s.t.
19 DE MARCHI Alessandro CCC Team s.t.
20 IZAGIRRE Ion Astana s.t.
21 ARU Fabio UAE-Team Emirates 0:31
22 PELLAUD Simon Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec 1:01
23 SOBRERO Matteo NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
24 MÄDER Gino NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
25 ROSSKOPF Joey CCC Team 1:05
26 QUINN Sean Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
27 ALEOTTI Giovanni Nazionale Italiana s.t.
28 MUÑOZ Daniel Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
29 BADILATTI Matteo Israel Start-Up Nation 1:08
30 SOSA Iván INEOS s.t.
31 RUBIO Einer Movistar s.t.
32 NAVARRO Daniel Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
33 GANNA Filippo INEOS 1:10
34 CANOLA Marco Gazprom-RusVelo 1:18
35 NIBALI Vincenzo Trek-Segafredo 1:26
36 CEPEDA Jefferson Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec 1:37
37 VERVAEKE Louis Alpecin-Fenix 1:39
38 GAROSIO Andrea Vini Zabu KTM s.t.
39 MARCELLUSI Martin Nazionale Italiana 1:53
40 ALBASINI Michael Mitchelton-Scott 1:54
41 BAIS Mattia Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
42 CHERKASOV Nikolay Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
43 VELASCO Simone Gazprom-RusVelo 1:58
44 FORTUNATO Lorenzo Vini Zabu KTM s.t.
45 COLNAGHI Luca Nazionale Italiana 2:06
46 HONORÉ Mikkel Deceuninck-Quick Step 3:21
47 WYSS Danilo NTT Pro Cycling 3:57
48 FRAPPORTI Marco Vini Zabu KTM 4:12
49 BALLERINI Davide Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
50 DE BOD Stefan NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
51 VAKOC Petr Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
52 GRMAY Tsgabu Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
53 SWIFT Ben INEOS 4:23
54 VILLELLA Davide Movistar s.t.
55 CARBONI Giovanni Bardiani-CSF 5:11
56 HARPER Chris Jumbo-Visma 5:16
57 VINGEGAARD Jonas Jumbo-Visma s.t.
58 WALSLEBEN Philipp Alpecin-Fenix 5:18
59 ZANA Filippo Bardiani-CSF 5:21
60 DELACROIX Theo Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
61 RYBALKIN Aleksey Gazprom-RusVelo 5:23
62 EIKING Odd Circus-Wanty Gobert 5:40
63 CATTANEO Mattia Deceuninck-Quick Step 5:42
64 BOARO Manuele Astana 6:10
65 MOSCA Jacopo Trek-Segafredo s.t.
66 PUCCIO Salvatore INEOS s.t.
67 RAVANELLI Simone Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
68 RIVI Samuele Nazionale Italiana s.t.
69 NATAROV Yuriy Astana s.t.
70 HOFSTEDE Lennard Jumbo-Visma s.t.
71 JANSSENS Jimmy Alpecin-Fenix 7:30
72 CATAFORD Alexander Israel Start-Up Nation 9:39
73 BOUWMAN Koen Jumbo-Visma s.t.
74 BOIVIN Guillaume Israel Start-Up Nation 10:36
75 SBARAGLI Kristian Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
76 JORGENSON Matteo Movistar s.t.
77 COVI Alessandro UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
78 ZIMMERMANN Georg CCC Team s.t.
79 VISCONTI Giovanni Vini Zabu KTM s.t.
80 SENNI Manuel Bardiani-CSF 14:24
81 RAVASI Edward UAE-Team Emirates 14:45
82 PICCOLI James Israel Start-Up Nation 18:37
83 GARRISON Ian Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
84 SPREAFICO Matteo Vini Zabu KTM s.t.
85 RIVERA Brandon INEOS s.t.
86 COVILI Luca Bardiani-CSF s.t.
87 NORSGAARD Mathias Movistar s.t.
88 ALBA Juan Movistar s.t.
89 GOLDSTEIN Omer Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
90 CONCI Nicola Trek-Segafredo s.t.
91 RIKUNOV Petr Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
92 DE KORT Koen Trek-Segafredo s.t.
93 KUZMIN Anton Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
94 DYBALL Benjamin NTT Pro Cycling s.t.

Course map & profile:

2020 Gran Piemonte map

2019 Gran Piemonte map

2020 Gran Piemonte race profile

And the race profile