BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2020 Gran Premio Città di Peccioli -
Coppa Sabatini (1.1), Italy

68th edition: Thursday, September 17, 2020

Coppa Sabatini podium history | 2019 edition | 2021 edition

Peccioli - Peccioli, 210.1 km

Dion Smith

Dion Smith gets his first pro win in Peccioli. Sirotti photo

Weather at the start/finish city of Peccioli at 1:50 PM, local time: 31C (87F), sunny, with the wind from the north at 18 km/hr (11 mph). There is a 5% chance of rain.

The race: Here's the report from winner Dion Smith's Mitchelton-Scott team.

New Zealander Dion Smith sprinted to his first professional victory today at Coppa Sabatini, following an impressive lead-out from his teammates, delivering him all the way to finish line on an uphill drag in Peccioli.

Within the opening 20km of the 200km day, a large group of 15 riders broke away from the bunch with Alex Konychev present for Mitchelton-SCOTT.

During the laps of the initial 21km circuit, the breakaway group reduced in size down to eight riders and their gap then stabilised around the three-minute mark.
By the time the race entered the final 12.1km finishing circuit, the breakaway reduced in size even further down to just five riders thanks to a steep ascent to contend with each lap, with Konychev still present in the group of five at the head of affairs.

It wasn’t until the final lap that Konychev and the remaining breakaway riders were absorbed by the fast chasing peloton as new attacks began to fly.
With an uphill drag to the finish line, Mitchelton-SCOTT took complete control of the final two and a half kilometres, setting a fierce pace with no other teams able to get on terms.

One-by-one Smith’s teammates set a hard tempo at the front before peeling off as the finish line drew closer.

On the final climb up to the finish line, it was yesterday’s second place finisher Rob Stannard that ward off any late attacks with a furious pace, before Swiss rider Michael Albasini took over, covering a late acceleration by Lotto-Soudal to show his experience, keeping calm and keeping Smith in position.

In the closing metres, Smith launched from the wheel of his teammate and to his first professional UCI victory.

Dion Smith:
“I have to thank my teammates they did such an impressive lead-out into the climb and then I had two guys left for the climb.

"All I had to do was sprint with 200metres to go, so it was a perfect lead-out and luckily I had the legs to finish it off.

“This is my first professional win; I’ve been close with second and third places before, but this is my first win, so it is one of the best results I have had.

“I have to thank everybody for all their support and believing in me. The climb was hard and we did it many times, it was like the Muy in Belgium but here in Italy.”

Complete Results:

210.1 kilometers raced at an average speed of 42.165 km/hr

1 SMITH Dion Mitchelton-Scott 4hr 58min 58sec
2 PASQUALON Andrea Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
3 RIABUSHENKO Alexandr UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
4 MOSCA Jacopo Italy s.t.
5 WURTZ SCHMIDT Mads Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
6 CONCI Nicola Italy s.t.
7 BATTAGLIN Enrico Bahrain-McLaren s.t.
8 COVI Alessandro UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
9 HAYTER Ethan INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
10 BARBERO Carlos NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
11 DEWULF Stan Lotto-Soudal s.t.
12 BATTISTELLA Samuele NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
13 TIZZA Marco Italy s.t.
14 CHIRICO Luca Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
15 GABBURO Davide Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
16 CANOLA Marco Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
17 EIKING Odd Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
18 VISCONTI Giovanni Vini Zabù KTM s.t.
19 BOUHANNI Nacer Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
20 HOLMES Matthew Lotto-Soudal @ 7sec
21 FINETTO Mauro Nippo-Delko Provence 0:09
22 GHEBREIGZABHIER Amanuel NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
23 BAIS Mattia Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
24 ANGULO Antonio Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
25 AZURMENDI Ibai Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
26 ATAPUMA Darwin Colombia Tierra de Atletas s.t.
27 ROTA Lorenzo Vini Zabù KTM s.t.
28 DI SANTE Antonio Sangemini Trevigiani s.t.
29 PICCOLI James Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
30 SOTO Nelson Colombia Tierra de Atletas s.t.
31 CARR Simon Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
32 INKELAAR Kevin Bahrain-McLaren s.t.
33 ARCAS Jorge Movistar s.t.
34 MADER Gino NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
35 MOSCON Gianni INEOS Grenadiers 0:17
36 ZANA Filippo Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè 0:19
37 MARTINELLI Ivan D'Amico-UM Tools s.t.
38 RAVANELLI Simone Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
39 RODRIGUEZ Cristian Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
40 PELLAUD Simon Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec s.t.
41 BADILATTI Matteo Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
42 GOLDSTEIN Omer Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
43 GHIRMAY Biniam Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
44 HAILEMICHAEL Mulu Nippo-Delko Provence 0:25
45 VELASCO Simone Gazprom-RusVelo s.t.
46 ROMANO Francesco Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
47 BROWN Connor NTT Pro Cycling s.t.
48 TIBERI Antonio Italy s.t.
49 RESTREPO Jhonatan Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec 0:29
50 ZEA Luis Sangemini Trevigiani s.t.
51 ALBASINI Michael Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
52 COVILI Luca Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè s.t.
53 CHERNETSKI Sergei Gazprom-RusVelo 0:37
54 CEPEDA Jefferson Androni Giocattoli-Sidermec 0:41
55 STANNARD Robert Mitchelton-Scott s.t.
56 LAMMERTINK Maurits Circus-Wanty Gobert 0:47
57 HOLLENSTEIN Reto Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
58 PETILLI Simone Circus-Wanty Gobert s.t.
59 DELAPLACE Anthony Arkéa-Samsic 0:55
60 DE ROSSI Lucas Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
61 HOLLMANN Juri Movistar 1:03
62 GRMAY Tsgabu Mitchelton-Scott 1:10
63 MAZZUCCO Fabio Bardiani-CSF-Faizanè 1:19
64 ROVNY Ivan Gazprom-RusVelo 1:30
65 SCOTSON Callum Mitchelton-Scott 1:46
66 MARTIN Gotzon Euskaltel-Euskadi 1:56
67 PEDRERO Antonio Movistar 2:02
68 ARASHIRO Yukiya Bahrain-McLaren 2:09
69 BOU Joan Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
70 SCHULTZ Nick Mitchelton-Scott 2:16
71 NESI Nicolas D'Amico-UM Tools 2:52
72 MARINOZZI Alessandro Sangemini Trevigiani 3:07
73 DIAZ Jose Nippo-Delko Provence s.t.
74 SALVIETTI Niccolo Sangemini Trevigiani s.t.
75 RAGGIO Luca D'Amico-UM Tools s.t.
76 MURGANO Marco Italy s.t.
77 GARCIA Carlos Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
78 NOPPE Christophe Arkéa-Samsic 3:20
79 VERMEERSCH Florian Lotto-Soudal 4:52
80 ROELANDTS Jurgen Movistar 5:42
81 MORA Sebastian Movistar s.t.
82 MENDOZA Omar Colombia Tierra de Atletas s.t.
83 QUIROZ Oscar Colombia Tierra de Atletas s.t.
84 MUNOZ Cristian UAE-Team Emirates s.t.
85 ELOSEGUI Iñigo Movistar s.t.
86 AULAR Orluis Caja Rural-Seguros RGA s.t.
87 SUTHERLAND Rory Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
88 MCCABE Travis Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
89 PIBERNIK Luka Bahrain-McLaren s.t.
90 RODRIGUEZ Carlos INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
91 CARBONI Matteo Italy s.t.
92 OLDANI Stefano Lotto-Soudal s.t.
93 ITURRIA Mikel Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
94 BIZKARRA Mikel Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.
95 NOVAK Domen Bahrain-McLaren s.t.
96 ZARDINI Edoardo Vini Zabù KTM s.t.