BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It Started With a Freckle Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2014 Primus Classic Impanis-Van Petegem (1.1), Belgium

17th edition: Saturday, September 20, 2014

Primus Classic Impanis-Van Petegem podium history | 2015 edition

Brakel - Haacht, 196.6 km

The Race: Greg van Avermaet is enjoying fabulous form, winning two races this week. Not only did he win today's Primus Classic Impanis-Van Petegem, on Wednesday he won the GP de Wallonie.

Here's how BMC described the race: Van Avermaet earned his second win in four days by surviving from what was a 10-man breakaway that formed 20 kilometers into the 196.6-km race in Belgium. The escapees enjoyed a nearly six-minute advantage before a small chase group threatened to make the catch inside the final kilometers. Van Avermaet out-sprinted four other survivors from the original breakaway to win ahead of Tosh van der Sande (Lotto-Belisol) and Michal Golas (Omega Pharma-Quick Step). The chase group arrived 11 seconds later and the peloton, with Hushovd, was 57 seconds back. Van Avermaet said he was only looking for a good day of training following his victory Wednesday at Grand Prix de Wallonie. "We just gave it all to stay in front to the finish and that is what happened," Van Avermaet said.

This was Thor Hushovd's final race as a cycling professional, ending a 15-year career that included a world championship and victories in all three Grand Tours.

Complete Results:

Winner's average speed: 45.358 km/hr

1 Greg Van Avermaet BMC 4hr 20min 4sec
2 Tosh Van Der Sande Lotto-Belisol
3 Michal Golas Omega Pharma-Quick Step
4 Albert Timmer Giant-Shimano
5 Romain Cardis Europcar
6 Ramon Sinkeldam Giant-Shimano @ 11 seconds
7 Gianni Meersman Omega Pharma-Quick Step
8 Jasper De Buyst Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
9 Björn Leukemans Wanty-Groupe Gobert
10 Vincent Jerome Europcar
11 Andreas Schillinger NetApp-Endura
12 Tom Jelte Slagter Garmin-Sharp
13 Jimmy Janssens Team 3M
14 Tiziano Dall'Antonia Androni Giocattoli
15 Daan Olivier Giant-Shimano
16 Jonas Vangenechten Lotto-Belisol 57"
17 Danny Van Poppel Trek Factory Racing
18 Michael Van Staeyen Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
19 Luka Mezgec Giant-Shimano
20 Sven Erik Bystrøm
21 Gerry Druyts Team 3M
22 Rick Zabel BMC
23 Gaetan Bille Verandas Willems
24 Emiel Wastyn Verandas Willems
25 Moreno Hofland Belkin
26 Mike Teunissen Rabobank Development
27 Floris Gerfs Rabobank Development
28 Jérémy Burton Verandas Willems
29 Fredrik Strand Galta Oster Hus-Ridley
30 Stijn Vandenbergh Omega Pharma-Quick Step
31 Robin Stenuit Wallonie-Bruxelles
32 Jarl Salomein Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
33 Roy Jans Wanty-Groupe Gobert
34 Theo Bos Belkin
35 Gaëtan Pons Color Code
36 Nikolay Trusov Tinkoff-Saxo
37 Antoine Warnier Color Code
38 Michael Schwarzmann NetApp-Endura
39 Stef Van Zummeren Team 3M
40 Olivier Pardini Verandas Willems
41 Thomas Wertz Color Code
42 Martin Kohler BMC
43 Yoeri Havik De Rijke
44 Johnny Hoogerland Androni Giocattoli
45 Jay Mccarthy Tinkoff-Saxo
46 Antoine Leleu Color Code
47 Tom Veelers Giant-Shimano
48 Thor Hushovd BMC
49 Timo Roosen Rabobank Development
50 Michael Schär BMC
51 Ralf Matzka NetApp-Endura
52 Sebastian Lander BMC
53 Sébastien Delfosse Wallonie-Bruxelles
54 Matteo Di Serafino Androni Giocattoli
55 Derk Abel Beckeringh Rabobank Development
56 Giovanni Bernaudeau Europcar
57 August Jensen Oster Hus-Ridley
58 Angelo Tulik Europcar
59 Boy Van Poppel Trek Factory Racing
60 Fabio Silvestre Trek Factory Racing
61 Gert Dockx Lotto-Belisol
62 Johan Van Summeren Garmin-Sharp
63 Jean-Albert Carnevali Verandas Willems
64 Kevin De Weert Omega Pharma-Quick Step
65 Haavard Blikra Oster Hus-Ridley
66 Thomas Dekker Garmin-Sharp
67 Etienne Van Empel Rabobank Development
68 Jean-Pierre Drucker Wanty-Groupe Gobert
69 Clement Chevrier
70 Frank Schleck Trek Factory Racing
71 Kenny Robert Van Hummel Androni Giocattoli
72 Evgeny Petrov Tinkoff-Saxo
73 Ludwig De Winter Color Code
74 Sam Lennertz Vasgoedservice
75 Daniel Schorn NetApp-Endura
76 Jonas Rickaert Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
77 Sander Helven Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
78 Wesley Kreder Wanty-Groupe Gobert
79 André Greipel Lotto-Belisol
80 Laurens De Vreese Wanty-Groupe Gobert
81 Marco Frapporti Androni Giocattoli
82 Egidijus Juodvalkis Team 3M
83 Raymond Kreder Garmin-Sharp
84 Arnaud Geronboux Color Code
85 Bertjan Lindeman Rabobank Development
86 Tiesj Benoot Lotto-Belisol
87 Frédéric Amorison Wallonie-Bruxelles
88 Jonathan Dufrasne Wallonie-Bruxelles
89 Zdenek Stybar Omega Pharma-Quick Step
90 Loic Pestiaux Wallonie-Bruxelles
91 Nick Nuyens Garmin-Sharp
92 Frederique Robert Wanty-Groupe Gobert
93 Nico Sijmens Wanty-Groupe Gobert
94 Dylan Girdlestone Garmin-Sharp +1:16
95 Bert De Backer Giant-Shimano
96 Nicki Sörensen Tinkoff-Saxo
97 Grégory Rast Trek Factory Racing
98 Jesper Hansen Designa Kokken
99 Rasmus Guldhammer
100 Bryan Naulleau Europcar
101 Huub Duyn De Rijke
102 Jerome Kerf Color Code
103 Michal Kolár Tinkoff-Saxo
104 Moreno De Pauw Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
105 Kenny De Ketele Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
106 Lachlan David Morton Garmin-Sharp
107 Sep Vanmarcke Belkin
108 Zico Waeytens Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise
109 Sander Cordeel Vasgoedservice
110 Rob Ruijgh Vasgoedservice
111 Fabrice Jeandesboz Europcar
112 Ike Groen De Rijke
113 Andrew Fenn Omega Pharma-Quick Step
114 Maarten Wynants Belkin
115 Julien Stassen Wallonie-Bruxelles
116 Thomas Voeckler Europcar
117 Marcel Sieberg Lotto-Belisol
118 Coen Vermeltfoort De Rijke
119 Nicolas Vereecken Verandas Willems +2:05
120 Tony Gallopin Lotto-Belisol +7:15
121 Nino Honigh Rabobank Development +14:53
122 Jelle Mannaerts Verandas Willems
123 Gert Steegmans Omega Pharma-Quick Step
124 Calvin Watson Trek Factory Racing
125 Blaz Jarc NetApp-Endura
126 Jetse Bol Belkin
127 Tormod Hausken Jacobsen Oster Hus-Ridley
128 Morgan Lamoisson Europcar
129 Tom Dernies Wallonie-Bruxelles +15:26
130 Maximilien Picoux Color Code