BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Olympic Men's Track Sprint Results

Track sprinting, sometimes called "match sprinting", on a velodrome can involve two to four riders racing, (at the 2008 Beijing Olympics for example) 3 laps totaling 750 meters.

The qualifying round is a timed flying 200 meter time trial. From there the riders are seeded for the next round where the fastest rider races the slowest, the second fastest against the second slowest.

The first two laps of a match sprint are usually ridden slowly, the riders even coming to a complete halt, as they jockey for position or try to catch the other stopped with his crank arms vertical, depriving him momentarily of pedaling force. Some riders prefer to come from behind, other like to take the front. When the riders do dash for the line, it is an exciting all-out race.

Year, City




1896, Athens Paul Masson Stamatios Nikopoulos Leon Flameng
1900, Paris Georges Taillandier Fernand Sanz John Lake
1920, Antwerp Maurice Peeters Horace Johnson Harry Ryan
1924, Paris Lucien Michard Jacob Meijer Jean Cugnot
1928, Amsterdam Roger Beaufrand Antoine Mazairac Willy Falck-Hansen
1932, Los Angeles Jacobus Van Egmond Louis Chaillot Bruno Pellizzari
1936, Berlin Toni Merkens Arie Van Vliet Louis Chaillot
1948, London Mario Ghella Reg Harris Axel Schandorff
1952, Helsinki Enzo Sacchi Lionel Cox Werner Potzernheim
1956, Melbourne Michel Rousseau Guglielmo Pesenti Richard Ploog
1960, Rome Sante Gaiardoni Leo Sterckx Valentino Gasparella
1964, Tokyo  Giovanni Pettenella Sergio Bianchetto Daniel Morelon
1968, Mexico City Daniel Morelon Giordano Turrini Pierre Trentin
1972, Munich Daniel Morelon John Nicholson Omar Phakadze
1976, Montreal Anton Tkac Daniel Morelon Hans Jurgen Geschke
1980, Moscow Lutz Hesslich Yave Cahard Sergei Kopylov
1984, Los Angeles Mark Gorski Nelson Vails Tsutomu Sakamoto
1988, Seoul Lutz Hesslich Nikolai Kovche Gary Neiwand
1992, Barcelona Jens Fiedler Gary Neiwand Curtis Harnett
1996, Atlanta Jens Fiedler Marty Nothstein Curtis Harnett
2000, Sidney Marty Nothstein Florian Rousseau Jens Fiedler
2004, Athens Ryan Bayley
Theo Bos
Rene Wolff
2008, Beijing Chris Hoy
Great Britain
Jason Kenny
Great Britain
Mickael Bourgain
2012, London