BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Bicycle History book Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1949 Paris - Roubaix

47th edition: Sunday, April 17, 1949

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1950 edition | 1948 edition

244 km. 217 starters and 109 classified finishers. 42 riders were awarded 12th place.

L'Equipe's headline: "SCANDALE A L'ARIVEE D'UN DECEVANT PARIS-ROUBAIX. Mahé, premier après avoir parcouru 200 m. de plus es déclasse au béné Serse Coppi"

To explain: The leading trio of Mahé, Leenen and Moujica were misdirected when they arrived at the Roubaix velodrome. They did find their their way in and on to the track and André Mahé seemed to be the winner. Then Fausto Coppi's brother Serse won the field sprint. Coppi argued Mahé hadn't ridden the official race course and should be disqualified. Serse was then given the win. The whole controversy stewed for months until it was finally ruled a tie.

It's more fun and more complicated than my short summary. Les Woodland talked to André Mahé about that day. Read the whole story in his Cycling's 50 Craziest Stories.

Serse and Fausto Coppi after the 1949 Paris-Roubaix

Serse Coppi (left) and Fausto Coppi after the 1949 Paris-Roubaix

André Mahé

André Mahé

Complete Results:

  1. Serse Coppi (Bianchi-Ursus) & André Mahé (Stella-Dunlop) 6hr 11min 59sec. 39.356 km/hr
  2. Frans Leenen s.t.
  3. Jésus-Jacques Moujica (Mercier-A. Magne) s.t.
  4. Georges Martin s.t.
  5. André Declercq s.t.
  6. Florent Mathieu (Rochet-Dunlop) s.t.
  7. Roger Gyselinck s.t.
  8. Achiel Buysse s.t. (Paris-Roubaix scholar Pascal Sergent shows Albert Anciaux as 9th place)
  9. Albert Anciaux s.t. (Sergent shows Josef Verhaert finishing tenth)
  10. Norbert Callens s.t.
  11. Lode Anthonis (Erka-Terrot) s.t.
  12. Louison Bobet (Stella-Dunlop) s.t.
  13. Jean Bolly (Elvé-Météore-Griffon) s.t.
  14. Jean Breuer (Rochet-Dunlop) s.t.
  15. Urbain Caffi (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  16. Louis Caput s.t.
  17. Roger Chupin s.t.
  18. Georges Claes s.t.
  19. Oreste Conte (Bianchi-Ursus) s.t.
  20. Fausto Coppi (Bianchi-Ursus) s.t.
  21. Albert Decin s.t.
  22. Henk De Hoog s.t.
  23. Robert Desbats s.t.
  24. Emiel Faignaert s.t.
  25. Ugo Fondelli (Viscontea) s.t.
  26. Gabriel Gaudin s.t.
  27. Raphaël Géminiani s.t.
  28. Jesus Geus s.t.
  29. Emile Idée (Peugeot-Dunlop) s.t.
  30. Raymond Impanis s.t.
  31. René Janssens (Van Hauwaert-Dubonnet) s.t.
  32. Désiré Keteleer s.t.
  33. Edouard Klabinski (Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  34. Adolfo Leoni (Legnano-Pirelli) s.t.
  35. Nedo Logli (Arbos) s.t.
  36. Alfred Macorig (Métropole-Dunlop) s.t.
  37. Fiorenzo Magni (Wilier-Triestina) s.t.
  38. Maurice Meersman s.t.
  39. Ettore Milano (Bianchi-Ursus) s.t.
  40. André Pieters s.t.
  41. Albert Ramon s.t.
  42. Raoul Rémy (La Perle-Hutchinson) s.t.
  43. André Rosseel s.t.
  44. Albéric "Briek" Schotte (Alcyon-Dunlop) s.t.
  45. Désiré Stadsbader (Arliguie-Hutchinson) s.t.
  46. Ernest Sterckx s.t.
  47. Louis Thiétard (Métropole-Dunlop) s.t.
  48. Emmanuel Thoma s.t.
  49. Joseph Van Staeyen s.t.
  50. Adolf Verschueren s.t.
  51. René Walschot (Dilecta-Wolber) s.t.
  52. José Beyaert @ 43sec
  53. Julien Janssens @ 46sec
  54. Raymond Desmet @ 54sec
  55. Valère Ollivier s.t.
  56. Oscar Plattner s.t.
  57. Robert Chapatte @ 1min 23sec
  58. Maurice Diot s.t.
  59. Marcel Kint @ 1min 29sec
  60. Elio Castellucci @ 1min 46sec
  61. Jean Baldassari @ 2min 20sec
  62. Jean Kirchen s.t.
  63. Roger Le Nizerhy @ 3min 15sec
  64. Jules Depoorter s.t.
  65. Lucien Cathelin s.t.
  66. Luigi Malabrocca s.t.
  67. Paul Chocque s.t.
  68. Paul Neri s.t.
  69. Louis Déprez @ 4min 52sec
  70. Jean Erussard s.t.
  71. Andrea Carrea (Bianchi-Ursus) @ 6min 13sec
  72. Robert Castelin s.t.
  73. Julien Heirnaert @ 6min 35sec
  74. Charles Coste s.t.
  75. Wim De Ruiter s.t.
  76. Jean Martineau @ 6min 45sec
  77. Florent Rondele s.t.
  78. Roger Creton s.t.
  79. Olimpio Bizzi s.t.
  80. Frans Gielen s.t.
  81. Pierre Scalbi s.t.
  82. Bruno Pasquini (Bianchi-Ursus) @ 8min 35sec
  83. Maurice Bloome @ 9min 28sec
  84. Frans Decoster s.t.
  85. Marcel Molines @ 9min 58sec
  86. Jean Robic @ 10min 13sec
  87. Raymond Scardin s.t.
  88. Joseph-Pierre Tacca @ 13min 11sec
  89. Jean De Gribaldy (Peugeot-Dunlop) s.t.
  90. Jean-Marie Goasmat @ 14min 44sec
  91. Dominique Forlini s.t.
  92. Bernard Gauthier s.t.
  93. Roger Rondeaux s.t.
  94. Willy Kemp s.t.
  95. Pierre Fautrier s.t.
  96. Lionel Van Brabant @ 18min 45sec
  97. Fiorenzo Crippa s.t.
  98. Aldo Baito s.t.
  99. Luigi Casola (Benotto) s.t.
  100. Marcel Verschueren s.t.
  101. Hans Sommer s.t.
  102. Eugène Jacobs s.t.
  103. Virgilio Salimbeni (Legnano-Pirelli) @ 19min 30sec
  104. Jang Goldschmidt s.t.
  105. Alberto Ghirardi s.t.
  106. Marcel Dupont s.t.
  107. Jean Bozec @ 23min 42sec
  108. Raymond Colliot s.t.