BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1903 Paris - Roubaix

8th edition: Sunday, April 11, 1903

Paris-Roubaix podium history | 1902 edition | 1904 edition

268 km, 29.104 km/hr average speed

51 starters, 27 classified finishers

At this time, riders changed bikes at the entrance to the Roubaix velodrome before completing three laps around the track. Chapperon arrived ahead of Aucouterier, but grabbed Trousselier's bike. He changed bikes again and chased Aucouturier who now had a lead of 100 meters. He came within 10 meters, but did not catch Aucouturier.

Hippolyte Aucouturier

Hippolyte Aucouturier

Complete results:

  1. Hippolyte Aucouturier (France) 9hr 12min 30sec
  2. Claude Chapperon (France) @ 2sec (sometimes the gap is listed as 10 meters)
  3. Louis Trousselier (France) 39sec or 40sec
  4. Edouard Wattelier (France @ 1min 2sec
  5. Georges Lorgeou (France) @ 28min 30sec
  6. Jean Fischer (France) @ 39min 30sec
  7. Gustave Pasquier (France) @ 42min 30sec
  8. Paul Trippier (France) @ 47min 30sec
  9. Léon Georget (France) @ 55min 30sec
  10. Oscar Lepoutre (Belgium) @ 1hr 0min 30sec
  11. Edouard Chaudron (France) @ 1hr 5min 30sec
  12. Charles Prévost (Belgium) @ 1hr 6min 30sec
  13. Alois Catteau (Belgium) @ 1hr 13min 30sec
  14. Marcel Valpic (France) @ 1hr 16min 30sec
  15. Serbruyns (Belgium) @ 1hr 38min 30sec
  16. Gaston Héneaux (France) @ 1hr 48min 30sec
  17. Henri Alegoedt (Belgium) @ 3hr 11min 30sec
  18. Adolphe Derion (France) @ 3hr 12min 30sec
  19. Eugène Jay (France) @ 3hr 16min 30sec
  20. Julien Lootens (Belgium) @ 3hr 29min 30sec
  21. Léon Pernette (France) @ 3hr 34min 30sec
  22. Emile Boudrain (France) s.t.
  23. Laurent Dequenec (France) @ 4hr 13min 30sec
  24. Paul rosa (France) @ 4hr 14min 30sec
  25. L. Dardenne (France) @ 4hr 43min 30sec
  26. Léon Riche (France) @ 5hr 32min 30sec
  27. Maurand Delcambre (France) @ 6hr 5min 30sec