BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1972 La Flèche Wallonne

36th Edition: April 23, 1972

La Flèche Wallonne podium history | 1971 edition | 1973 edition

Verviers - Marcinelle,
249 km, 38.81 km/hr
132 starters, 55 classified finishers

Eddy Merckx

1972 Flèche Wallone winner Eddy Merckx

Complete results:

1 Eddy Merckx (Molteni) 6hr 25min
2 Raymond Poulidor (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
3 Willy Van Neste (Flandria-Beaulieu) s.t.
4 Gilbert Bellone (Rokado) s.t.
5 Georges Pintens (Van Cauter-Magniflex-De Gribaldy) s.t.
6 Alain Santy (Bic) s.t.
7 Gustaaf Van Roosbroeck (Watney-Avia) s.t.
8 Wim Schepers (Rokado) s.t.
9 Leif Mortensen (Bic) s.t.
10 Roger Swerts (Molteni) s.t.
11 Joop Zoetemelk (Flandria-Beaulieu) s.t.
12 Roger Rosiers (Bic) s.t.
13 Herman Van Springel (Molteni) s.t.
14 Raymond Delisle (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) s.t.
15 Joseph Spruyt (Molteni) @ 31sec
16 Eddy Cael (Novy-Dubble Bubble) s.t.
17 François Cocquery (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) 55"
18 Willy Teirlinck (Sonolor) s.t.
19 Cyrille Guimard (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
20 Victor Van Schil (Molteni) s.t.
21 Michel Coulon (Watney - Avia) @ 1min 5sec
22 Roland Berland (Bic) 1'50"
23 Robert Bouloux (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) s.t.
24 Willy Van Malderghem (Watney-Avia) s.t.
25 Eddy Verstraeten (Watney-Avia) s.t.
26 Lucien Van Impe (Sonolor) s.t.
27 Eric Leman (Bic) s.t.
28 Jos Deschoenmaker s.t.
29 Joaquim Agostinho (Van Cauter-Magniflex-De Gribaldy) s.t.
30 Johan De Muynck (Flandria-Beaulieu) s.t.
31 Dieter Puschel (Rokado) 1'55"
32 Jean-pierre Berckmans (Rokado) 3'29"
33 Eric Wijckaert (Novy-Dubble Bubble) 3'40"
34 Ferdinand Bracke (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) s.t.
35 Jürgen Tschan (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) s.t.
36 Raymond Riotte (Sonolor) s.t.
37 Etienne Antheunis (Watney-Avia) s.t.
38 Lucien Aimar (Rokado) s.t.
39 Roger Kindt (Van Cauter-Magniflex-De Gribaldy) s.t.
40 Désiré Letort (Bic) 4'30"
41 Michel Périn (Gan-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
42 Johnny Schleck (Bic) s.t.
43 Luc Van Goidsenhoven (Watney-Avia) s.t.
44 Maurice Dury (Hertekamp) s.t.
45 Willy Planckaert (Goldor-Ijsboerke) s.t.
46 José Catieau (Sonolor) s.t.
47 Pierre Martelozzo (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) s.t.
48 Aimé Delaere (Novy-Dubble Bubble) s.t.
49 Bernard Guyot (Sonolor) 8'35"
50 André Peirsman (Hertekamp) 18'32"
51 Pieter Nassen (Watney-Avia) s.t.
52 Frans Mintjens (Molteni) s.t.
53 Frans Kerremans (Novy-Dubble Bubble) s.t.
54 Julien Knockaert (Flandria-Beaulieu) s.t.
55 Emile Cambre s.t.