BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1981 Amstel Gold Race

16th Edition: Thursday, April 2, 1981

Complete Amstel Gold Race podium history | 1982 edition | 1980 edition |

Heerlen - Meerssen, Netherlands
237 km, 39.74 km/hr
160 starters, 60 classified finishers

Bernard Hinault

Bernard Hinault

Complete results:

1 Bernard Hinault (Renault-Elf-Gitane)  5hr 57min 49sec
2 Roger De Vlaeminck (DAF Trucks-Cote d'Or-Gazelle)  @ s.t.
3 Fons De Wolf (Vermeer Thijs-Mimo Salons-Gios) 
4 Rudy Pevenage (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) 
5 Jan Raas (TI-Raleigh-Creda) 
6 Sean Kelly (Splendor-Wickes) 
7 Phil Anderson (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) 
8 Theo De Rooy (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) 
9 Stefan Mutter (Cilo-Aufina) 
10 Roger De Cnijf (Boston-Mavic) 
11 Mario Van Vlimmeren (HB Alarmsystemen) 
12 Adrie Van Der Poel (DAF Trucks-Cote d'Or-Gazelle) 
13 Eric Van De Wiele (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) 
14 Jean-François Pescheux (La Redoute-Motobecane) 
15 Benny Schepmans (Safir-Galli-Ludo) 
16 Jean-Luc Vandenbroucke (La Redoute-Motobecane) 
17 Jean-Philippe Vandenbrande (Safir-Galli-Ludo) 
18 Philip Vandeginste (Eurobouw-Rossin)
19 Hubert Linard (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) 
20 Patrick Bonnet (Renault-Elf-Gitane) 
21 Jacques Bossis (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) 
22 Maurice Le Guilloux (Renault-Elf-Gitane) 
23 Theo De Rooy (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) 
24 Jan Nevens (Boston-Mavic) 
25 Derek Hunt (Boston-Mavic) 
26 Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) 
27 Willy Vigouroux (Safir-Galli-Ludo) 
28 Uwe Bolten (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) 
29 Pascal Simon (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) 
30 Ludwig Wijnants (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) 
31 Adrie Van Houwelingen (Vermeer Thijs-Mimo Salons-Gios) 
32 Daniel Willems (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) 
33 Ad Van Peer (HB Alarmsystemen) 
34 Ludo Peeters (TI-Raleigh-Creda) 
35 Claude Criquielion (Splendor-Wickes) 
36 Serge Demierre (Cilo-Aufina) 
37 Marino Amadori (Magniflex-Olmo) 
38 Ferdi Van Den Haute (La Redoute-Motobecane) 
39 Adri Jos Schipper (HB Alarmsystemen) 
40 Daniel Gisiger (Cilo-Aufina) 
41 Ronny Claes (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) 
42 Ronny Van Holen (Safir-Galli-Ludo) 
43 Jostein Wilmann (Capri Sonne-Koga Miyata) 
44 Gerrie Knetemann (TI-Raleigh-Creda) 
45 Willy Maessen (Rauler-Sakae-Rino)
46 Pierre Bazzo (La Redoute-Motobecane) 
47 Bernard Vallet (La Redoute-Motobecane) 
48 Beat Breu (Cilo-Aufina) 
49 Henk Lubberding (TI-Raleigh-Creda) 
50 Hennie Kuiper (DAF Trucks-Cote d'Or-Gazelle) 
51 Luc Colyn (DAF Trucks-Cote d'Or-Gazelle) 
52 Johan De Muynck (Splendor-Wickes) 
53 Graham Jones (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) 
54 Johnny Broers (Splendor-Wickes) 
55 Josef Fuchs (Cilo-Aufina) 
56 Peter Zijerveld (HB Alarmsystemen) 
57 Michel Laurent (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) 
58 Daniel Plummer (Splendor-Wickes) 
59 René Martens (DAF Trucks-Cote d'Or-Gazelle) 
60 Guido Van Calster (Splendor-Wickes)