BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook See our youtube channel Story of the Giro d'Italia, vol.2 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2003 E3 Prijs Harelbeke (1.1), Belgium

46th edition: Saturday, March 29, 2003
Complete Results

E3 Prijs Harelbeke podium history | 2002 edition | 2004 edition

Steven De Jongh

2003 E3 winner Steven De Jongh leading the field in the 2006 Paris-Roubaix. Sirotti photo

The race: This race was aggressively fought, with attacks being launched regularly.

But it was with 27 kilometers to go that Telekom's Steffen Wesemann attacked, taking along Stijn Devolder and Steven De Jongh.

The pack seemed uninterested in the move and the trio soon had a half-minute on the pack. As the few remaining kilometers were ticked off, the trio made the move stick.

Steven De Jongh was feeling confident and led out the sprint. He easily won.

Complete results:

209 kilometers raced at an average speed of 45.934 km/hr

163 starters, 78 classified finishers

1 Steven De Jongh  Rabobank 4hr 33min 0sec
2 Steffen Wesemann  Telekom s.t.
3 Stijn Devolder  Vlaanderen-T Interim s.t.
4 Raivis Belohvosciks  Marlux-Wincor Nixdorf @ 4sec
5 Frédéric Guesdon  FDJ s.t.
6 Enrico Cassani  Alessio s.t.
7 Jaan Kirsipuu  Ag2r 26"
8 Jans Koerts  BankGiroLoterij s.t.
9 Jo Planckaert  Cofidis s.t.
10 Max Van Heeswijk  US Postal s.t.
11 Dario Pieri  Saeco s.t.
12 Tom Boonen  Quick Step-Davitamon s.t.
13 Stefan Van Dijk  Lotto-Domo s.t.
14 Tristan Hoffman  CSC s.t.
15 Matthias Kessler  Telekom s.t.
16 Roger Hammond  Palmans-Collstrop s.t.
17 Gerben Löwik  BankGiroLoterij s.t.
18 Philippe Gaumont  Cofidis s.t.
19 Gianluca Bortolami  Sidermec s.t.
20 Fabio Baldato  Alessio s.t.
21 Stefano Zanini  Saeco s.t.
22 Arkadiusz Wojtas  CCC-Polsat s.t.
23 Oscar Freire Rabobank s.t.
24 Kim Kirchen  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
25 David Derepas  FDJ s.t.
26 Bert Scheirlinckx  Flanders-IteamNova s.t.
27 Nico Mattan  Cofidis s.t.
28 Peter Van Petegem  Lotto-Domo s.t.
29 Serguei Ivanov  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
30 Staf Scheirlinckx  Flanders-IteamNova s.t.
31 Stuart O'Grady  Credit Agricole s.t.
32 Matteo Carrara  De Nardi-Colpack s.t.
33 Andreas Klier  Telekom s.t.
34 Frank Höj  Fakta s.t.
35 Bernhard Eisel  FDJ s.t.
36 Mathew Hayman  Rabobank s.t.
37 Michael Boogerd  Rabobank s.t.
38 Marco Milesi  Sidermec s.t.
39 Rolf Aldag  Telekom s.t.
40 Sven Nijs  Rabobank s.t.
41 Kai Hundertmarck  Telekom s.t.
42 Serhiy Honchar  De Nardi-Colpack s.t.
43 Paolo Fornaciari  Saeco s.t.
44 Aart Vierhouten  Lotto-Domo s.t.
45 Chris Peers  Cofidis s.t.
46 Jan Boven  Rabobank s.t.
47 Frank Vandenbroucke  Quick Step-Davitamon s.t.
48 Rafael Nuritdinov  De Nardi-Colpack s.t.
49 Romans Vainsteins  Sidermec s.t.
50 Johan Museeuw  Quick Step-Davitamon s.t.
51 Marc Wauters  Rabobank s.t.
52 Wim Vansevenant  Lotto-Domo 32"
53 Michele Bartoli  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
54 Ondrej Fadrny  De Nardi-Colpack 3'42"
55 Michele Gobbi  De Nardi-Colpack 3'51"
56 Andy Cappelle  Marlux-Wincor Nixdorf 11'00"
57 James Vanlandschoot  Vlaanderen-T Interim s.t.
58 Ruggero Marzoli  Alessio s.t.
59 Christophe Agnolutto  Sidermec s.t.
60 Kevin Van Impe  Lotto-Domo s.t.
61 Christopher Jenner  Credit Agricole s.t.
62 Stefano Casagranda  Alessio s.t.
63 Geert Omloop  Palmans-Collstrop s.t.
64 Johan Dekkers  Marlux-Wincor Nixdorf s.t.
65 Lars Bak  Fakta s.t.
66 David Kopp  Telekom s.t.
67 Massimo Apollonio  Sidermec s.t.
68 Matthew Wilson  FDJ s.t.
69 Saulius Ruskys  Marlux-Wincor Nixdorf s.t.
70 Giosuè Bonomi  Saeco s.t.
71 Servais Knaven  Quick Step-Davitamon s.t.
72 Leif Hoste  Lotto-Domo s.t.
73 Matthé Pronk  BankGiroLoterij s.t.
74 Bram Schmitz  BankGiroLoterij s.t.
75 Nicolas Jalabert  CSC s.t.
76 Jan Schaffrath  Telekom s.t.
77 Davide Bramati  Quick Step-Davitamon s.t.
78 Andrey Kashechkin  De Nardi-Colpack s.t.