BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1971 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

57th edition: Sunday, April 25, 1971

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1972 edition | 1970 edition |

122 starters, 27 classified finishers

Belgium, 251 km: 36.12 km/hr average speed

Eddy merckx in 1971

Complete Results:

  1. Eddy Merckx (Molteni) 6hr 57min 0sec
  2. Georges Pintens (Hertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) s.t.
  3. Frans Verbeeck (Watney-Avia) @ 4min 51sec
  4. Gilbert Bellone (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
  5. Antoine Houbrechts (Salvarani) s.t.
  6. Ferdinand Bracke (Peugeot-BP) @ 5min 51sec
  7. Joseph Bruyère (Molteni) s.t.
  8. Raymond Delisle (Peugeot-BP) @ 6min 45sec
  9. Felice Gimondi (Salvarani) @ 6min 54sec
  10. Attilio Benfatto (SCIC) s.t.
  11. Gerben Karstens (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
  12. Charly Rouxel (Peugeot-BP) s.t.
  13. Willy de Geest (Hertekamp-Magiflex-Novy) s.t.
  14. Lucien Aimar (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
  15. Ronald de Witte (Peugeot-BP) s.t.
  16. Wim Schepers (Goudsmit-Hoff) s.t.
  17. Johnny Schleck (Bic) s.t.
  18. Joseph Huysmans (Molteni) s.t.
  19. Leif Mortensen (Bic) s.t.
  20. Victor van Schil (Molteni) s.t.
  21. Joop Zoetemelk (Mars-Flandria) s.t.
  22. Désiré Letort (Bic) @ 7min 50sec
  23. Joseph Spruyt (Molteni) s.t.
  24. Barry Hoban (Sonolor-Lejeune) @ 20min 5sec
  25. Michael Wright (Bic) @ 20min 12sec
  26. Marc Sohet (Bic) @ 28min 0sec
  27. Tino Tabek (Mars-Flandria) s.t.