BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1970 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

56th edition: Sunday, April 17, 1970

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1971 edition | 1969 edition |

138 starters, 36 classified finishers

Belgium, 235 km: 33.41 km/hr average speed

Roger de Vlaeminck in 1983

Roger de Vlaeminck in 1983

Complete Results:

  1. Roger de Vlaeminck (Flandria-Mars) 7hr 2min 0sec
  2. Frans Verbeeck (Geens-Watney-Diamant) @ 12sec
  3. Eddy Merckx (Faema-Faemino) s.t.
  4. Eric de Vlaeminck (Flandria-Mars) s.t.
  5. Georges Pintens (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  6. Herman van Springel (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  7. Willy In't Ven (Dr. Mann-Grundig) @ 4min 10sec
  8. Raymond Poulidor (Fagor-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  9. Italo Zilioli (Faema-Faemino) s.t.
  10. Lucien van Impe (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
  11. Jan Krekels (Caballero-Laurens) @ 7min 45sec
  12. Arie den Hartog (Caballero-Laurens)
  13. Alain Vasseur (Bic) s.t.
  14. Daniel van Ryckeghem (Dr. Mann-Grundig) @ 9min 10sec
  15. Jos de Schoenmaecker (Dr. Mann-Grundig) @ 9min 25sec
  16. Gilbert Bellone (Sonolor-Lejeune) @ 11min 13sec
  17. Jos Van der Vleuten (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
  18. André Poppe (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  19. Joseph Bruyère (Faema-Faemino) s.t.
  20. Frans Mintjens (Faema-Faemino) @ 12min 10sec
  21. Johnny Schleck (Bic) s.t.
  22. Joseph Schoeters (Peugeot-Michelin-BP) s.t.
  23. Cees Rentmeester (Caballero-Laurens) s.t.
  24. Jean-Claude Theillière (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
  25. Edward Janssens (Fagor-Mercier-Hutchinson) s.t.
  26. Victor Nuelant (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
  27. Willy Monty (Faema-Faemino) @ 16min 45sec
  28. Willy van Neste (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  29. Maurice Dury (Kertekamp-Magniflex-Novy) s.t.
  30. Winfried Bölke (Batavus-Continental-Alcina) s.t.
  31. Willy Van den Eynde (Geens-Watney-Diamant) s.t.
  32. Englebert Opdebeeck (Geens-Watney-Diamant) @ 17min 55sec
  33. Chris Pepels (Willem II-Gazelle) @ 18min 30sec
  34. Henk Benjamins (Caballero-Laurens) s.t.
  35. Marc Sohet (Bic) s.t.