BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1966 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Het Nieuwsblad"

21st edition: March 5, 1966

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1965 edition | 1967 edition

Gent - Gent, 213 km / 41.225 km/hr
139 starters / 80 classified finishers

jo de Roo

1966 Omloop Het Volk winner Jo de Roo in 1963 or 1964

Complete Results:

Rik van Looy crossed the finish line second, but was declassified to twentieth place for pulling on another rider's jersey during the sprint.

1 Jo De Roo  Televizier-Batavus 5hr 10min
2 Walter Godefroot  Wiel's-Groene LeeuW @ 5sec
3 Eddy Merckx  Peugeot-Michelin-BP s.t.
4 Joseph Spruyt  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
5 Willy Planckaert  Romeo-Smiths s.t.
6 Herman Van Springel  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
7 Frans Verbeeck  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
8 André Planckaert  Leroux-Terrot s.t.
9 Noël Fore  Romeo-Smiths s.t.
10 Willy Bocklant  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
11 Hubertus Zilverberg  Televizier-Batavus s.t.
12 Joseph Huysmans  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
13 Théo Verschueren  Romeo-Smiths s.t.
14 Georges Vanconingsloo  Peugeot-Michelin-BP s.t.
15 Jacques De Boever  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
16 Jan Lauwers  Romeo-Smiths s.t.
17 Dieter Puschel  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
18 Hubert Criel  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
19 Robert Lelangue  Solo-Superia s.t.
20 Rik Van Looy  Solo-Superia s.t.
21 Ferdinand Bracke  Peugeot-Michelin-BP @ 4min 40sec
22 Palle Lykke Jensen  Solo-Superia 5'40''
23 Frans Brands  Romeo-Smiths s.t.
24 Arthur Decabooter  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
25 Michael Wright  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
26 Rik Wouters  Televizier-Batavus s.t.
27 Antoine Trus  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
28 August Verhaegen  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
29 Roland Van De Rijse  Romeo-Smiths s.t.
30 Norbert Kerckhove  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
31 Edward Sels  Solo-Superia s.t.
32 Jos Van Der Vleuten  Televizier-Batavus s.t.
33 Gerben Karstens  Televizier-Batavus s.t.
34 Hugo Verhofstadt  Goldor 9'15''
35 Jan Hugens  Ford France-Hutchinson s.t.
36 Jozef Claesen  Goldor s.t.
37 Bart Zoet  Televizier-Batavus s.t.
38 Leo Knops  Televizier-Batavus 9'30''
39 René Maertens  Leroux-Terrot s.t.
40 Julien Delocht  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
41 Michel Grain  Ford France-Hutchinson s.t.
42 Cees Van Espen  Televizier-Batavus s.t.
43 Piet Rentmeester  Televizier-Batavus s.t.
44 Roger Blockx  Goldor s.t.
45 Norbert Van Cauwenberghe  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
46 Benoni Beheyt  Wiel's-Groene LeeuW s.t.
47 Jean Arze  Kamome-Dilecta-Dunlop s.t.
48 Paul Lemeteyer  Ford France-Hutchinson s.t.
49 Julien Stevens  Solo-Superia s.t.
50 Antonio Conti  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
51 Jérôme Kegels  Libertas s.t.
52 Rolf Wolfshohl  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
53 Mathieu Maes  Solo-Superia s.t.
54 Jean Graczyk  Ford France-Hutchinson s.t.
55 Gérard Thielin  Ford France-Hutchinson s.t.
56 Johnny Schleck  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
57 Michel Van Aerde  Solo-Superia s.t.
58 Raymond Vrancken  Goldor s.t.
59 Gianni Marcarini  Kamome-Dilecta-Dunlop s.t.
60 Paul Somers  Leroux-Terrot s.t.
61 Willy In't Ven  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
62 Victor Van Schil  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
63 Lode Troonbeeckx  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
64 Jacques Del'haye  Leroux-Terrot s.t.
65 Gilbert Desmet  Romeo-Smiths s.t.
66 Barry Hoban  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
67 Georges Smissaert  Leroux-Terrot s.t.
68 Guido Reybrouck  Romeo-Smiths s.t.
69 Albert Van Vlierberghe  Romeo-Smiths s.t.
70 Jos Boons  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
71 Yvo Molenaers  Romeo-Smiths s.t.
72 Albert Lacroix  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
73 Jean Louis Quesne  Ford France-Hutchinson s.t.
74 Jozef Timmerman  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
75 Willy Van Den Bulck  Goldor s.t.
76 Gilbert Desmet  Romeo-Smiths s.t.
77 Armand Desmet  Solo-Superia s.t.
78 Henk Nijdam  Televizier-Batavus s.t.
79 Marcel Van Den Bogaert  Dr. Mann-Grundig s.t.
80 Winfried Bölke  Peugeot-Michelin-BP s.t.