BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1964 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Het Nieuwsblad"

19th edition: February 20, 1964

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1963 edition | 1965 edition

Gent - Gent, 194 km / 42.481 km/hr
143 starters / 85 classified finishers

Frans Melckenbeek

1964 Omloop Het Volk winner Frans Melckenbeeck 

Complete Results:

2nd place Arthur de Cabooter was initially declassified for an irregular sprint but in the end was awarded that second place.

1 Frans Melkenbeek  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP 4hr 34min
2 Arthur Decabooter  Solo-Superia s.t.
3 Yvo Molenaers  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
4 Frans Aerenhouts  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
5 Gilbert Maes  Dr. Mann s.t.
6 Lode Troonbeeckx  Dr. Mann s.t.
7 Joseph Bosmans  Solo-Superia s.t.
8 Edward Sels  Solo-Superia s.t.
9 Guillaume Demaer  Dr. Mann s.t.
10 Willy Van Driescche  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
11 Gabriel Deloof  Flandria-Romeo s.t.
12 Victor Van Schil  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
13 René Van Meenen  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
14 Norbert Kerckhove  Dr. Mann s.t.
15 André Noyelle  Dr. Mann s.t.
16 Emile Daems  Peugeot-BP s.t.
17 Etienne Vercauteren  Dr. Mann s.t.
18 Tom Simpson  Peugeot-BP s.t.
19 Georges Vanconingsloo  Peugeot-BP s.t.
20 Robert Lelangue  Solo-Superia s.t.
21 Ernest Dumez  Lamot-Libertas s.t.
22 Roger Baens  Lamot-Libertas s.t.
23 Frans Verbeeck  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
24 Martin Van Den Bossche  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
25 Jacques De Boever  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
26 Benoni Beheyt  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
27 Alfons Hermans  Dr. Mann s.t.
28 Jean-baptiste Claes  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
29 Albert Covens  Dr. Mann s.t.
30 Gilbert Desmet  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
31 Roger De Breuker  Solo-Superia s.t.
32 Bastiaan Maliepaard  Saint Raphael-Gitane s.t.
33 Jean Stablinski  Saint Raphael-Gitane s.t.
34 Jan Lauwers  Flandria-Romeo s.t.
35 Wim Van Est  Dr. Mann s.t.
36 Gilbert Desmet  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
37 Arie Den Hartog  Saint Raphael-Gitane @ 6min 26sec
38 Karl-Heinz Kunde  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
39 Pierre Everaert  Saint Raphael-Gitane s.t.
40 Julien Haelterman  Flandria-Romeo 7'50''
41 Daniel Andries  Flandria-Romeo s.t.
42 René Thyssen  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
43 Urbain De Brauwer  Lamot-Libertas s.t.
44 Michael Wright  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
45 Georges Vandenberghe  Flandria-Romeo s.t.
46 Roland Aper  Flandria-Romeo s.t.
47 Marcel Bostoen  Lamot-Libertas s.t.
48 Raymond Vrancken  Flandria-Romeo s.t.
49 Willy Derboven  Solo-Superia s.t.
50 Jos Dewit  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
51 Auguste Van Woensel  Dr. Mann s.t.
52 Daniel Doom  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
53 Jacques Bels  Lamot-Libertas s.t.
54 Julien Gaelens  Dr. Mann s.t.
55 Roger Baguet  Solo-Superia s.t.
56 André Van Der Vloet  Flandria-Romeo s.t.
57 Hugo Hellemans  Dr. Mann s.t.
58 Robert Seneca  Solo-Superia s.t.
59 Leon Vandaele  Dr. Mann s.t.
60 Maurice Joosen  Lamot-Libertas s.t.
61 Walter Boucquet  Flandria-Romeo s.t.
62 Ad Vromans  s.t.
63 Richard Everaerts  Flandria-Romeo s.t.
64 Pierre Dekkers  Individual s.t.
65 Cees Van Espen  Televizier s.t.
66 Albertus 'Ab' Geldermans  Saint Raphael-Gitane s.t.
67 Marcel Van Den Bogaert  Libertas s.t.
68 Dick Enthoven  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
69 Léon Sebregts  Dr. Mann s.t.
70 Jean Arze  Peugeot-BP s.t.
71 Alphonse Leemens  9'00''
72 Paul Vermeulen  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP 12'00''
73 Théo Nys  s.t.
74 August Verhaegen  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
75 André Lauwers  Lamot-Libertas s.t.
76 Vincent Denson  Solo-Superia s.t.
77 Lex Van Kreuningen  Ruberg-Caltex s.t.
78 Yvan Covent  Solo-Superia s.t.
79 Willy Samijn  s.t.
80 Jan Schroder  s.t.
81 André Van Aert  Televizier s.t.
82 Jos Linders  s.t.
83 Claude Valdois  Peugeot-BP s.t.
84 René Couchez  Flandria-Romeo s.t.
85 Léon Gevaert  Flandria-Romeo s.t.