BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1963 Omloop Het Volk ( HC)

This race is now "Het Nieuwsblad"

18th edition: March 2, 1963

Omloop Het Nieuwsblad podium history | 1962 edition | 1964 edition

Gent - Gent, 181 km / 39.926 km/hr
117 starters / 62 classified finishers

Rene van Meenen

1963 Omloop Het Volk winner René Van Meenen 

Complete Results:

40th place remains a mystery.

1 René Van Meenen  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw 4hr 32min
2 Ludo Janssens  G.B.C.-Libertas s.t.
3 Jean-Baptiste Claes  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
4 Frans Van Immerseel  G.B.C.-Libertas s.t.
5 Jos Dewit  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune @ 2min 5sec
6 Walter Muylaert  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
7 Daniel Doom  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
8 René Thyssen  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
9 Romain Van Wynsberghe  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
10 Piet Van Est  Dr. Mann s.t.
11 Edmond Coppens  Faema-Flandria s.t.
12 Willy Raes  Dr. Mann s.t.
13 Victor Van Schil  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
14 Vincent Denson  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
15 Yvo Molenaers  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
16 Dieter Puschel  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
17 Albert Van D'huynslager  Ruberg-Liga s.t.
18 Edouard Delberghe  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
19 Marcel Van Den Bogaert  G.B.C.-Libertas 3'55''
20 Emile Van Den Boer  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw 4'20''
21 Frans Melkenbeek  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP 4'50''
22 Robert De Middeleir  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
23 Willy Leenaerts  Dr. Mann s.t.
24 Gustave Van Vaerenbergh  Bertin-Porter 39-Milremo s.t.
25 Willy Bocklant  Faema-Flandria s.t.
26 Hugo Hellemans  G.B.C.-Libertas s.t.
27 Joseph Wouters  Solo-Terrot-Englebert 8'10''
28 Gustaaf De Smet  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
29 Emiel Lambrecht  Dr. Mann s.t.
30 Louis Proost  Solo-Terrot-Englebert s.t.
31 Jan Janssen  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
32 Pierre Martin  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
33 Norbert Kerckhove  Dr. Mann s.t.
34 Raymond Vrancken  G.B.C.-Libertas s.t.
35 Theo Nijs  Dr. Mann s.t.
36 Francesco Miele  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
37 Jacques De Boever  Solo-Terrot-Englebert s.t.
38 René Couchez  Faema-Flandria s.t.
39 Frans Brands  Faema-Flandria s.t.
40 ? s.t.
41 Marcel Seynaeve  Solo-Terrot-Englebert s.t.
42 Roger De Breuker  Solo-Terrot-Englebert s.t.
43 Henri De Wolf  Solo-Terrot-Englebert s.t.
44 Alan Ramsbottom  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
45 Eddy Pauwels  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
46 Willy Declercq  Dr. Mann s.t.
47 Julien De Pre  Faema-Flandria s.t.
48 Adolf De Waele  G.B.C.-Libertas s.t.
49 Julien Van Oostende  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
50 Joop Captein  Dossche Sport-Theugels-Robur s.t.
51 Joseph Michels  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
52 René Fournier  Pelforth-Sauvage-Lejeune s.t.
53 Léopold Rosseel  Ruberg-Liga s.t.
54 Clément Roman  Faema-Flandria s.t.
55 Roger Baguet  Wiel's-Groene Leeuw s.t.
56 Guillaume Demaer  Solo-Terrot-Englebert s.t.
57 Robert Vandecaveye  Faema-Flandria s.t.
58 Walter Boucquet  Faema-Flandria s.t.
59 Michel Van Aerde  Solo-Terrot-Englebert s.t.
60 Noël Fore  Faema-Flandria s.t.
61 Alfons Hellemans  Mercier-Hutchinson-BP s.t.
62 Lucien Stevens  Faema-Flandria s.t.