BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1998 Giro di Lombardia
(Tour of Lombardy)

92nd edition: Saturday, October 17, 1998

Giro di Lombardia podium history | 1999 edition | 1997 edition |

195 starters, 42 finishers
Varese - Bergamo, 253 km
Winner's average speed: 42.22 km/hr

Oscar Camenzind wins the 1998 Giro di Lombardia

Complete Results:

  1. Oscar Camenzind (Mapei) 5hr 59min 1sec
  2. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) @ 6sec
  3. Felice Puttini (Ros Mary-Amica Chips) @ 1min 21sec
  4. Michele Bartoli (Asics) s.t.
  5. Pascal Richard (Casino) s.t.
  6. Gilberto Simoni (Cantina Tollo) @ 1min 57sec
  7. Marco Serpellini (Brescialat) @ 3min 50sec
  8. Markus Zberg (Post Swiss) s.t.
  9. Andrei Zintchenko (Vitalicio Seguros) s.t.
  10. Andrea Tafi (Mapei) s.t.
  11. Marco Velo (Mercatone Uno) s.t.
  12. Davide Rebellin (Polti) s.t.
  13. Paolo Valoti (Cantina Tollo) s.t.
  14. Felix Manuel Garcia Casas (Festina) s.t.
  15. Wladimir Belli (Festina) @ 4min 22sec
  16. Mirko Celestino (Polti) @ 5min 31sec
  17. Mario Aerts (Lotto) s.t.
  18. Favrice Gougot (Casino) @ 5min 36sec
  19. Vladimir Duma (Scrigno-Gaerne) @ 5min 50sec
  20. Richard Virenque (Festina) @ 6min 23sec
  21. Paolo Bettini (Asics) @ 11min 1sec
  22. Emmanuel Magnien (FDJ) s.t.
  23. Mauro Gianetti (FDJ) s.t.
  24. Niki Aerbersold (Swiss Post) s.t.
  25. Rolf Sorensen (Rabobank) s.t.
  26. Mirko Gualdi (Polti) s.t.
  27. Andrea Patuelli (Amore & Vita) s.t.
  28. Jens Voigt (Gan) s.t.
  29. Luca Mazzanti (Cantina Tollo) s.t.
  30. Maarten den Bakker (Rabobank) s.t.
  31. Stefano Cattai (Ballan) s.t.
  32. Udo Bolts (Telekom) s.t.
  33. Pascal Herve (Festina) @ 11min 4sec
  34. Andrei Kivilev (Festina) s.t.
  35. Valerio Tebaldi (Mobilvetta) @ 13min 1sec
  36. Fabrizio Bontempi (Ros Mary-Amica Chips) s.t.
  37. Valentino Fois (Vini Caldirola) s.t.
  38. Rolf Jarmann (Casino) s.t.
  39. Marc Lotz (Rabobank) s.t.
  40. Claus-Michael Moller (TVM-Farm Frites) s.t.
  41. Franz Hotz (Post Swiss) s.t.
  42. Roland Meier (Cofidis) s.t.