BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume one Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1979 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

65th edition: Sunday, April 2, 1979

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1980 edition | 1978 edition |

158 starters, 36 classified finishers

Belgium, 241.7 km: 36.71 km/hr average speed

Dietruch Thurau

Dietrich Thurau riding the 1979 GP Kelvinator

Complete Results:

  1. Dietrich Thurau (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis) 6hr 35min 0sec
  2. Bernard Hinault (Renault-Gitane) @ 55sec
  3. Daniel Willems (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis) s.t.
  4. Giambattista Baronchelli (Magniflex-Famcucine) s.t.
  5. Eddy Schepers (DAF Trucks-Aida) s.t.
  6. Lucien van Impe (KAS-Campagnolo) s.t.
  7. Michel Pollentier (Splendor-Euro-Soap) s.t.
  8. Fons de Wolf (Lano-Boule d'Or) s.t.
  9. Herman van Springel (Marc Zeep Savon-Superia) s.t.
  10. Michel laurent (Peugeot-Esso) s.t.
  11. Claude Criquielion (KAS-Campganolo) s.t.
  12. René Martens (Flandria-Ca va Seul-Sunair) s.t.
  13. Josef Fuchs (Jelmoli-Merosa) s.t
  14. Ludo Peeters (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis) s.t.
  15. Marcel Laurens (Marc Zeep Savon-Superia) @ 1min 58sec
  16. Pascal Simon (Peugeot-Esso) @ 2min 5sec
  17. Guido van Calster (DAF Trucks-Aida) s.t.
  18. Benny Schepmans (Safir St. Louis-Ludo) s.t.
  19. Roger de Cnijf (Lano-Boule d'Or) s.t.
  20. Sean Kelly (Splendor-Euro Soap) s.t.
  21. Pierre-Raymond Villemiane (Renault-Gitane) s.t.
  22. Gerrie Knetemann (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  23. René Bittinger (Flandria-Ca va Seul-Sunair) s.t.
  24. Ludwig (Mini Flat-VDB-Pirelli) s.t.
  25. Alfio Vandi (Magniflex-Famucine) s.t.
  26. Henk Lubberding (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  27. Hennie Kuiper (Peugeot-Esso)
  28. Giuseppe Saronni (SCIC) s.t.
  29. Tony Houbrechts (Safir-St. Louis-Ludo) @ 4min 0sec
  30. Walter Godefroot (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis) s.t.
  31. Maurizio Bellet (DAF Truck-Aida) s.t.
  32. Joseph Borguet (KAS-Campagnolo) s.t.
  33. Johan Van der Velde (Ti-Ralegh) s.t.
  34. Frank Hoste (Marc Zeep Savon-Superia) s.t.
  35. Willy Maessen (Lan Boule d'Or) @ 17min 0sec
  36. Lucien Didier (Renault-Gitane) s.t.