BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1976 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

62nd edition: Sunday, April 18, 1976

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1977 edition | 1975 edition |

128 starters, 34 classified finishers

Belgium, 246.7 km: 37.86 km/hr average speed

Joseph Bruyere

Joseph Bruyère

Complete Results:

  1. Joseph Bruyère (Molteni) 6hr 31min 0sec
  2. Freddy Maertens (Flandria-Velda) @ 4min 40sec
  3. Frans Verbeeck (Ijsboerke-Colnago) s.t.
  4. Jean-Pierre Danguillaume (Peugeot-Esso) s.t.
  5. Hennie Kuiper (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  6. Eddy Merckx (Molteni) s.t.
  7. Régis Ovion (Peugeot-Esso) s.t.
  8. Raymond Poulidor (Gan-Mercier) s.t.
  9. Herman van Springel (Flandria-Velda)
  10. Joop Zoetemelk (Gan Mercier) s.t.
  11. Michel Pollentier (Flandria-Velda) s.t.
  12. Walter Godefroot (Ijsboerke-Colnago) @ 5min 0sec
  13. Bernard Thévenet (Peugeot-Esso) s.t.
  14. Dietrich Thurau (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  15. André Dierickx (Maes Pils-Rokado) s.t.
  16. Englebert Opdebeeck (Ijsboerke-Colnago) @ 12min 0sec
  17. Pierino Gavazzi (Jolly Ceramica-Decor) @ 14min 0sec
  18. Ferdi Van den Haute (Ebo-Cinzia) s.t.
  19. André Mollet (Maes Pils-Rokado) s.t.
  20. Ferdi Bracke (Lejeune-BP) s.t.
  21. Lucien van Impe (Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
  22. Patrick Perret (Miko-De Gribaldy-Superia) s.t.
  23. Giovanni Battaglin (Jolly Ceramica-Decor) s.t.
  24. Ferdinand Julien (Lejeune-BP) s.t.
  25. Lieven Malfait (Maes Pils-Rokado) s.t.
  26. Michel Laurent (Miko-De Gribaldy-Superia) s.t.
  27. Enrico Maggioni (Jolly Ceramica-Decor) s.t.
  28. Alfredo Chinetti (Jolly Ceramica-Decor) s.t.
  29. Joseph Borguet (Molteni) @ 23min 0sec
  30. José De Cauwer (TI-Raleigh) s.t.
  31. René Leuenberger (Känel-Colnago) s.t.
  32. Bruno Jaremko (Ebo-Cinzia) s.t.
  33. Karl-Heinz Küster (Maes Pils-Rokado) s.t.
  34. Jean-Pierre Baert (Miko-De Gribaldy-Superia) s.t.