BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, vol.2 South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1956 Liège-Bastogne-Liège

42nd edition: Sunday, May 6, 1956

Liège-Bastogne-Liège podium history | 1957 edition | 1955 edition |

155 starters, 56 classified finishers.

Belgium, 247 km: 34.97 km/hr average speed

A small group was awarded a tie for 36th place.

Feed de Bruyne

Complete Results:

  1. Alfred de Bruyne (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) 7hr 3min 45sec
  2. Richard van Genechten s.t.
  3. Alex Close (Elve-Peugeot) @ 1min 16sec
  4. André Vlayen (Elve-Peugeot) @ 1min 44sec
  5. Rik van Looy (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  6. Désiré Keteleer (Faema-Guerra) s.t.
  7. Giuseppe "Pino" Cerami (Elve-Peugeot) s.t.
  8. Jean Vliegen (Libertas-Huret) s.t.
  9. Jean Forestier (Follis-Dunlop) s.t.
  10. Wim van Est (Locomotief-Vredestein) s.t.
  11. Willy Truye (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
  12. Marcel de Mulder (Groene Leeuw) s.t.
  13. Francis Kemplaire (Elve-Peugeot) s.t.
  14. Alfons Vandenbranden (Libertas-Huret) s.t.
  15. Frans van Looveren (Carpano-Coppi) s.t.
  16. Jan Zagers (Libertas-Huret) s.t.
  17. Briek Schotte s.t.
  18. Aldo Bolzan (Follis-Dunlop) s.t.
  19. Jan Adriaenssens (Mercier-Hutchinson-BP) s.t.
  20. Stan Ockers (Elve-Peugeot) s.t.
  21. Sante Ranucci (Legnano) s.t.
  22. Jean Brankart s.t.
  23. Jean Fourneau (Elve-Peugeot) s.t.
  24. Fernand Leemans (Thompson) @ 2min 10sec
  25. Lino Grassi (Legnano) @ 5min 29sec
  26. Lode Anthonis (Plume Vainquer) @ 6min 0sec
  27. Joseph Planckaert @ 7min 5sec
  28. Piet van den Brekel @ 8min 14sec
  29. Wout Wagtmans @ 9min 19sec
  30. Agostino Coletto (Frejus) @ 10min 38sec
  31. Vincenzo Rossello @ 16min 9sec
  32. Wladimiro Bartolozzi (Legnano) s.t.
  33. Alfredo Tonello s.t.
  34. Edward de Boitseleir s.t.
  35. Théo Brunswyck s.t.
  36. Maurice Baele s.t.
    Karle Clerckx (Libertas) s.t.
    Jean Borcy s.t.
    Frans Daems s.t.
    Nello Fabbri s.t.
    Pietro Giudici s.t.
    Norbert Kerkhove s.t.
    Ugo Massacco s.t.
    Leon Van Daele s.t.
    Edmond van Heghe s.t.
  37. Ken Mitchell @ 21min 25sec
  38. Alcide Vaucher @ 26min 10sec
  39. René de Smet s.t.
  40. Jean Moxhet s.t.
  41. Willy Schroeders @ 27min 20sec
  42. Jan van Gompel (Libertas) s.t.
  43. John Anderson @ 30min 45sec
  44. Odiel Vandecasteele @31min 20sec
  45. Maurice Neyt s.t.
  46. Petrus Lowie s.t.
  47. Armand Baeysens @ 36min 5sec