BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Cycling's 50 Triumphs and Tragedies Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Cycles BiKyle Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1983 Gent - Wevelgem,

Ghent - Wevelgem (English), Gand - Wevelgem (French)

45th edition, April 6, 1983

Gent - Wevelgem podium history | 1982 edition | 1984 edition

255 km / 39.331 km/hr
205 starters, 52 classified finishers

Leo van Vleit

Winner Leo van Vliet wins 1983 Gent-Wevelgem. ANP photo.

Complete Results

1 Léo Van Vliet (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) 6hr 29min 8sec
2 Jan Raas (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) @ 20sec
3 Frank Hoste (Europdecor-Dries) s.t.
4 Adrie Van Der Poel (Jacky Aernoudt-Rossin) s.t.
5 Etienne De Wilde (La Redoute-Motobecane) s.t.
6 Gregor Braun (Vivi-Benotto-Puma) s.t.
7 Pierino Gavazzi (Atala-Campagnolo) s.t.
8 Stefan Mutter (Eorotex-Magniflex) s.t.
9 Ludo Peeters (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
10 Valerio Piva (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
11 Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Peugeot-Shell-Michelin) s.t.
12 Greg LeMond (Renault-Elf) s.t.
13 Eddy Planckaert (Splendor-Euro Shop) s.t.
14 Henk Lubberding (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
15 Ad Wijnands (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
16 Marc Madiot (Renault-Elf) s.t.
17 Adri Jos Schipper (Elro Snacks-Autobrabant) s.t.
18 Jan Bogaert (Europdecor-Dries) s.t.
19 Jozef Lieckens (Safir-Van de Ven) @ 3min 43sec
20 Eric Vanderaerden (Jacky Aernoudt-Rossin) s.t.
21 Johan Van Der Velde (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
22 Roger De Cnijf (Boule d'Or-Colnago) s.t.
23 Phil Anderson (Peugeot-Shell-Michelin) s.t.
24 Luc Colyn (Fangio-Tonissteiner-OM Trucks) s.t.
25 Adrie Van Houwelingen (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
26 René Koppert (Termolan-Galli) s.t.
27 Erich Mächler (Cilo-Aufina) s.t.
28 William Tackaert (Splendor-Euro Shop) s.t.
29 Steven Rooks (Sem-France Loire-Mavic) s.t.
30 Tommy Prim (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
31 Rudy Dhaenens (Splendor-Euro Shop) s.t.
32 Francesco Moser (Gis-Campagnolo) s.t.
33 Ronan Onghena (Sem-France Loire-Mavic) @ 7min 10sec
34 Henri Toon Manders (Jacky Aernoudt-Rossin) s.t.
35 Luc De Decker (Safir-Van de Ven) s.t.
36 Bert Van Ende (Fangio-Tonissteiner-OM Trucks) s.t.
37 Cees Priem (TI-Raleigh-Campagnolo) s.t.
38 Aad Van Den Hoek (Beckers Snacks) s.t.
39 Hans Langerijs (Beckers Snacks) s.t.
40 Marc Van Geel (Safir-Van de Ven) s.t.
41 Silvano Contini (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
42 Pol Verschuere (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
43 Marcel Tinazzi (Sem-France Loire-Mavic) s.t.
44 Jonathan Boyer (Sem-France Loire-Mavic) s.t.
45 Eddy Schepers (Perlav - Eurosoap - Castelli - Gazelle) s.t.
46 Hubert Seiz (Cilo-Aufina) s.t.
47 Noël Segers (Boule d'Or-Colnago) s.t.
48 Giovanni Renosto (Atala-Campagnolo) s.t.
49 Daniel Willems (Boule d'Or-Colnago) s.t.
50 Jan Wijnants (Boule d'Or-Colnago) s.t.
51 Fons De Wolf (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
52 Philippe Saude (Renault-Elf) @ 8min 0sec