BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1980 La Flèche Wallonne

44th Edition: April 17, 1980

La Flèche Wallonne podium history | 1979 edition | 1981 edition

Mons - Spa,
248 km, 38.25 km/hr
209 starters, 47 classified finishers

Giusepe Saronni

1980 Flèche Wallone winner Giuseppe Saronni during the 1983 Giro d'Italia

Complete results:

1 Giuseppe Saronni (Gis Gelati-Colnago) 6hr 29min
2 Sven-Åke Nilsson (Miko-Mercier-Vivagel) @ 2sec
3 Bernard Hinault (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo) @ 1min 40sec
4 Guido Van Calster (Splendor-Admiral-TV Ekspres) s.t.
5 Jean René Bernaudeau (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
6 Henk Lubberding (TI-Raleigh-Creda) s.t.
7 Hennie Kuiper (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
8 Jo Maas (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-PZ) s.t.
9 Gianbattista Baronchelli (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
10 Joop Zoetemelk (TI-Raleigh-Creda) s.t.
11 Raymond Martin (Miko-Mercier-Vivagel) s.t.
12 Herman Van Springel (Safir-Ludo) 4'01"
13 Willy Vigouroux (Safir-Ludo) 4'09"
14 Pascal Simon (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
15 Johan Van Der Velde (TI-Raleigh-Creda) s.t.
16 Marino Amadori (Magniflex-Olmo) s.t.
17 Jacques Verbrugge (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-PZ) s.t.
18 Gottfried 'Gody' Schmutz (Cilo-Aufina) s.t.
19 René Martens (Daf Trucks-Lejeune-PZ) s.t.
20 René Bittinger (Miko-Mercier-Vivagel) s.t.
21 Ennio Vanotti (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
22 Ludo Peeters (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis-Koga Miyata) s.t.
23 Daniel Willems (Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis-Koga Miyata) 4'14"
24 Silvano Contini (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
25 Jean-Philippe Vandenbrande (Safir-Ludo) 7'49"
26 Bernard Bourreau (Peugeot-Esso-Michelin) s.t.
27 Pierino Gavazzi (Magniflex-Olmo) s.t.
28 Bert Pronk (TI-Raleigh-Creda) s.t.
29 Patrick Bonnet (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
30 Bernard Becaas (Renault-Gitane-Campagnolo) s.t.
31 Wladimiro Panizza (Gis Gelati-Colnago) s.t.
32 Bernt Johansson (Magniflex-Olmo) s.t.
33 Johan De Muynck (Splendor-Admiral-TV Ekspres) 7'59"
34 Knut Knudsen (Bianchi-Piaggio) s.t.
35 Léo Van Vliet (TI-Raleigh-Creda) 11'59"
36 Jan Jonkers (Boston-Ifi-Mavic) s.t.
37 Marcel Laurens (Marc-Carlos-Vrd) s.t.
38 Benny Schepmans (Safir-Ludo) 17'34"
39 Heddie Nieuwdorp (HB Alarmsystemen) s.t.
40 Jan Bogaert (Mini Flat-Vermeer-Thijs-Galli) s.t.
41 Joseph Wehrli (Cilo - Aufina) s.t.
42 Ad Van Peer (HB Alarmsystemen) s.t.
43 Louis Luyten (Eurobouw-Cambio Rino) s.t.
44 Paul Jesson (Splendor-Admiral-TV Ekspres) s.t.
45 Joseph Borguet (Splendor-Admiral-TV Ekspres) s.t.
46 Serge Demierre (Cilo-Aufina) 17'42"
47 Ronan Onghena (Splendor-Admiral-TV Ekspres) s.t.