BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1967 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

34th edition: Sunday, September 3, 1967
Heerlen, Netherlands

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1968 edition | 1966 edition |

70 riders started, 45 classified finishers.
20 laps of 13.259 km totalling 265.2 km. Winner's average speed: 39.32km/hr

Eddy Merckx at the 1968 GP Castrocaro Terme

Merckx in his rainbow jersey riding the 1968 GP Castrocaro Terme

Complete Results:

  1. Eddy Merckx (Belgium) 6hr 44min 42sec
  2. Jan Janssen (Netherlands) s.t.
  3. Ramon Saez (Spain) s.t.
  4. Gianni Motta (Italy) s.t.
  5. Jos Van der Vleuten (dope positive)
  6. José Manuel Lasa (Spain) @ 2min 5sec
  7. Daniel van Rijckeghem (Belgium) s.t.
  8. Michele Dancelli (Italy) s.t.
  9. Joseph Boons (Belgium) s.t.
  10. Robert Hagmann (Switzerland) s.t.
  11. Peter Post (Netherland) s.t.
  12. André Foucher (France) s.t.
  13. Rolf Wolfshohl (Germany) @ 8min 3sec
  14. Rudi Altig (Germany) @ 8min 25sec
  15. Gerben Karstens (Netherlands) s.t.
  16. Marino Basso (Italy) s.t.
  17. Harry Steevens (Netherlands) s.t.
  18. Raymond Riotte (France) s.t.
  19. Paul Lemeteyer (France) s.t.
  20. Jan Harings (Netherlands) s.t.
  21. José-Manuel Lopez-Rodriguez (Spain) s.t.
  22. Wim Schepers (Netherlands) s.t.
  23. José-Antonio Momene (Spain) s.t.
  24. Raymond Poulidor (France) s.t.
  25. Hans Junkermann (Germany) s.t.
  26. Johnny Schleck (Luxembourg) s.t.
  27. Jean-Baptiste Claes (Belgium) s.t.
  28. Luis-Pedro Santamarina (Spain) s.t.
  29. Felice Gimondi (Italy) s.t.
  30. Franco Balmamion (Italy) s.t.
  31. Barry Hoban (Great Britain) s.t.
  32. Bernard Vifian (Switzerland) s.t.
  33. Francisco Gabica (Spain) s.t.
  34. Eddy Schutz (Luxembourg) s.t.
  35. Dino Zandegù (Italy) s.t.
  36. Roger Pingeon (France) s.t.
  37. Bernard Guyot (France) s.t.
  38. Willy Monty (Belgium) s.t.
  39. Jean Stablinski (France) s.t.
  40. Peter Abt (Switzerland) s.t.
  41. Tommaso de Pra (Italy) s.t.
  42. Lucien Aimar (france) s.t.
  43. Ole Ritter (Denmark) s.t.
  44. Willy In't Ven (Belgium) s.t.
  45. Herbert Wilde (Germany) @ 14min 3sec