BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Paris-Roubaix: The Inside Story Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us! Cycle Italia cycling tours

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1969 Tour of Flanders - Ronde van Vlaanderen

53rd edition: Sunday, March 30, 1969

Podium history of the Tour of Flanders | 1970 edition | 1968 edition

259 km. 178 starters, 40 classified finishers

Ascents: Kwaremont, Kloosterstraat, Valkenberg, Kasteelstraat

Eddy Merckx and Frans Verbeeck

Eddy Merckx and Frans Verbeeck in the 1975 Tour of Flanders

Complete results:

  1. Eddy Merckx (Faema) 6hr 20min 0sec. 40.9 km/hr
  2. Felice Gimondi (Salvarani) @ 5min 36sec
  3. Marino Basso (Molteni) @ 8min 8sec
  4. Franco Bitossi (Filotex) s.t.
  5. Bernard Van der Kerkhove (Faema) s.t.
  6. Michele Dancelli (Molteni) s.t.
  7. Barry Hoban (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  8. Frans Verbeeck (Geens-Diamant) s.t.
  9. Georges Claes s.t.
  10. Jozef Spruyt (Faema) @ 8min 10sec
  11. Julien Stevens (Faema) @ 9min 12sec
  12. Eric de Vlaeminck (Flandria-De Clerck-Krüger) 14min 9sec
  13. Walter Godefroot (Flandria-De Clercq-Krüger) @ 14min 12sec
  14. Willy Bocklant (Pull Over Centrale-Tasmanie-Novy) s.t.
  15. Roger Rosiers (Dr. Mann-Grundig) s.t.
  16. Jos Schoeters (Peugeot-BP-Michelin) @ 14min 19sec
  17. Jan Janssen (Bic) @ 15min 4sec
  18. Julien Delocht (Faema) s.t.
  19. Willy de Geest (Pull Over Centrale-Tasmanie-Novy) @ 15min 14sec
  20. Noël Van Clooster (Flandria-De Clercq-Krüger) @ 15min 25sec
  21. Antoon Houbrechts (Flandria-De Clercq-Krüger) s.t.
  22. Eric Leman (Flandria-De Clercq-Krüger) @ 15min 35sec
  23. Raymond Steegmans (Goldor-Hertekamp-Gerka) @ 15min 47sec
  24. Evert Dolman (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
  25. Robert Lelangue (Goldor-Heterkamp-Gerka) @ 15min 48sec
  26. René Pijnen (Willem II-Gazelle) s.t.
  27. Herman Flabat (Pull Over Centrale-Tasmanie-Novy) @ 15min 50sec
  28. Roland Van de Rijse (Pull Over Centrale-Tasmanie-Novy) s.t.
  29. Ronny Van de Wijver (Flandria-De Clercq-Krüger) @ 16min 20sec
  30. Cees Zoontjes (Caballero) s.t.
  31. Flaviano Vicentini (Filotex) @ 16min 24sec
  32. Jacques Cadiou (Frimatic-Viva-De Gribaldy) @ 16min 35sec
  33. Tony Daelemans (Goldor-Hertekamp-Gerka) @ 23min 15sec
  34. Willy Van den Eynde (Goldor-Hertekamp-Gerka) s.t.
  35. Leo van Dam (Geens-Diamant) s.t.
  36. Philippe Crépel (Sonolor-Lejeune) s.t.
  37. Urbain de Brauwer (Etalo-Siriki-Ventura) s.t.
  38. Erich Spahn (Zimba Automatic-Mondia) @ 23min 30sec
  39. Pieter Nassan (Flandria-De Clercq-Krüger) s.t.
  40. Roger Jochmans (Geens-Diamant) s.t.