BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1954 Milano - San Remo

45th edition: Friday, March 19, 1954

Podium History of Milano-San Remo | 1955 edition | 1953 edition |

282 km. 219 starters, 95 classified finishers

A large group of riders was awarded a tie for 13th place.

During the 1950s northern European riders were allowed to race for Italian sponsors when they raced in Italy. I have listed those sponsors (such as Girardengo instead of Mercier for Rik van Steenbergen), but I cannot be positive that they rode any particular race for their Italian teams.

Rik van Steenbergem

Rik van Steenbergen (leading) racing in a late 40s or early 50s Paris-Roubaix

Complete Results:

  1. Rik van Steenbergen (Girardengo-Eldorado) 7hr 10min 3sec. 39.343 km/hr
  2. Francis Anastasi (Mercier-BP-Hutchinson) s.t.
  3. Cycling's 50 Craziest Stories
  4. Giuseppe Favero (Bianchi-Pirelli) s.t.
  5. Fausto Coppi (Bianchi-Pirelli) s.t.
  6. Loretto Petrucci s.t.
  7. Stan Ockers (Girardengo-Eldorado) s.t.
  8. Désiré Keteleer (Bianchi-Pirelli) s.t.
  9. Fiorenzo Magni (Nivea-Fuchs) s.t.
  10. Ettore Milano (Bianchi-Pirelli) s.t.
  11. Guido Messina (Frejus) s.t.
  12. Donato Zampini (Bartali) s.t.
  13. Hugo Koblet (Lygie-Torpado) s.t.
  14. Franco Aureggi (Legnano) s.t.
    Gino Bartali s.t.
    Louison Bobet s.t.
    Andrea Carrea s.t.
    Mario Ciabatti s.t.
    Luciano Ciancola s.t.
    Agostino Coletto s.t.
    Oreste Conte s.t.
    Angelo Conterno s.t.
    Gilberto Dall'Agata s.t.
    Mino De Rossi s.t.
    Germain Derycke s.t.
    Jean de Valck s.t.
    Giuseppe Doni s.t.
    Jacques Dupont s.t.
    Raymond Elena s.t.
    Riccardo Filippi s.t.
    Pasquale Fornara s.t.
    Franco Franchi s.t.
    Stefano Gaggero s.t.
    Bernard Gauthier s.t.
    Raphael Geminiani s.t.
    Michele Gismondi s.t.
    Gino Guerrini s.t.
    Marcel Hendrickx s.t.
    Ferdy Kubler s.t.
    Bruno Landi s.t.
    Gilbert Loof s.t.
    Luciano Maggini s.t.
    Alfredo Martini s.t.
    Antonio Medri s.t.
    Giuseppe Minardi s.t.
    Alain Moineau s.t.
    Giorgio Mondini s.t.
    Bruno Monti s.t.
    Gastone Nencini
    Valère Ollivier s.t.
    Edouard Peeters s.t.
    Marcello Pellegrini s.t.
    Donato Piazza s.t.
    Mario Piazzon s.t.
    Roul Remy s.t.
    André Rosseel s.t.
    Briek Schotte s.t.
    Jean Storms s.t.
    Hein van Breenen s.t.
    Vincent Vitetta s.t.
    Jean Zagers s.t.
  15. Remo Fornasiero @ 1min 39sec
  16. Giuseppe Buratti s.t.
  17. Waldemaro Bartolozzi s.t.
  18. Livio Isotti s.t.
  19. Adolfo Grosso s.t.
  20. Tranquillo Scudallaro s.t.
  21. Guido De Santi @ 1min 57sec
  22. Aldo Grandini s.t.
  23. Andrea Barro s.t.
  24. Serafino Biagioni @ 3min 8sec
  25. Remo Baralini s.t.
  26. Annibale Brasola s.t.
  27. Joseph Schils @ 6min 17sec
  28. Arnaldo Faccioli @ 7min 51sec
  29. Valerio Bonini s.t.
  30. Marcello Ciolli s.t.
  31. Mauro Gianneschi s.t.
  32. Paul de Paepe @ 10min 14sec
  33. Emile Carrara @ 13min 4sec
  34. Bruno Montanaro @ 14min 41sec
  35. Primo Volpi@ 15min 27sec
  36. Alberto Ghirardi @ 18min 17sec
  37. Giovanni Carrieri s.t.
  38. Carlo Clerici s.t.
  39. Giovanni Pettinati s.t.
  40. Pierino Baffi s.t.
  41. Rolando Verdini @ 24min 57sec
  42. Armando Para s.t.
  43. Franco Giacchero s.t.
  44. Jean Leillier s.t.
  45. Emilio Croci-Torti s.t.
  46. Renato Ponzini s.t.
  47. Pietro Nascimbene s.t.
  48. Pietro Giudici s.t.
  49. Renzo Accordi s.t.