BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It Started With a Freckle Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycle Italia cycling tours Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Volta ao Algarve(2.Pro)

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

The Volta ao Algarve, held in early-mid February, is one of the European calender's first stage races. The Algarve region is in the far south of Portugal. The race existed for years before the records shown below as an amateur and as an open event.

Recent podium history:


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

1992 Joaquim Gomes Manuel Abreu Dariusz Bigos    
1993 Cassio Freitas Fernando Carvalho Fernando Quevedo    
1994 Vitor Gamito Candido Barbosa Federico Munoz    
1995 Cassio Freitas Candido Barbosa Joachim Andrade    
1996 Alberto Amaral Jesus Blanco Sergio Rodrigues    
1997 Candido Barboso Cassio Freitas Luis Miguel Sarreira    
1998 Tomas Konecny Grischa Niermann José Luis Rebollo    
1999 Melchior Mauri
17hr 37min 18sec
Candido Barbosa
@ 9sec
David Plaza
@ 40sec
707.3 km 40.138
2000 Alex Zülle
17hr 19min 13sec
José Azevedo
@ 7sec
Andrei Zintchenko
@ 14sec
692.5 km 39.982
2001 Andrea Ferrigato
20hr 52min 21sec
José Azevedo
@ 7sec
Melchior Mauri
@ 21sec
855.2 km 40.972
2002 Candido Barbosa
20hr 37min 8sec
Alex Zülle
@ 6sec
George Hincapie
@ 13sec
858 km 41.612
2003 Claus Michael Møller
17hr 19min 6sec
Victor Hugo Peña
@ 15sec
Pedro Cardoso
@ 34sec
675.9 km 39.028
2004 Floyd Landis
18hr 3min 4sec
Victor Hugo Peña
@ 26sec
Candido Barbosa
@ 45sec
709.5 km 39.305
2005 Hugo Sabido
21hr 44min 57sec
Stuart O'Grady
@ 10sec
José Luis Rubiera
@ 20sec
863 km 39.679
2006 Joao Cabriera
22hr 42min
Gert Steegmans
@ 10sec
Robert Gesink
@ 11sec
889 km 39.162
2007 Alessandro Petacchi
23hr 33min 2sec
René Haselbacher
@ 20sec
Tomas Vaitkus
@ 22sec
949.4 km 40.313
2008 Stijn Devolder
19hr 42min 59sec
Sylvain Chavanel
@ 22sec
Tomas Vaitkus
@ 32sec
784.7 km 39.799
2009 Alberto Contador
19hr 4min 22sec
Sylvain Chavanel
@ 1min 6sec
Ruben Plaza
@ 1min 7sec
733.6 km 38.463
2010 Alberto Contador
19hr 57min 48sec
Luis Leon Sanchez
@ 30sec
Tiago Machado
@ 32sec
739.70 km 37.053
2011 Tony Martin
18hr 48min 45sec
Tejay Van Garderen
@ 32sec
Lieuwe Westra
@ 39sec
730.70 km 38.841
2012 Richie Porte
19hr 2min 43sec
Tony Martin
@ 37sec
Bradley Wiggins
@ 44sec
745.2 km 39.128
2013 Tony Martin
15hr 36min 26sec
Michal Kwiatkowski
@ 58sec
Lieuwe Westra
@ 59sec
621.6 km 38.828
2014 Michal Kwiatkowski
16hr 29min 57sec
Alberto Contador
@ 19sec
Rui Costa
@ 32sec
689.9 km 41.814
2015 Geraint Thomas
19hr 46min 13sec
Michal Kwiatkowski
@ 27sec
Tiago Machado
1min 11sec
768 km 38.846
2016 Geraint Thomas
18hr 34min 15sec
Ion Izaguirre
@ 19sec
Alberto Contador
@ 26sec
743.2 km 40.016 km/hr
2017 Primož Roglic
19hr 4min 3sec
Michal Kwiatkowski
@ 22sec
Tony Gallopin
@ 55sec
772.8 km 40.530 km/hr
2018 Michal Kwiatkowski
18hr 54min 11sec
Geraint Thomas
@ 1min 31sec
Tejay van Garderen
@ 2min 16sec
773.5 km 40.919 km/hr
2019 Tadej Pogacar
19hr 26min 34sec
Soren Kragh Andersen
@ 14sec
Wout Poels
@ 21sec
778.6 km 40.046 km/hr
2020 Remco Evenepoel
19hr 23min 42sec
Max Schachmann
@ 38sec
Miguel Angel Lopez
@ 39sec
771.4 km 39.773 km/hr