BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Giro d'Italit, volume 1 Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

La Polynormande (1.1), France

La Polynormande is a single-day bicycle race generally held in late July or early August in the Normandy region of France. It was created by Daniel Mangeas, the main commentator of the Tour de France. Mangeas is from St. Martin de Landelles, where the race finishes.

For much of its existence, the race has been a criterium (1980 - 2002). In 2003 it was reorganized as a 1.3 level event and in 2005 promoted to 1.1 and put on the UCI Europe Tour. It also is part of the French Cup (Coupe de France) racing series.

Only one rider has won La Polynormande more than once, Richard Virenque (1995 and 1997).

In 2014 the race started at Avranches and after ten circuits finished at St. Martin de Landelles.

Complete podium history:


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

1980 Bernard Thevenet Jean-René Bernaudeau Raymond Martin    
1981 Lucien van Impe Raymond Martin Pierre Le Bigaut    
1982 Bernard Hinault Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle Bernard Vallet    
1983 Marc Madiot Sean Kelly Laurent Fignon    
1984 Vincent Barteau Eric Caritoux Claude Criquielion    
1985 Claude Criquielion Jean-Claude Bagot Marc Madiot    
1986 Jean-René Bernaudeau Frédédic Brun Jean-Louis Gauthier    
1987 Marc Madiot Pierre Le Bigaut Jean-René Bernardeau    
1988 Philippe Bouvatier Régis Clere Jérôme Simon    
1989 Laurent Fignon Eric Caritoux Pedro Delgado    
1990 Thierry Claveyrolat Eric Boyar Jean-Claude Bagot    
1991 Thierry Marie Gérard Rué Jean-François Bernard    
1992 Jean-François Bernard Thierry Claveyrolat Richard Virenque    
1993 Tony Rominger Jean-Philippe Dowja François Lemarchand    
1994 Djamolidine Abdoujaparov Thomas Davy Jacky Durand    
1995 Richard Virenque Laurent Madouas Marco Pantani    
1996 Laurent Brochard Stéphane Heulot Luc Leblanc    
1997 Richard Virenque Frédéric Guesdon Cédric Vasseur    
1998 Stéphane Heulot Bobby Julich Laurent Brochard    
1999 Laurent Dufaux Richard Virenque Stéphane Heulot    
2000 Pascal Hervé Gilberto Simoni Charles Guilbert    
2001 Laurent Jalabert Christophe Moreau Sylvain Chavanel    
2002 Nicolas Vogondy Laurent Brochard Thierry Gouvenou    
2003 Jérôme Pineau Mikaël Pichon Walter Bénéteau    
2004 Sylvain Chavanel Guido Trentin Christophe Oriol    
2005 Philippe Gilbert Ludovic Turpin Mikaël Buffaz    
2006 Anthony Charteau Bert Scheirlinckx Nicolas Crosbie    
2007 Benoît Vaugrenard Mikaël Buffaz Bert de Waele    
2008 Anraud Gérard Jérôme Pineau Sandy Cesar    
2009 Matthieu Ladagnous Stefan van Dijk Wesley Sulzberger    
2010 Andy Cappelle Jérémie Galland Romain Hardy    
2011 Anthony Delaplace Julien El Farès Arnaud Gérard    
2012 Tony Hurel Samuel Dumoulin Davy Commeyne    
2013 José Gonçalves Matthias Brandle Sébastien Delfosse    
2014 Jan Ghyselinck
3hr 56min 40sec
Antoine Duchesne
@ 8sec
Quentin Jauregui
@ 12sec
169.5 km 42.972
2015 Oliver Naesen
4hr 14min 32sec
Fabrice Jeandesboz
@ s.t.
Antoine Duchesne
@ s.t.
190 km 44.788
2016 Baptiste Planckaert
4hr 8min 41sec
Ryan Anderson
@ s.t.
Julien Duval
@ s.t.
157 km 37.879 km/hr
2017 Alexis Gougeard
3hr 59min 9sec
Johan Le Bon
@ 3sec
Laurent Pichon
@ s.t.
168.9 km 42.375 km/hr
2018 Pierre-Luc Perichon
4hr 5min 22sec
Pierre Gouault
@ s.t.
Lorrenzo Manzin
@ 8sec
157 km 38.392 km/hr
2019 Benoit Cosnefroy
3hr 55min 19sec
Valentin Ferron
@ 2sec
Damien Touzé
@ 14sec
168.9 km 43.123 km/hr
2020 Race cancelled because of Covid-19