BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Gran Premio Miguel Induráin (1.Pro), Spain

Podium places, times, distances and average speeds

The Gran Premio Miguel Induráin is a single-day road race held in the Spanish region of Navarre in northern Spain. It is currently (2014) held in early spring.

The race is centered in the city of Estrella and features lots of serious climbing.

The roots of the GP Miguel Induráin go back to 1951 with the launching of the Trophy Vasco Navarro de Montana. Since then it has undergone several changes and in 1999 it was named the Gran Premio Miguel Induráin.

Recently it has undergone a serious of status upgrades by the UCI, being made a 1.1 race in 2005. Reflecting it's growing importance it was re-classed HC in 2007.

In 2014, amid Spain's ongoing economic difficulties, it was downgraded to 1.1. There was some doubt as to whether the 2014 edition would actually be run.

In 2020 the UCI reclassified the race as "1.Pro".

Below is the podium history of the race since it was renamed GP Miguel Induráin.


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

1999 Stefano Garzelli
5hr 38min 2sec
David Etxebarria
@ s.t.
Davide Rebellin
@ s.t.
198.2 km 35.180
2000 Miguel Angel Martin Perdiguero
5hr 30min 24sec
Laurent Jalabert
@ s.t.
Angel Vicioso
@ s.t.
198.2 km 35.993
2001 Angel Vicioso
5hr 8min 22sec
David Etxebarria
@ s.t.
Paolo Lanfnanchi
@ s.t.
189 km 37.774
2002 Angel Vicioso
4hr 28min 18sec
Marcos Antonio Serrano
@ s.t.
Mario Aerts
@ s.t.
177 km 39.583
2003 Matthias Kessler
5hr 2min 5sec
Angel Vicioso
@ s.t.
David Etxebarria
@ s.t.
186 kkm 36.943
2004 Mattias Kessler
4hr 49min 58sec
Miguel Angel Martin Perdiguero
@ s.t.
Daniele Righi
@ s.t.
189 km 39.107
2005 Javier Pascal Rodriguez
5hr 4min 23sec
Alejandro Valverde
@ 9sec
Angel Vicioso
@ s.t.
191.5 km 37.748
2006 Fabian Wegmann
4hr 41min 38sec
Andrea Moletta
@ s.t.
Andriy Grivko
@ s.t.
191 km 40.691
2007 Rinaldo Nocentini
4hr 59min 17sec
Joaquin Rodriguez
@ 3sec
Alejandro Vlaverde
@ 5sec
198.6 km 39.815
2008 Fabian Wegmann
4hr 57min 23sec
Michael Albasini
@ s.t.
Joaquin Rodriguez
@ 2sec
199.2 km 40.190
2009 David De La Fuente
5hr 9min 5sec
Alexandr Kolobnev
@ s.t.
Fabian Wegmann
@ s.t.
191.4 km 37.155
2010 Joaquin Rodriguez
4hr 52min 40sec
Alejandro Valverde
@ 5sec
Michel Kreder
@ 8sec
179.3 km 36.759
2011 Samuel Sanchez
4hr 42min 47sec
Alexandr Kolobnev
@ 2 sec
Fabian Wegmann
@ 7sec
179.3 km 38.043
2012 Daniel Moreno
4hr 54min 34sec
Mikel Landa
@ sec
Angel Madrazo
@ 7sec
179.3 km 36.521
2013 Simon Spilak
4hr 50min 46sec
Igor Anton
@ 1min 32sec
Peter Stetina
@ 1min 34sec
181.3km 37.411
2014 Alejandro Valverde
4hr 52min 1sec
Tom Jelte Slagter
@ 1min 2sec
Sergey Chernetsky
@ s.t.
187 km 38.422
2015 Angel Vicioso
4hr 56min 42sec
Ion Izagirre
@ s.t.
Beñat Intxausti
@ sec
192.7 km 38.969
2016 Ion Izagirre
4hr 37min 18sec
Sergio Henao
@ s.t.
Moreno Moser
@ 14sec
191.1 km 41.349 km/hr
2017 Simon Yates
4hr 34min 1sec
Michael Woods
@ 23sec
Sergio Henao
@ s.t.
186 km 40.727 km/hr
2018 Alejandro Valverde
4hr 41min 18sec
Carlos Verona
@ 20sec
Nicholas Schultz
@ 1min 4sec
186 km 39.673 km/hr
2019 Jonathan Hivert
4hr 47min 56sec
Luis Leon Sanchez
@ 9sec
Sergio Higuita
@ s.t.
185 km 38.551 km/hr
2020 Race cancelled because of coronavirus pandemic
2021 Alejandro Valverde
5hr 10min 47sec
Alexey Lutsenko
@ 6sec
Luis Leon Sanchez
@ 15sec
203.2 km 39.230 km/hr