BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel The Olympics' 50 Craziest Stories Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1997 Giro di Lombardia
(Tour of Lombardy)

91st edition: Saturday, October 18, 1997

Giro di Lombardia podium history | 1998 edition | 1996 edition |

173 starters, 56 finishers
Varese - Bergamo, 250 km
Winner's average speed: 43.01 km/hr

Laurent Jalabert wins the 1997 Giro di Lombardia

Complete Results:

  1. Laurent Jalabert (ONCE) 5hr 48min 44sec
  2. Paolo Lanfranchi (Mapei-GB) s.t.
  3. Francesco Casagrande (Saeco) s.t.
  4. Michele Bartoli (MG-Technogym) @ 3sec
  5. Paolo Valoti (Cantina Tollo) @ 1min 7sec
  6. Axel Merckx (Polti) @ 1min 30sec
  7. Andrea Tafi (Mapei-GB) @ 1min 31sec
  8. Davide Rebellin (FDJ) @ 1min 32sec
  9. Wladimir Belli (Brescialat) @ 2min 21sec
  10. Alessandro Bertolini (MG-Technogym) s.t.
  11. Gianluca Bertolami (Festina) s.t.
  12. Laurent Brochard (Festina) s.t.
  13. Alessandro Baronti (Asics) s.t.
  14. Laurent Roux (TVM-Farm Frites) s.t.
  15. Scott Sunderland (Gan) s.t.
  16. Melchior Mauri (ONCE) s.t.
  17. Maximilian Sciandri (FDJ) s.t.
  18. Bo Hamburger (TVM-Farm Frites) s.t.
  19. Franco Ballerini (Mapei-GB) s.t.
  20. Bert Dietz (Telekom) s.t.
  21. Beat Zberg (Mercatone Uno) s.t.
  22. Sergio Barbero (Mercatone Uno) s.t.
  23. Bruno Thibout (Cofidis) s.t.
  24. Oscar Pellicoli (Mercatone Uno) s.t.
  25. Gianluca Valoti (Polti) s.t.
  26. Filippo Simeoni (Asics) s.t.
  27. Richard Virenque (Festina) s.t.
  28. Mauro Gianetti (FDJ) s.t.
  29. Gianni Faresin (Mapei-GB) @ 4min 17sec
  30. Gianni Bugno (Mapei-GB) s.t.
  31. Alex Zülle (ONCE) s.t.
  32. Christian Henn (Telekom) @ 6min 10sec
  33. Cédriv Vasseur (Gan) s.t.
  34. Mirko Celestino (Polti) s.t.
  35. Maurizio Fondriest (Cofidis) s.t.
  36. Markus Zberg (Mercatone Uno) s.t.
  37. Marco Serpellini (Brescialat) s.t.
  38. Piotr Ugrumov (Roslotto-ZG Mobili) s.t.
  39. Erik Breukink (Rabobank) s.t.
  40. Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) s.t.
  41. Stefano Cattai (Roslotto-ZG Mobili) s.t.
  42. Fabian Jeker (Festina) s.t.
  43. Xavier Jan (FDJ) s.t.
  44. Alberto Volpi (Batik-Del Monte) s.t.
  45. Ermanno Brignoli (Batik-Del Monte) s.t.
  46. Andrea Chiurato (Batik-Del Monte) s.t.
  47. Andrea Noè (Asics) s.t.
  48. Luca Mazzanti (Refin-Mobilvetta) s.t.
  49. Felice Puttini (Refin-Mobilvetta) s.t.
  50. Andrei Teteriouk (Lotto) @ 10min 50sec
  51. Luca Scinto (MG-Technogym) s.t.
  52. Koos Moerenhout (Rabobank) s.t.
  53. Frédéric Bessy (Casino) s.t.
  54. Alberto Leanizbarrutia (ONCE) s.t.
  55. Pascal Richard (Casino) s.t.
  56. Andrea Dolci (Cantina Tollo) s.t.