BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1997 World Pro Road Championships

64th edition: Sunday, October 12, 1997
San Sebastian, Spain

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1998 edition | 1996 edition |

163 riders started, 87 classified finishers.
19 laps of 13.5 km, totaling 256.5 km.

Winner's average speed: 40.84 km/hr

Laurent Brochard wins the 1997 World Road Championships

Laurent Borchard wins the 1997 World Road Championships

Complete Results:

  1. Laurent Brochard (France) 6hr 16min 48sec
  2. Bo Hamburger (Denmark) s.t.
  3. Leon van Bon (Netherlands) s.t.
  4. Udo Bölts (Germany) s.t.
  5. Melchior Mauri (Spain) s.t.
  6. Laurent Dufaux (Switzerland) s.t.
  7. Laurin Aus (Estonia) @ 9sec
  8. Johan Museeuw (Belgium) @ 16sec
  9. Glenn Magnusson (Sweden) s.t.
  10. Michele Bartoli (Italy) s.t.
  11. Laurent Jalabert (France) s.t.
  12. Mauro Gianetti (Switzerland) s.t.
  13. Francesco Casagrande (Italy) s.t.
  14. Davide Rebellin (Italy) s.t.
  15. Aart Vierhouten (Netherlands) @ 49sec
  16. Jens Zemke (Germany) @ 50sec
  17. Henk Vogels (Australia) @ 57sec
  18. Andrei Tchmil (Ukraine) s.t.
  19. Cédric Vasseur (France) s.t.
  20. Andrea Tafi (Italy) @ 58sec
  21. Oscar Camenzind (Switzerland) s.t.
  22. Lars Michaelsen (Denmark) s.t.
  23. Jo Planckaert (Belgium) s.t.
  24. Nicolas Jalabert (France) s.t.
  25. Piotr Ugrumov (Russia) s.t.
  26. Kai Hundertmark (Germany) s.t.
  27. Wilfried Peeters (Belgium) s.t.
  28. Christopher Horner (USA) s.t.
  29. Zbigniew Piatek (Poland) s.t.
  30. Angel Edo (Spain) s.t.
  31. Chann McRae (USA) s.t.
  32. Bart Voskamp (Netherlands) s.t.
  33. Dariusz Baranowski (Poland) s.t.
  34. Gianluca Bortolami (Italy) s.t.
  35. Christian Henn (Germany) s.t.
  36. Bruno Thibaut (France) s.t.
  37. Peter van Petegem (Belgium) s.t.
  38. Mario Aerts (Belgium) s.t.
  39. Tyler Hamilton (USA) s.t.
  40. Frédéric Guesdon (France) s.t.
  41. Daniel Clavero (Spain) s.t.
  42. Servais Knaven (Netherlands) s.t.
  43. Max van Heeswijk (Netherlands) s.t.
  44. Laurent Roux (France) s.t.
  45. Felix Garcia-Casas (Spain) s.t.
  46. Gianni Faresin (Italy) s.t.
  47. Armin Meier (SWitzerland) s.t.
  48. Claus-Michael Moller (Denmark) s.t.
  49. Erik Breukink (Netherlands) s.t.
  50. Michael Boogerd (Netherlands) s.t.
  51. Koos Moerenhout (Netherlands) s.t.
  52. Roberto Heras (Spain) s.t.
  53. Axel Merckx (Belgium) s.t.
  54. Bert Dietz (Germany) s.t.
  55. Serhiy Honchar (Ukraine) s.t.
  56. Gianni Bugno (Italy) s.t.
  57. Maurizio Fondriest (Italy) s.t.
  58. Marino Alonso (Spain) s.t.
  59. Bjarne Riis (Denmark) s.t.
  60. Richard Virenque (France) @ 1min 4sec
  61. Michel Lafis (Switzerland) @ 7min 53sec
  62. Zenon Jaskula (Poland) s.t.
  63. Andrej Syptkowski (Poland) s.t.
  64. Dainis Ozols (Lithuania) s.t.
  65. Serguei Ivanov (Russia) s.t.
  66. Michael Andersson (Sweden) s.t.
  67. Nico Mattan (Belgium) s.t.
  68. Marty Jemison (USA) s.t.
  69. Tomas Konecny (Czech Republic) s.t.
  70. Frank McCormack (USA) @ 7min 43sec
  71. José Castelblanco (Colombia) @ 8min 32sec
  72. Luca Scinto (Italy) s.t.
  73. Mario Kummer (Germany) s.t.
  74. Piotr Chmielewski (Poland) s.t.
  75. Alexei Sivikov (Russia) s.t.
  76. Sergei Ouslamine (Russia) s.t.
  77. Marcos-Antonio Serrano (Spain) s.t.
  78. Sascha Henrix (Germany) s.t.
  79. Soren Petersen (Denmark) s.t.
  80. José Garcia-Acosta (Spain) s.t.
  81. Kurt Van de Wouwer (Belgium) s.t.
  82. Brian Holm (Denmark) s.t.
  83. Frank Hoj (Denmark) s.t.
  84. Jorg Jaksche (Germany) s.t.
  85. Cezary Zamana (Poland) @ 11min 55sec
  86. Piotr Wadecki (Poland) s.t.
  87. Federico <unoz-Fernandez (Colombia) s.t.