BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1984 World Pro Road Cycling Championships

51st edition: Sunday, September 2, 1984
Barcelona, Spain

World Road Cycling Championships podium history | 1985 edition | 1983 edition |

119 riders started, 31 classified finishers.
19 laps of 13.45 km, totaling 255.55 km. Winner's average speed: 37.69 km/hr

Claude Criquielion riding the 194 World Road Championships

Claude Criquielion riding the 1984 World Road Cycling championships

Complete Results:

  1. Claude Criquielion (Belgium) 6hr 46min 46sec
  2. Claudio Corti (Italy) @ 14sec
  3. Steve Bauer (Canada) @ 1min 1sec
  4. Hubert Seiz (Switzerland) s.t.
  5. Bernard Bourreau (France) s.t.
  6. Robert Millar (Great Britain) @ 1min 8sec
  7. Eric Caritoux (France) @ 1min 12sec
  8. Palmiro Masciarelli (Italy) s.t.
  9. Federico Echave (Spain) s.t.
  10. Joop Zoetemelk (Netherlands) s.t.
  11. Angel Arroyo (spain) @ 1min 27sec
  12. Ludo Peeters (Belgium) @ 1min 53sec
  13. Marino Lejarreta (Spain) s.t.
  14. Dominique Garde (France) @ 2min 9sec
  15. Bruno Leali (Italy) @ 2min 28sec
  16. Pierre Le Bigaut (France) s.t.
  17. Moreno Argentin (Italy) @ 3min 4sec
  18. Juan Fernandez (Spain) s.t.
  19. Jean-Philippe Vandenbrande (Belgium) s.t.
  20. Giambattista Baronchelli (Italy) s.t.
  21. José-Luis Navarro-Martinez (Spain) s.t.
  22. Johan Van der Velde (Netherlands) s.t.
  23. Niki Ruttimann (Switzerland) s.t.
  24. Silvano Contini (Italy) s.t.
  25. Patrocinio Jimenez (Spain) s.t.
  26. Pedro Munoz (spain) s.t.
  27. Greg LeMond (USA) s.t.
  28. Pierino Gavazzi (Italy) s.t.
  29. Alberto Ferandez (Spain) s.t.
  30. Dag-Otto Lauritzen (Norway) @ 6min 48sec
  31. Gody Schmutz (Switzerland) @ 7min 17sec