BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling historyBikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history
Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Tour Down Under (Pro Tour), Australia

Winners, podium, distance, average speed

Bill and Carol McGann's book The Story of the Giro d'Italia, A Year-by-Year History of the Tour of Italy, Vol 1: 1909 - 1970 is available in print, Kindle eBook & audiobook versions. To get your copy, just click on the Amazon link on the right.

The race:

The Tour Down Under stage race is held in South Australia in January.

The first stage begins on the third Tuesday in January, which is Summer in Australia.

A look at the results below will show that the time differences are small. The Tour Down Under doesn't have a time trial (saving the teams a lot of money in travel costs by eliminating the shipping of the time trial bikes) and the area surrounding Adelaide, where the race is held, has no truly serious climbs. Sprinters tend to do very well in the Tour Down Under.

Australian rider Simon Gerrans is the race's most successful competitor with four overall victories, starting in 2006.

From 2010 on, the links to fuller results in the "year" column also include the single-day Down Under Classic results. That race is generally held on the Sunday before the Tour Down Under begins.

Because of the Covid-19 Pandemic, the 2021 & 2022 editions were a shortened version called the "Santos Festival of Cycling".

The Women's Tour Down Under evolved out of a series of exhibition criterium races run in conjuction with the men's races. It became a UCI 2.2 ranked stage race in 2016 and became a 2.1 race in 2018.

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel

The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Content continues below the ads

The Story of the Giro d'Italia, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels

Complete podium history:

Jump to women's edition


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

1999 Stuart O'Grady
19hr 3min 47sec
Jesper Skibby
@ 21sec
Magnus Bäckstedt
@ 35sec
762 km 39.972
2000 Gilles Maignan
19hr 2min 2sec
Stuart O'Grady
@ 12sec
Steffen Wesemann
@ 14sec
776.2 km 40.779
2001 Stuart O'Grady
18hr 34min 20sec
Kai Hundertmark
@ 2sec
Fabio Sacchi
@ 3sec
757 km 40.759
2002 Michael Rogers
16hr 59min 44sec
Alexandre Botcharov
@ 21sec
Patrick Jonker
@ 30sec
733 km 43.128
2003 Mikel Astarloza
17hr 17min 45sec
Lennie Kristensen
@ s.t.
Stuart O'Grady
@ 4sec
735 km 42.495
2004 Patrick Jonker
16hr 32min 19sec
Robbie McEwen
@ 1min 13sec
Baden Cooke
@ 1min 21sec
741 km 44.804
2005 Luis León Sánchez
16hr 45min 44sec
Allan Davis
@ 33sec
Stuart O'Grady
@ 47sec
719 km 42.894
2006 Simon Gerrans
16hr 36min 54sec
Luis León Sánchez
@ 7sec
Robbie McEwen
@ 14sec
676 km 40.696
2007 Martin Elmiger
15hr 46min 38sec
Karl Menzies
@ 3sec
Lars Ytting Bak
@ 11sec
658 km 42.276
2008 André Greipel
18hr 46min 18sec
Allan Davis
@ 15sec
José Joaquin Rojas
@ 33sec
785 km 41.818
2009 Allan Davis
19hr 26min 59sec
Stuart O'Grady
@ 25sec
José Joaquin Rojas
@ 30sec
802 km 41.234
2010 André Greipel
18hr 47min 5sec
Luis León Sánchez
@ 11sec
Greg Henderson
@ 15sec
794.5 km 42.295
2011 Cameron Meyer
17hr 54min 27sec
Matthew Goss
@ 2sec
Ben Swift
@ 8sec
758 km 42.329
2012 Simon Gerrans
20hr 46min 12sec
Alejandro Valverde
@ s.t.
Tiago Machado
@ 8sec
803 km 38.662
2013 Tom Jelte Slagter
18hr 28min 32sec
Javier Moreno
@ 17sec
Geraint Thomas
@ 25sec
758.5 km 41.054
2014 Simon Gerrans
19hr 57min 35sec
Cadel Evans
@ 1sec
Diego Ulissi
@ 5sec
815.5 km 40.857


Content continues below the ads

Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles
2015 Rohan Dennis
19hr 15min 18sec
Richie Porte
@ 2sec
Cadel Evans
@ 20sec
812.3 km 42.171
2016 Simon Gerrans
19hr 11min 33sec
Richie Porte
@ 9sec
Sergio Henao
@ 11sec
781.3 km 40.709
2017 Richie Porte
19hr 55min 49sec
Esteban Chaves
@ 48sec
Jay McCarthy
@ 51sec
802.0 km 40.229
2018 Daryl Impey
20hr 3min 34sec
Richie Porte
@ s.t.
Tom-Jelte Slagter
@ 16sec
738.8 km 36.831
2019 Daryl Impey
20hr 30min 42sec
Richie Porte
@ 13sec
Wout Poels
@ 17sec
827.5 km 40.330
2020 Richie Porte
20hr 37min 8sec
Diego Ulissi
@ 25sec
Simon Geschke
@ s.t.
870.2 km 42.204
2021 Luke Durbridge
8hr 10min 59sec
Luke Plapp
@ 2min 0sec
Chris Harper
@ 2min 31sec
2022 James Whelan
7hr 53min 14sec
Matt Dinham
@ 24sec
Chris Harper
@ 30sec
340.3 km 43.14
2023 Jay Vine
16hr 7min 41sec
Simon Yates
@ 11sec
Pello Bilbao
@ 27sec
672.7 km 41.70


Content continues below the ads

Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Women's Tour Down Under

2016 Katrin Garfoot
6hr 52min 36sec
Shelley Olds
@ s.t.
Lauren Kitchen
@ s.t.
2017 Amanda Spratt
6hr 59min 36sec
Jenneke Ensing
@ 25sec
Kirsten Wild
@ 40sec
2018 Amanda Spratt
10hr 47min 21sec
Lauren Stephens
@ 41sec
Katrin Garfoot
@ 1min 21sec
384 km 35.591
2019 Amanda Spratt
10hr 27min 26sec
Lucy Kennedy
@ 49sec
Rachel Neylan
@ 53sec
2020 Ruth Winder
10hr 11min 7sec
Liane Lippert
@ 5sec
Amanda Spratt
@ 6sec
382.8 km 37.505
2021 Race not run because of Covid-19 pandemic
2022 Race not run because of Covid-19 pandemic
2023 Grace Brown
8hr 3min 29sec
Amanda Spratt
@ 10sec
Georgia Williams
@ 19sec
293.6 km 36.43 km/hr