BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: it started with a freckle Cycles BiKyle Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

Tre Valli Varesine (1.Pro), Italy

Winners, podium, distance, average speed.

Tre Valli Varesine is a single-day professional bicycle race held in the province of Varese, in northern Italy. It is part of the Trittico Lombardo (Lombardy Triptych), three races held in late summer in the northern Italian region of Lombardy: Tre Valle Varesine, Coppa Ugo Agostoni and the Coppa Bernocchi.

It is one of cycling's oldest races, the first edition having been run in 1919 and won by Piero Bestetti. Gianni Motta and Giuseppe Saronni share the record of having won the race four times.

It has always been an in-line race except for 1955, when it was a 100 km individual time trial, won by Fausto Coppi.

In 1935 the race was run as an amateurs-only event.

In 1950, 1960, 1973 and 1982 the race winner was also declared Italian road champion.

Since 2005 the UCI has ranked it HC and made made it part of the Europe Tour.

Recent podium history:


1st Place

2nd Place

3rd Place


Average Speed

1970 Gianni Motta Eddy Merckx Felice Gimondi    
1971 Giancarlo Polidori Constantino Conti Italo Zilioli    
1972 Giacinto Santambroggio Marino Basso Michele Dancelli    
1973 Enrico Paolini Marcello Bergamo Italo Zilioli    
1974 Costantino Conti Giacinto Santambroggio Enrico Paolini    
1975 Fabrizio Fabbri Mauro Simonetti Sergio Parsani    
1976 Francesco Moser Roger De Vlaeminck Gianbattista Baronchelli    
1977 Giuseppe Saronni Phil Edwards Valerio Lualdi    
1978 Francesco Moser Giovanni Battaglin Gianbattista Baronchelli    
1979 Giuseppe Saronni
4hr 55min 25sec
Pierino Gavazzi
@ s.t.
Roger De Vlaeminck
@ s.t.
211 km 42.854 km/hr
1980 Giuseppe Saronni
5hr 20min 12sec
Pierino Gavazzi
@ s.t.
Silvano Contini
@ s.t.
222 km 41.598 km/hr
1981 Gregor Baun Alessandro Paganessi Pierino Gavazzi    
1982 Pierino Gavazzi Claudio Torelli Gianbattista Baronchelli    
1983 Alessandro Paganessi Silvano Contini Serge Demierre    
1984 Pierino Gavazzi Gianbattista Baronchelli Marino Amadori    
1985 Giovanni Mantovani Giuseppe Saronni Pierino Gavazzi    
1986 Guido Bontempi Pierino Gavazzi Roberto Pagnin    
1987 Franco Ballerini Kjel Nilsson Marco Bergamo    
1988 Giuseppe Saronni Guido Bontempi Pierino Gavazzi    
1989 Gianni Bugno Charly Mottet Dirk de Wolf    
1990 Pascal Richard
5hr 20min 17sec
Claudio Chiappucci
@ s.t.
Thomas Wegmuller
@ s.t.
209.2 km 39.190
1991 Guido Bontempi Pascal Richard Gérard Rué    
1992 Massimo Ghirotto Thomas Wegmuller Herbert Niederberger    
1993 Massimo Ghirotto Francesco Casagrande Bruno Cenghialta    
1994 Claudio Chiappucci
5hr 13min 46sec
Vladislav Bobrik
@ s.t.
Stefano Zanini
@ 39sec
209.2 km 40.003
1995 Roberto Caruso Angelo Lecchi Stefano Colage    
1996 Fabrizio Guidi Andrea Tafi Massimo Donati    
1997 Roberto Caruso Dario Andriotto Marco Serpellini    
1998 Davide Rebellin
4hr 30min 54sec
Giuseppe Di Grande
@ 2sec
Maximilian Sciandri
@ 4sec
192.2 km 42.569
1999 Sergio Barbero
5hr 4min 25sec
Davide Rebellin
@ s.t.
Francesco Casagrande
@ s.t.
200 km 39.419
2000 Massimo Donati
5hr 5min 50sec
Davide Rebellin
@ 25sec
Daniele De Paoli
@ s.t.
204.2 km 40.061
2001 Mirko Celestino
5hr 1min 59sec
Paolo Valoti
@ s.t.
Gianluca Bortolami
@ s.t.
194.7 km 38.684
2002 Eddy Ratti
4hr 41min 25sec
Danilo Di Luca
@ 9sec
Laurent Dufaux
@ s.t.
190.6 km 40.637
2003 Danilo Di Luca
4hr 54min 27sec
Andrea Ferrigato
@ s.t.
Markus Zberg
@ s.t.
193.2 km 39.327
2004 Fabian Wegmann
5hr 2min 12sec
Danilo Di Luca
@ 6sec
Vladimir Duma
@ 16sec
197.9 km 39.291
2005 Stefano Garzelli
5hr 1min 1sec
Lorenzo Bernucci
@ 2sec
Damiano Cunego
@ 3sec
190 km 37.871
2006 Stefano Garzelli
5hr 19min 15sec
Rinaldo Nocentini
@ s.t.
Raffaele Ferrara
@ 3sec
199.2 km 37.429
2007 Christian Murro
5hr 0min 15sec
Alessandro Bertolini @ s.t. Kanstantsin Siutsou
@ 14sec
182 km 36.369
2008 Francesco Ginanni
5hr 3min 20sec
Leonardo Bertagnolli
@ s.t.
Damiano Cunego
@ s.t.
199 km 39.362
2009 Mauro Santambrogio
4hr 41min 23sec
Francesco Masciarelli
@ 3sec
Alexandre Botcharov
@ 7sec
189.3 km 40.366
2010 Daniel Martin
4hr 51min 20sec
Domenico Pozzovivo
@ 6sec
Jérôme Baugnies
@ 12sec
199.1 km 41.011
2011 Davide Rebellin
4hr 41min 30sec
Domenico Pozzovivo
@ 4sec
Thibaut Pinot
@ 7sec
195 km 41.563
2012 David Veilleux
4hr 58min 15sec
Andrea Palini
@ 1min 6sec
Danilo Di Luca
@ s.r.
198.5 km 39.927
2013 Kristijan Durasek
5hr 1min 21sec
Francesco Bongiorno
@ 2sec
Alexandr Kolobnev
@ 7sec
198 km 39.423
2014 Michael Albasini
5hr 14min 39sec
Sonny Colbrelli
@ s.t.
Filippo Pozzato
@ s.t.
208 km 39.663
2015 Vincenzo Nibali
4hr 44min 9sec
Sergey Firsanov
@ 8sec
Giacomo Nizzolo
@ s.t.
198.5 km 41.914
2016 Sonny Colbrelli
4hr 48min 18sec
Diego Ulissi
@ s.t.
Francesco Gavazzi
@ s.t.
192.9 km 40.146
2017 Alexandre Geniez
4hr 49min 8sec
Thibaut Pinot
@ s.t.
Vincenzo Nibali
@ s.t.
192.9 km 40.030 km/hr
2018 Toms Skujins
4hr 55min 41sec
Thibaut Pinot
@ s.t.
Peter Kennaugh
@ s.t.
203.0 km 41.193 km/hr
2019 Primoz Roglic
4hr 40min 46sec
Giovanni Visconti
@ 3sec
Toms Skujins
@ s.t.
197.8 km 42.270 km/hr
2020 Because of the Covid-19 shortened season, this race was made part of the Grande Trittico Lombardo
2021 Alessandro De Marchi
4hr 47min 4sec
Davide Formolo
@ s.t.
Tadej Pogacar
@ 38sec
196.7 km 41.112 km/hr