BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2012 E3 Prijs Harelbeke (World Tour), Belgium

55th edition: Friday, March 23, 2012

E3 Prijs Harelbeke podium history | 2011 Edition | 2013 edition

Harelbeke - Harelbeke, 203 km

Stijn Devolder

Stijn Devolder leads Guillaume Van Keirsbulck on the Muur van Geraardsbergen in this 2012 E3. Photo: Paul Hermans

The race: The E3 had traditionally been held on Saturday, but for 2012 the race was moved back to Friday to give the riders a chance to rest before Gent-Wevelgem.

A 45-man group came storing into Harelbeke and Tom Boonen was the fastest. By beating Oscar Freire and the others, he became the race's most successful competitor. This victory gave him five wins in this prestigious race.

Complete results: 193 starters, 106 classified finishers, 87 abandons.

  1. Tom Boonen (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) 5hr 18min 20sec. 41.715 km/hr
  2. Oscar Freire (Katusha) s.t.
  3. Bernard Eisel (Sky) s.t.
  4. Leonardo Fabio Duque (Cofidis) s.t.
  5. Sep Vanmarcke (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  6. John Degenkolb (Project 1t4i) s.t.
  7. Matthieu Ladagnous (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  8. Alexandre Pichot (Europcar) s.t.
  9. Alessandro Ballan (BMC) s.t.
  10. Sébastien Turgot (Europcar) s.t.
  11. Matti Breschel (Rabobank) s.t.
  12. Jen Keukeleire (GreenEdge) s.t.
  13. Michael Morkov (Saxo) s.t.
  14. Peter Sagan (Liquigas) s.t.
  15. Maxim Iglinskiy (Astana) s.t.
  16. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Sky) s.t.
  17. Lloyd Mondory (Ag2r) s.t.
  18. Marco Marcato (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  19. Bjorn Leukemans (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  20. Preben Van Hecke (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  21. Dimitry Muravyev (Astana) s.t.
  22. Fabian Cancellara (Radio Shack-nissan) s.t.
  23. Dennis Van Winden (Rabobank) s.t.
  24. Sebastian Langeveld (GreenEdge) s.t.
  25. Niki Terpstra (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  26. Greg Van Avermaet (BMC) s.t.
  27. Filippo Pozzato (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  28. Luca Paolini (Katusha) s.t.
  29. Danilo Hondo (Lampre) s.t.
  30. Gorka Izaguirre (Euskaltel) s.t.
  31. Daniel Oss (Liquigas) s.t.
  32. Pablo Lastras (Movistar) s.t.
  33. Sylvain Chavanel (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  34. Mathieu Claude (Europcar) s.t.
  35. Xavier Florencio (Katusha) s.t.
  36. Lars Boom (Rabobank) s.t.
  37. Tom Stamsnijder (Project 1t4i) s.t.
  38. Kristijan Koren (Liquigas) s.t.
  39. Gustav Larsson (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  40. Michael Schär (BMC) s.t.
  41. Michal Kwiatkowski (OmegaPharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  42. Luca Mazzanti (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  43. Karsten Kroon (Saxo) s.t.
  44. Stijn Vandenbergh (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  45. Stijn Devolder (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  46. Matteo Tosatto (Saxo) @ 10sec
  47. Leif Hoste (Accent Jobs-Willems Veranda's) @ 25sec
  48. Ian Stannard (Sky) @ 53sec
  49. Andy Capelle (Accent Jobs-Willems Veranda's) @ 5min 38sec
  50. David Veilleux (Europcar) s.t.
  51. Wouter Mol (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  52. Gégory Rast (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  53. Jos Van Emben (Rabobank) s.t.
  54. Pieter Jacobs (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  55. Luca Ascani (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  56. Davide Vigano (Lampre) s.t.
  57. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) s.t.
  58. Tony Gallopin (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  59. Daniele Bennati (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  60. Gert Dockx (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  61. Julien Fouchard (Cofidis) s.t.
  62. Aleksejs Saramontins (Cofidis) s.t.
  63. Maarten Tjallingii (Rabobank) s.t.
  64. José Joaquin Rojas (Movistar) s.t.
  65. Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) s.t.
  66. Simon Spilak (Katusha) s.t.
  67. Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) s.t.
  68. Assan Bazayev (Astana) s.t.
  69. Anders Lund (Saxo) s.t.
  70. Damien Gauden (Europcar) s.t.
  71. Kasper Klostergaard Larsen (Saxo) s.t.
  72. Kevin Hulsmans (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  73. Oscar Gatto (Farnese Vini) @ 6min 36sec
  74. Dirk Bellemakers (Landbouwkrediet) @ 9min 16sec
  75. Kurt Hovelijnck (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  76. Mauro Da Dalto (Liquigas) s.t.
  77. Geoffrey Soupe (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  78. Baden Cooke (GreenEdge) s.t.
  79. Koen Barbe (Landbouwkrediet) s.t.
  80. Edward King (Liquigas) s.t.
  81. Vladimir Isaichev (Katusha) s.t.
  82. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Omega Pharma-Quck Step) s.t.
  83. Ricardo Garcia (Euskaltel) s.t.
  84. Maciej Bodnar (Liquigas) s.t.
  85. Jaroslaw Marycz (Saxo) s.t.
  86. Dominique Rollin (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  87. Ignatas Konovalovas (Movistar) s.t.
  88. Imanol Erviti (Movistar) s.t.
  89. James Vanlandschoot (Accent Jobs-Willems Veranda's) s.t.
  90. Matteo Trentin (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  91. Jon Izaguirre (Euskaltel) s.t.
  92. Marcus Burghardt (BMC) s.t.
  93. Heinrich Haussler (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  94. Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) s.t.
  95. Troels Ronning Vinther (Saxo) s.t.
  96. Frederik Willems (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  97. Christian Knees (Sky) s.t.
  98. Sven Vandousselaere (Topsport Vlaanderen) s.t.
  99. Frederik Veuchelen (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  100. Gregor Gazvoda (Ag2r) s.t.
  101. Grega Bole (Lampre) s.t.
  102. Svein Tuft (GreenEdge) s.t.
  103. Vicente Reynes (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  104. Yaroslav Popovych (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  105. Manuel Belletti (Ag2r) s.t.
  106. Andreas Klier (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.