BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2001 E3 Prijs Harelbeke (1.1), Belgium

44th edition: Saturday, March 31, 2001
Complete Results

E3 Prijs Harelbeke podium history | 2000 edition | 2002 edition

Andrei Tchmil

2001 E3 winner Andrei Tchmil is shown here winning the 2000 Tour of Flanders. Sirotti photo

Melanoma: It Started with a Freckle

The race: With forty kilometers to go, the big move was made on the Oude Kwaremont ascent.

From that group, with 19 kilometers remaining, Lotto rider Andrei Tchmil took off on the Tiegemberg climb. No one had the power to go with the fleeing Tchmil.

Tchmil was going so fast he came in over a minute ahead of his closest chaser, Steffen Wesemann.

That was the second E3 win for Tchmil. The Russian (he had become a Belgian citizen by the time he won this E3) had earlier won the 1994 E3.

Complete results:

200 kilometers raced at an average speed of 38.858 km/hr

183 starters, 30 classified finishers

1 Andrei Tchmil Lotto-Adecco 5hr 8min 49sec
2 Steffen Wesemann  Deutsche Telekom @ 1min 8sec
3 Martin Hvastija  Alessio 1'10"
4 Jo Planckaert  Cofidis 1'16"
5 Tristan Hoffman  CSC-Tiscali s.t.
6 Gabriele Balducci  Tacconi-Vini Caldirola s.t.
7 Andrej Hauptman  Tacconi-Vini Caldirola s.t.
8 Chris Peers  Cofidis s.t.
9 Davide Casarotto  Alessio s.t.
10 Markus Zberg  Rabobank s.t.
11 Aart Vierhouten  Rabobank s.t.
12 Marco Serpellini  Lampre s.t.
13 Nico Mattan  Cofidis s.t.
14 Romans Vainsteins  Domo-Farm Frites s.t.
15 Daniele Nardello  Mapei-Quick Step 3'05"
16 Hans De Clercq  Lotto-Adecco 4'40"
17 Tom Desmet  Bankgiroloterij 4'52"
18 Servais Knaven  Domo-Farm Frites 5'05"
19 Philippe Gaumont  Cofidis s.t.
20 Mauro Gerosa  Tacconi-Vini Caldirola s.t.
21 Arvis Piziks  CSC-Tiscali s.t.
22 Alberto Vinale  Alessio s.t.
23 Thierry Marichal  Lotto-Adecco s.t.
24 Matteo Tosatto  Fassa Bortolo s.t.
25 Peter Farazijn  Cofidis s.t.
26 Maarten Den Bakker  Rabobank s.t.
27 Andreas Klier  Deutsche Telekom s.t.
28 Andrei Tcherniakov  Landbouwkrediet s.t.
29 Kristof Trouvé  Collstrop-Palmans 8'05"
30 Koen Beeckman  CSC-Tiscali 13'45"