BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1999 E3 Prijs Harelbeke (1.1), Belgium

42nd edition: Saturday, March 27, 1999
Complete Results

E3 Prijs Harelbeke podium history | 1998 edition | 2000 edition

Frank Vandenbroucke

Winner Frank Vandenbroucke on a solo break in the 1999 Het Volk.

The race: The was a tough race with twelve climbs.

With forty kilometers to go, France Vandenbroucke took off. He was chased by Peter Van Petegem, Michele Bartoli and Adrei Tchmil.

Vandenbroucke almost made it. He was caught in the final kilometer by the chasing trio.

Van Petegem came from behind to take the race.

Complete results:

206 kilometers raced at an average speed of 44.274 km/hr

188 starters, 58 classified finishers

1 Peter Van Petegam TVM-Farm Frites 4hr 39min 1sec
2 Andrei Tchmil  Lotto-Mobistar s.t.
3 Frank Vandenbroucke  Cofidis s.t.
4 Michele Bartoli  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
5 Tom Steels  Mapei-Quick Step @ 18sec
6 Lars Michaelsen  FDJ s.t.
7 Michel Van Haecke  Tonissteiner s.t.
8 Gabriele Balducci  Navigare-Gaerne s.t.
9 Tristan Hofman  Nurnberger s.t.
10 Juris Silovs  Team Home-Jack & Jones s.t.
11 Luca Mazzanti  Cantina Tollo-Alexia s.t.
12 Wilfried Peeters  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
13 Gabriele Colombo  Cantina Tollo-Alexia s.t.
14 Arvis Piziks  Team Home-Jack & Jones s.t.
15 Nicolai Bo Larsen  Team Home-Jack & Jones s.t.
16 Max Van Heeswijk  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
17 Chris Peers  Lotto-Mobistar s.t.
18 Zbigniew Spruch  Lampre-Daikin s.t.
19 Steven De Jongh  TVM-Farm Frites s.t.
20 Stuart O'Grady  Credit Agricole s.t.
21 Hans De Clercq  Palmans-Ideal s.t.
22 Guido Trenti  Cantina Tollo-Alexia s.t.
23 Peter Farazijn  Cofidis s.t.
24 Fabrizio Guidi  Team Polti s.t.
25 Frank Corvers  Spar-RDM s.t.
26 Alexandre Gontchenkov  Ballan-Alessio s.t.
27 Enrico Cassani  Team Polti s.t.
28 Denis Zanette  Team Polti s.t.
29 Emmanuel Magnien  FDJ s.t.
30 Ole Sigurd Simensen  Agro-Adler-Brandenburg s.t.
31 Servais Knaven  TVM-Farm Frites s.t.
32 Bert Dietz  Nurnberger s.t.
33 Christophe Mengin  FDJ s.t.
34 Marcus Zberg  Rabobank s.t.
35 Thierry Marichal  Lotto-Mobistar s.t.
36 Daniele Nardello  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
37 Bart Leysen  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
38 Massimiliano Mori  Saeco-Cannondale s.t.
39 Johan Museeuw  Mapei-Quick Step s.t.
40 Maximilian Sciandri  FDJ s.t.
41 Dario Pieri  Navigare-Gaerne s.t.
42 Franco Ballerini  Lampre-Daikin s.t.
43 Johan Verstrepen  Lampre-Daikin s.t.
44 Léon Van Bon  Rabobank 29"
45 Eddy Mazzoleni  Saeco-Cannondale 38"
46 Ludo Dierckxsens  Lampre-Daikin s.t.
47 Germano Pierdomenico  Cantina Tollo-Alexia s.t.
48 Andrea Brognara  Cantina Tollo-Alexia s.t.
49 Marc Wauters  Rabobank 2'09"
50 Erik Dekker  Rabobank s.t.
51 Hendrik Van Dijck  TVM-Farm Frites 9'45"
52 Davide Casarotto  TVM-Farm Frites s.t.
53 Alessandro Calzolari  Mobilvetta-Northwave 9'53"
54 Olivier Perraudeau  Credit Agricole s.t.
55 Tom Desmet  Collstrop 11'40"
56 Bert Roesems  Tonissteiner s.t.
57 Kurt Van Lancker  Vlaanderen 2002 s.t.
58 René Haselbacher  Gerolsteiner s.t.