BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook See our youtube channel Cycling's 50 Craziest Stories Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1979 E3 Prijs Harelbeke (1.1), Belgium

22nd edition: Saturday, March 24, 1979
Complete results

E3 Prijs Harelbeke podium history | 1978 edition | 1980 edition

Jan Raas

1979 E3 winner Jan Raas racing a few weeks later in the Tour of Flanders

Complete results:

This was Jan Raas' first of three consecutive E3 wins.

226 kilometers raced at an average speed of 38.965 km/hr

An unknown starters and 35 classified finishers.

1 Jan Raas  TI-Raleigh-McGregor 5hr 48min
2 Frank Hoste  Marc-Zeepcentrale @ 2sec
3 Michel Pollentier  Splendor-Eurosoap s.t.
4 Dietrich Thurau  Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis 1'57"
5 Henk Lubberding  TI-Raleigh-McGregor s.t.
6 Marc Renier  KAS 4'13"
7 Jan Aling  Marc-Zeepcentrale s.t.
8 Léo Van Thielen  Safir-Ludo 4'18"
9 Eddy Cael  Splendor-Eurosoap s.t.
10 Dirk Baert  Carlos-Galli 5'23"
11 Claude Criquillion  KAS 5'30"
12 William Tackaert  DAF Trucks 5'34"
13 Willy Teirlinck  KAS s.t.
14 Alfons Van Katwijk  Marc-Zeepcentrale s.t.
15 Walter Planckaert  Mini Flat-VDB s.t.
16 Alfons De Wolf  Boule d'Or-Lano s.t.
17 Eddy Van Haerens  Boule d'Or-Lano s.t.
18 Willem Peeters  Safir-Ludo s.t.
19 Sean Kelly  Splendor-Eurosoap s.t.
20 Gustaaf Van Roosbroeck  Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis s.t.
21 Antoon Houbrechts  Safir-Ludo s.t.
22 Ludo Peeters  Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis s.t.
23 Patrick Pevenage  DAF Trucks s.t.
24 Walter Godefroot  Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis s.t.
25 Lucien Van Impe  KAS s.t.
26 Dirk Ongenae  DAF Trucks s.t.
27 Herman Van der Slagmolen  Flandria-Sunair s.t.
28 Gerrie Knetemann  TI-Raleigh-McGregor s.t.
29 Ferdi Van den Haute  Marc-Zeepcentrale s.t.
30 Roger Verschaeve  Splendor-Eurosoap s.t.
31 Daniel Willems  Ijsboerke-Warncke Eis 6'48"
32 Gérard Blockx  KAS s.t.
33 Willy Albert  Boule d'Or-Lano s.t.
34 Josef Wehrli  Willora-Piz Buin s.t.
35 Frans Verhaegen  Safir-Ludo s.t.