BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel The Story of the Tour de France, volume 1 South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Schwab Cycles Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1978 E3 Prijs Harelbeke (1.1), Belgium

21st edition: Saturday, April 1, 1978
Complete results

E3 Prijs Harelbeke podium history | 1977 edition | 1979 edition

Freddy MAertens

Freddy Maertens racing with Jan Raas in the 1977 Het Volk

The race: A Harelbeke factory owner who married the day before the race offered Freddy Maerten's 80,000 Belgian Francs if he would win the race.

Maertens escaped on the Oude Kwarement climb with TI-Raleigh ace Jan Raas (who would go on to win this same race three years in a row). Maertens offered to split the 80,000 Francs with Raas if Raas would let Maertens win the race.

Thus, Maertens was able to win and give the factory owner his wedding present.

Complete results:

230 kilometers raced at an average speed of 40.588 km/hr

97 starters and 44 classified finishers.

1 Freddy Maertens Flandria-Velda 5hr 40min
2 Jan Raas TI-Raleigh @ 8sec
3 Ronald De Witte Sanson-Campagnolo 44"
4 Etienne Van der Helst C & A s.t.
5 Walter Planckaert C & A 2'30"
6 Marc Demeyer Flandria-Velda s.t.
7 Johnny Van der Veken Old Lords-Splendor s.t.
8 Piet Van Katwijk TI-Raleigh s.t.
9 Walter Godefroot Ijsboerke-Gios s.t.
10 Ronny Van de Vijver Old Lords-Splendor s.t.
11 Jozef Jacobs Ijsboerke-Gios s.t.
12 René Dillen C & A s.t.
13 Herman Van Springel Marc-Zeepcentrale s.t.
14 Willy De Geest Sanson-Campagnolo s.t.
15 Michel Pollentier Flandria-Velda s.t.
16 Pol Verschuere Flandria-Velda s.t.
17 Rudy Colman Mini Flat-Boule d'Or s.t.
18 Ludo Peeters Ijsboerke-Gios s.t.
19 Hennie Kuiper TI-Raleigh s.t.
20 Willy Planckaert C & A 3'10"
21 Gerrie Knetemann TI-Raleigh s.t.
22 Luc Leman Marc-Zeepcentrale s.t.
23 Herman Van der Slagmolen Sanson-Campagnolo s.t.
24 Franky De Gendt TI-Raleigh s.t.
25 Herman Beysens Flandria-Velda s.t.
26 Guido Van Sweevelt Ijsboerke-Gios s.t.
27 Dirk Ongenae Flandria-Velda s.t.
28 Ronny Bossant Sanson-Campagnolo s.t.
29 Frank Van Impe C & A s.t.
30 Hugo Van Gastel Carlos-Galli s.t.
31 Co Moritz Bode Deuren s.t.
32 Alan McCormack Old Lords-Splendor s.t.
33 Lieven Malfait Avia-Groene Leeuw s.t.
34 Eric Jaques Mini Flat-Boule d'Or s.t.
35 Roger Verschaeve Flandria-Velda s.t.
36 Eddy Peelman Zoppas-Zeus s.t.
37 Wim Myngheer Flandria-Velda s.t.
38 Fridolin Keller Bode Deuren s.t.
39 Frank Arijs Carlos-Galli s.t.
40 Hendrik Devos Flandria-Velda s.t.
41 Etienne De Beule C & A s.t.
42 Carlos Cuyle Marc-Zeepcentrale s.t.
43 Alain Desaever Marc-Zeepcentrale s.t.
44 Ad Prinsen Bode Deuren s.t.