BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

1972 E3 Prijs Harelbeke (1.1), Belgium

15th edition: Saturday, March 25, 1972
Complete results

E3 Prijs Harelbeke podium history | 1971 edition | 1973 edition

Hubert Hutsebaut

Hubert Hutsebaut beats Eddy Merckx and Walter Godefroot to the line.

Tour de France: the Inside Story

The race: Walter Godefroot, one of the finest classics racers of the era, was desperate to win this E3 as he had so far not yet won a race in 1972.

Godefroot took off and soon thereafter Hubert Hutsebaut's manager drove up next to him and told him to give chase. He took Eddy Merckx with him and by the time the pair got up to Godefroot, Godefroot was tiring.

Merckx led out Godefroot but Hutsebaut was able to come around the pair to get the biggest win of his career.

Health problems forced Hutsebaut to retire later that year.

Complete results:

226 kilometers raced at an average speed of 39.950 km/hr

An unknown number of starters and 36 classified finishers

1 Hubert Hutsebaut  Goldor-Ijsboerke 5hr 39min 25sec
2 Eddy Merckx  Molteni s.t.
3 Walter Godefroot  Peugeot-BP s.t.
4 Noël Van Thyghem  Novy-Double Bubble @ 1min 14sec
5 Frans Verbeeck  Watney-Avia s.t.
6 Ronny Van de Vijver  Goldor-Ijsboerke s.t.
7 André Dierickx  Flandria-Beaulieu s.t.
8 Roger Rosiers  BIC s.t.
9 Ronald De Witte  Peugeot-BP s.t.
10 Johan De Muynck  Flandria-Beaulieu s.t.
11 Eddy Cael  Novy-Double Bubble s.t.
12 Alfons De Bal  Goldor-Ijsboerke s.t.
13 Hervé Vermeeren  Hertekamp s.t.
14 Frans Mintjens  Molteni s.t.
15 Ronny Van Marcke  Flandria-Beaulieu s.t.
16 Leif Mortensen  BIC s.t.
17 Herman Vrijders  Goldor-Ijsboerke 3'05"
18 Daniel Verplancke  Flandria-Beaulieu s.t.
19 Maurice Eyers  Flandria-Beaulieu s.t.
20 Tony Gakens  Goldor-Ijsboerke s.t.
21 Erik Wyckaert  Novy-Double Bubble s.t.
22 Willy Van Neste  Flandria-Beaulieu 3'17"
23 Maurice Dury  Hertekamp s.t.
24 Frans Verhaegen  Hertekamp 3'35"
25 Jacques De Boever  BIC s.t.
26 Gérard David  Flandria-Beaulieu 3'49"
27 Willy Planckaert  Goldor-Ijsboerke 4'05"
28 André Peirsman  Hertekamp s.t.
29 Johny Schlek  BIC s.t.
30 Frans Brandts  Goldor-Ijsboerke s.t.
31 Etienne Antheunis  Watney-Avia s.t.
32 Georges Claes - Kerkom  Goldor-Ijsboerke s.t.
33 Joseph Huysmans  Molteni s.t.
34 Eric Leman  BIC s.t.
35 Wilfried David  Peugeot-BP s.t.
36 Willy In't Ven  Molteni s.t.