BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2021 Bretagne Classic Ouest-France
(World Tour)

85th edition: Wednesday, August 29, 2021

Bretagne Classic podium history | 2020 edition | 2022 edition | Race map & profile

Formerly named "GP Ouest-France Plouay".

Plouay - Plouay, 250.5 km.

Benoit Cosnefroy

Benoit Cosnefroy finsihes ahead of world champion Julian Alaphilippe. Photo: Getty Sport

Weather at the start/finish city of Plouay at 2:40 PM, local time: 22C (72F), cloudy, with the wind from the northeast at 24 km/hr (15 mph). No rain is forecast.

Olympics 50 Craziest Stories

The race: Here's the report from second-place Julian Alaphilippe's Deceuninck-Quick Step team.

In just his third race since the Tour de France, Julian Alaphilippe was again the main animator of the day, launching a powerful attack with more than 60 kilometers to go at the Bretagne Classic, on an uphill gravel sector, that sparked an important selection. Only three riders were capable to match the World Champion’s kick, one of them being teammate Mikkel Honoré, who put in an incredible load of work to help the newly-formed group carve out a 1:30 advantage inside the final 50 kilometers.

While behind Davide Ballerini and Mattia Cattaneo were keeping things together, bringing to heel every attempt to attack and reduce the advantage of Alaphilippe and his companions, those up the road were catching the last members of the breakaway. Shortly after, two strong attacks whittled down the front group to just three men: the rainbow jersey, his teammate and his countryman Benoit Cosnefroy (AG2R Citroen).

Runner-up three days ago at Druivenkoers Overijse, Mikkel put himself deep in the pain cave, at first by making sure the gap wouldn’t dip below 20 seconds on the finishing circuit in Plouay, and then by making a monster effort to return to the front with two kilometers to go, after being initially distanced by an attack of Cosnefroy on the last hill.

The Dane led out under the flamme rouge, peeling off the front with 200 meters to go. Alaphilippe was well placed and gave everything in the sprint, going elbow to elbow with his opponent on the slightly uphill drag to the line, but despite his best efforts he couldn’t come around and concluded in second place, notching up his 11th podium in the rainbow jersey.

“We attacked from afar and split the race, as we wanted to race offensively and enjoy this beautiful race. We managed to hold off the chasers, but unfortunately, I began cramping in the closing kilometers and that cost me in the finale. Even without this, Benoit was the strongest today, so congratulations to him. I am satisfied with the result and especially with the shape I had in this race, it bodes well for the next appointments, especially as I want to have a beautiful end to the season. I also want to thank the whole team for their great work and Mikkel for his huge effort, he was amazing today and it was a pleasure to be on the podium with him”, said Julian, whose next race will be the Tour of Britain.

“We wanted to open up the race, and with 65 kilometers to go we took on that gravel climb and Julian and me went full gas and got away together with Consefroy with Pogacar, who later dropped out from the group. After catching the break, I committed myself to puling for Julian in the last lap for the sprint. We gave everything out there, but this is cycling, sometimes you win, sometimes you lose. We had an amazingly strong team today and we can be proud of the way we rode”, added Mikkel after his second top 3 finish in a World Tour one-day race.

Complete results:

250.5 kilometers raced at an average speed of 41.758 km/hr

1 Benoit Cosnefroy Ag2r-Citroën 5hr 59min 56sec
2 Julian Alaphilippe Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
3 Mikkel Honore Deceuninck-Quick Step @ 3sec
4 Ethan Hayter INEOS Grenadiers 0:13
5 Connor Swift Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
6 Franck Bonnamour B&B Hotels s.t.
7 Jasper Stuyven Trek-Segafredo s.t.
8 Valentin Madouas Groupama-FDJ s.t.
9 Quentin Pacher B&B Hotels 0:16
10 Giacomo Nizzolo Qhubeka-NextHash 0:17
11 Hugo Hofstetter Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
12 Davide Ballerini Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
13 Giovanni Aleotti Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
14 Aurelien Paret-Peintre Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
15 Julien Simon TotalEnergies s.t.
16 Dorian Godon Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
17 Laurent Pichon Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
18 Gonzalo Serrano Movistar s.t.
19 Ben Hermans Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
20 Warren Barguil Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
21 Maxime Chevalier B&B Hotels s.t.
22 Michael Valgren EF Education-Nippo s.t.
23 Stephen Williams Bahrain Victorious s.t.
24 Mathieu Burgaudeau TotalEnergies s.t.
25 Tanel Kangert Team BikeExchange s.t.
26 Jai Hindley Team DSM s.t.
27 Mattia Cattaneo Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
28 Thibault Ferasse B&B Hotels s.t.
29 Carlos Barbero Qhubeka-NextHash 0:22
30 Andrea Vendrame Ag2r-Citroën 0:53
31 Edvald Boasson-Hagen TotalEnergies s.t.
32 Julien Trarieux Delko s.t.
33 Omer Goldstein Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
34 Diego Ulissi UAE Team Emirates s.t.
35 Pierre-Luc Perichon Cofidis s.t.
36 Patrick Konrad Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
37 Romain Hardy Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
38 Jonas Gregaard Astana-Premier Tech s.t.
39 Abner Gonzalez Movistar s.t.
40 Daniel Martin Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
41 Mattias Jensen Trek-Segafredo s.t.
42 Mark Donovan Team DSM s.t.
43 Lawrence Warbasse Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
44 Sergio Higuita EF Education-Nippo s.t.
45 Juan Lopez-Cozar Burgos-BH 1:09
46 Elie Gesbert Arkéa-Samsic 1:47
47 Pascal Eenkhoorn Jumbo-Visma 2:03
48 David Gaudu Groupama-FDJ 2:25
49 Luke Rowe INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
50 Jose Diaz Delko 2:58
51 Simon Geschke Cofidis 3:45
52 Alessandro de Marchi Israel Start-Up Nation 4:27
53 Simon Clarke Qhubeka-NextHash 4:39
54 Evaldas Siskevicius Delko s.t.
55 Tim Declercq Deceuninck-Quick Step 4:53
56 Baptiste Planckaert Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
57 Kobe Goossens Lotto Soudal s.t.
58 Alessandro Fedeli Delko s.t.
59 Jonas Vingegaard Jumbo-Visma s.t.
60 Tadej Pogacar UAE Team Emirates 6:30
61 Pieter Serry Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
62 Manuel Penalver Burgos-BH s.t.
63 Angel Fuentes Burgos-BH s.t.
64 Tsgabu Grmay Team BikeExchange s.t.
65 Sean Bennett Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
66 Merhawi Kudus Astana-Premier Tech s.t.
67 Romain Seigle Groupama-FDJ s.t.
68 Jeremy Bellicaud Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
69 Alexandre Delettre Delko s.t.
70 Brent Bookwalter Team BikeExchange s.t.
71 Mauro Schmid Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
72 Simon Guglielmi Groupama-FDJ s.t.
73 David Dekker Jumbo-Visma s.t.
74 Julien Bernard Trek-Segafredo s.t.
75 Nils Eekhoff Team DSM s.t.
76 Kevin Ledanois Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
77 Andreas Leknessund Team DSM s.t.
78 Delio Fernandez Delko 10:43
79 Owain Doull INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
80 Ben Swift INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
81 Juan Ayuso UAE Team Emirates s.t.
82 Romain Combaud Team DSM s.t.
83 Gabriel Cullaigh Movistar s.t.
84 Thomas Champion Cofidis s.t.
85 Andrey Amador INEOS Grenadiers s.t.
86 Kevin Colleoni Team BikeExchange s.t.
87 Sergio Samitier Movistar 13:04
88 Gijs Leemreize Jumbo-Visma s.t.
89 Tomasz Marczynski Lotto Soudal s.t.
90 Filippo Conca Lotto Soudal s.t.
91 Isaac Cantón Burgos-BH s.t.
92 Niki Terpstra TotalEnergies s.t.
93 Niklas Eg Trek-Segafredo s.t.
94 Mario Aparicio Burgos-BH s.t.
95 Felix Gall Team DSM s.t.
96 Benjamin Perry Astana-Premier Tech s.t.

Course map & profile:

Bretagne Classic

Course map

Course profile

Course profile