BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook follow us on twitter See our youtube channel Dirty Feet South Salem Cycleworks vintage parts Shade Vise sunglass holder Neugent Cycling Wheels Cycles BiKyle Schwab Cycles Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2021 Primus Classic Impanis-Van Petegem (HC), Belgium

23rd edition: Saturday, September 18, 2021

Primus Classic Impanis-Van Petegem podium history | 2019 edition (race not run in 2020)

Brakel - Haacht, 197.7 km

Florian Senechal

Florian Senechal wins the 2021 Primus Classic. Photo: Getty Sport

Weather at the finish city of Haacht at 2:50 PM, local time: 23C (74F), partly cloudy, with the wind from the east at 11 km/hr (7 mph). No rain is forecast.

The race: Here's the report from winner Florian Senechal's Deceuninck-Quick Step team.

Florian Sénéchal is having the best season of his career and the 28-year-old from Cambrai, who recently extended his contract with the team, shows it with every opportunity. After breaking the ice in 2021 at the Vuelta a España, where he won stage 13, he basked in another victory three weeks later, at Primus Classic, for many riders the last appointment before the World Championships.

The Wolfpack produced another sterling performance, an astonishing show of strength on the hilly course that featured some of the roads that will be used at the World Championships, which resulted in the team having five riders in the top 10 – an indication of Deceuninck – Quick-Step’s numerical superiority throughout an entire day that was controlled by our squad from start to finish.

Resplendent in his rainbow jersey, World Champion Julian Alaphilippe was one of the main instigators, his powerful acceleration inside 40 kilometers to go – after having countered an attack just minutes earlier – creating an important selection. From that small but strong group which included four men in blue, Mikkel Honoré unleashed a blistering attack that resulted in five riders, including Florian Sénéchal, plugging away from their companions. It wasn’t long before they put a decisive one-minute gap between them and the chasers, and once the margin became a comfortable one, our riders went on the offensive.

Mikkel was relentless in the way he put pressure on the other men at the front, a flurry of attacks on the flat roads to Wespelaar forcing them to chase hard in order to keep things together under the flamme rouge. Once he was caught, the Dane stormed to the front of the group and produced a tremendous lead-out for Florian, who launched a devastating sprint 120 meters from the line and signed off the Wolfpack’s 61st victory of the season.

“I am so happy. The best thing about today is that we won as a team – everyone worked for this to happen and I want to thank them for that. They were all so strong today and had a clear objective in mind, which was to take the victory.”

“It wasn’t easy out there, as it was raced as a classic and had all the ingredients of one: small roads, short climbs, a nervous peloton and many attacks. Mikkel was incredible in the final part of the race as he kept attacking and made the others chase hard behind him. For my side, I targeted the sprint in case he would get caught and I’m delighted I could finish it off. It was the perfect rehearsal for the Worlds, which gives us a lot of confidence for next Sunday”, said the first Frenchman to win Primus Classic.

Complete results:

197.7 kilometers raced at an average speed of 43.279 km/hr

1 Florian Senechal Deceuninck-Quick Step 4hr 34min 5sec
2 Tosh van der Sande Lotto Soudal s.t.
3 Jasper Stuyven Trek-Segafredo s.t.
4 Mikkel Honore Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
5 Simon Clarke Qhubeka-NextHash @ 4sec
6 Yves Lampaert Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
7 Zdenek Stybar Deceuninck-Quick Step 1:00
8 Mathieu van der Poel Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
9 Giacomo Nizzolo Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
10 Davide Ballerini Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
11 Matis Louvel Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
12 Stan Dewulf Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
13 Hugo Hofstetter Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
14 Simone Consonni Cofidis s.t.
15 Giovanni Aleotti Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
16 Oliver Naesen Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
17 Martin Urianstad Uno-X s.t.
18 Lawrence Naesen Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
19 Tom van Asbroeck Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
20 Michael Gogl Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
21 Ilan van Wilder Team DSM s.t.
22 Edward Theuns Trek-Segafredo s.t.
23 Danny van Poppel Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
24 Toms Skujins Trek-Segafredo s.t.
25 Mathijs Paasschens Bingoal-WB s.t.
26 Gianni Vermeersch Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
27 Dimitri Claeys Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
28 Andrea Bagioli Deceuninck-Quick Step s.t.
29 Carlos Barbero Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
30 Dries de Pooter Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
31 Amaury Capiot Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
32 Gijs van Hoecke Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
33 Tiesj Benoot Team DSM s.t.
34 Aime de Gendt Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
35 Ward Vanhoof Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
36 Hideto Nakane EF Education-Nippo s.t.
37 Emils Liepins Trek-Segafredo 1:06
38 Thymen Arensman Team DSM s.t.
39 Filippo Conca Lotto Soudal s.t.
40 Lukasz Owsian Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
41 Lennert Teugels Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
42 Guillaume Boivin Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
43 Andreas Goeman Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
44 Thomas Joseph Tarteletto-Isorex 1:11
45 Laurens Huys Bingoal-WB 1:15
46 Sebastian Langeveld EF Education-Nippo s.t.
47 Julian Alaphilippe Deceuninck-Quick Step 1:16
48 Emmanuel Morin Cofidis 1:19
49 Dries de Bondt Alpecin-Fenix 1:19
50 Sep Vanmarcke Israel Start-Up Nation 2:24
51 Piotr Havik Beat Cycling 5:43
52 Jeroen Eyskens EvoPro Racing s.t.
53 Nathan Haas Cofidis 6:53
54 Ruben Apers Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
55 Anton Palzer Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
56 Conn McDunphy EvoPro Racing s.t.
57 Kamil Malecki Lotto Soudal s.t.
58 Ylber Sefa Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
59 Aden Paterson A Bloc CT s.t.
60 Sebastien Grignard Lotto Soudal s.t.
61 Casper van Uden Team DSM s.t.
62 Stijn Siemons EvoPro Racing s.t.
63 Loic Vliegen Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
64 Laurens de Vreese Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
65 Guillaume van Keirsbulck Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
66 Dillon Corkery EvoPro Racing s.t.
67 Szymon Sajnok Cofidis s.t.
68 Jempy Drucker Cofidis s.t.
69 Tim Merlier Alpecin-Fenix s.t.
70 Taco van der Hoorn Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
71 Alex Colman Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise s.t.
72 Clément Russo Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
73 Julius van den Berg EF Education-Nippo s.t.
74 Logan Owen EF Education-Nippo s.t.
75 Anthony Jullien Ag2r-Citroën s.t.
76 Martin Laas Bora-hansgrohe s.t.
77 Daniel Arroyave EF Education-Nippo s.t.
78 Stefano Oldani Lotto Soudal s.t.
79 Jordi Meeus Bora-hansgrohe 6:53
80 Felix Gall Team DSM 9:12
81 Jens Reynders Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise 11:33
82 Nils Sinschek A Bloc CT s.t.
83 Robin Juel Uno-X s.t.
84 Romain Combaud Team DSM s.t.
85 Connor Brown Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
86 Martijn Budding Beat Cycling 16:19
87 Cyrus Monk EvoPro Racing s.t.
88 Jenthe Biermans Israel Start-Up Nation s.t.
89 Lars Saugstad Uno-X s.t.
90 Sven Burger Beat Cycling 17:13
91 Jan-Willem van Schip Beat Cycling s.t.
92 Gerben Thijssen Lotto Soudal s.t.
93 Adriaan Janssen A Bloc CT s.t.
94 Jacob Relaes Tarteletto-Isorex s.t.
95 Boy van Poppel Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert s.t.
96 Stefano Museeuw Beat Cycling s.t.
97 Jakob Egholm Trek-Segafredo 19:17
98 Martins Pluto A Bloc CT s.t.
99 Bernat Font EvoPro Racing s.t.
100 Stijn Appel A Bloc CT s.t.
101 Winner Anacona Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
102 Oskar Johansson Uno-X s.t.
103 Bodi del Grosso A Bloc CT s.t.
104 Erlend Blikra Uno-X s.t.
105 Brendan Rhim EvoPro Racing s.t.
106 Dorian de Maeght Bingoal-WB s.t.
107 Donavan Grondin Arkéa-Samsic s.t.
108 Bert-Jan Lindeman Qhubeka-NextHash s.t.
109 Quentin Venner Bingoal-WB 20:12