BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2012 Giro D'Italia: Stage 13

Back to 2012 Giro page | Stage 13 map and profile | Photos from Stage 13 |

Stage 13, Friday, May 18: Savona - Cervere, 121 km

Stage 13 finish

The race: With the high mountains coming tomorrow, there didn't seem to be any appetite for hard racing during this short, flat stage. Martijn Keizer and Francesco Failli wandered off the front almost at the gun and were kept on a carefully managed leash that was pulled in at about 20 km to go.

The sprinters' teams set up parallel trains, trying to get control, with Sky and GreenEdge putting the most horsepower at the front. Sky seemed to have it nailed when Cavendish got boxed in as the sprint began. But, so incredible is his speed that while the others where going all out, Cavendish coasted for a moment, found a hole to get past the others and barreled past everyone.


  1. Mark Cavendish (Sky) 3hr 2min 7sec. 39.864 km/hr
  2. Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) s.t.
  3. Mark Renshaw (Rabobank) s.t.
  4. Sacha Modolo (Colnago-CSF) s.t.
  5. Elia Favilli (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  6. Matthew Harley Goss (Orica-GreenEdge) s.t.
  7. Arnaud Demare (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  8. Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Saxo) s.t.
  9. Sonny Colbrelli (Colnago-CSF) s.t.
  10. Manuel Belletti (Ag2r) s.t.
  11. Dennis Vanendert (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  12. Francesco Chicchi (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  13. Mickael Delage (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  14. Danilo Wyss (BMC) s.t.
  15. Roberto Ferrari (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  16. Juan José Haedo (Saxo) s.t.
  17. Giacomo Nizzolo (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  18. Simone Ponzi (Astana) s.t.
  19. Robert Hunter (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  20. Maciej Bodnar (Liquigas) s.t.
  21. Ben Hermans (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  22. Daniel Schorn (NetApp) s.t.
  23. Fabio Sabatini (Liquigas) s.t.
  24. Gatis Smukulis (Katusha) s.t.
  25. Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  26. Geoffrey Soupe (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  27. José Herrada (Movistar) s.t.
  28. Matteo Bono (Lampre) s.t.
  29. Andrea Guardini (Farnese Vini) s.t.
  30. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana) s.t.
  31. Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) s.t.
  32. Geraint Thomas (Sky) s.t.
  33. Marzio Bruseghin (Movistar) s.t.
  34. Matteo Monteguti (Ag2r) s.t.
  35. Tanel Kangert (Astana) s.t.
  36. Roman Kreuziger (Astana) s.t.
  37. Grischa Niermann (Rabobank) s.t.
  38. Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  39. Ben Gastauer (Ag2r) s.t.
  40. Francisco Ventoso (Movistar) s.t.
  41. Damiano Cunego (Lampre) s.t.
  42. Brett Lancaster (Orica-GreenEdge) s.t.
  43. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) s.t.
  44. Sergey Lagutin (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  45. Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  46. Hubert Dupont (Ag2r) s.t.
  47. Francis De Greef (Ag2r) s.t.
  48. Jackson Rodriguez (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  49. Christian Meier (Orica-GreenEdge) s.t.
  50. Guillaume Bonnafond (Ag2r) s.t.

GC after Stage 13:

  1. Pink Jersey Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) 54hr 21min 15sec
  2. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 17sec
  3. Sandy Casar (FDJ-Big Mat) @ 26sec
  4. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana) @ 32sec
  5. Ivan Santarmita (BMC) @ 49sec
  6. Roman Kreuziger (Astana) @ 52sec
  7. Benat Intxausti (Movistar) s.t.
  8. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) @ 57sec
  9. Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) @ 1min 2sec
  10. Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 1min 3sec
  11. Eros Capecchi (Liquigas) @ 1min 9sec
  12. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) @ 1min 10sec
  13. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) @ 1min 11sec
  14. Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF) @ 1min 12sec
  15. Sergio Henao (Sky) @ 1min 27sec
  16. Damiano Cunego (Lampre) @ 1min 37sec
  17. Bartosz Huzarski (NetApp) @ 1min 48sec
  18. Sergio Pardilla (Movistar) @ 1min 51sec
  19. Sylvester Szmyd (Liquigas) @ 1min 53sec
  20. Johann Tschopp (BMC) @ 2min 2sec
  21. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 2min 3sec
  22. Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil) @ 2min 5sec
  23. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) @ 2min 6sec
  24. Marco Pinotti (BMC) @ 2min 9sec
  25. Frank Schleck (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 2min 11sec
  26. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Barrcuda) s.t.
  27. Daniel Moreno (Katusha) @ 2min 16sec
  28. Serge Pauwels (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 2min 28sec
  29. Tom Jelte Slagter (Rabobank) @ 2min 43sec
  30. Marzio Bruseghin (Movistar) @ 2min 47sec
  31. John Gadret (Ag2r) @ 2min 55sec
  32. Gianluca Brambilla (Colnago-CSF) @ 2min 58sec
  33. Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil) @ 3min 3sec
  34. José Rujano (Androni Giocattoli) @ 3min 5sec
  35. Juan Manuel Garate (Rabobank) @ 3min 8sec
  36. Kevin Seeldrayers (Astana) s.t.
  37. Mikel Nieve (Euskaltel) @ 3min 35sec
  38. Bart De Clercq (Lotto-Belisol) @ 3min 45sec
  39. Jackson Rodriguez (Androni Giocattoli) s.t.
  40. Francis De Greef (Lotto-Belisol) @ 4min 10sec
  41. Sergey Lagutin (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  42. Hubert Dupont (Ag2r) @ 4min 27sec
  43. Diego Ulissi (Lampre) @ 4min 47sec
  44. Volodymir Gustov (Saxo) @ 4min 51sec
  45. Grischa Niermann (Rabobank) @ 5min 3sec
  46. Jan Bakelants (Radio shack-Nissan) @ 6min 3sec
  47. Carlos José Ochoa (Androni Giocattoli) @ 8min 45sec
  48. Thomas Rohregger (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 8min 49sec
  49. Przemyslaw Niemiex (Lampre) @ 10min 36sec
  50. Oliver Zaugg (Radi Shack-Nissan) @ 10min 42sec

Points Competition

  1. Red jersey Mark Cavendish (Sky): 106 points
  2. Matthew Harley Goss (Orica-GreenEdge): 75
  3. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha): 55
  4. Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF): 49
  5. Alexander Kristoff (Katusha): 49

Climbers' Competition

  1. Blue Jersey Michal Golas (Omega Pharma-Quick Step): 34 points
  2. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli): 24
  3. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana): 9
  4. Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF): 9
  5. Jan Bakelants (Radio Shack-Nissan): 9

Young Rider

  1. White jersey Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) 54hr 22min 17sec
  2. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) @ 8sec
  3. Sergio Henao (Sky) @ 25sec
  4. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 1min 1sec
  5. Tom Jelte Slagter (Rabobank) @ 1min 41sec

Team GC:

  1. Movistar: 161hr 49min 29sec
  2. Liquigas @ 1min 51sec
  3. BMC @ 2min 2sec
  4. Omega Pharma-Quick Step @ 2min 49sec
  5. Astana @ 2min 54sec
  6. Garmin-Barracuda @ 3min 35sec

Stage 13 map and profile

Stage 13 map

Stage 13 map

Stage 13 profile

Stage 13 profile

Stage 13 photos:

Haedo brothers

The Haedos, Juan José and Lucas Sebastian

Joaquin Rodriguez

No pink bike for Rodriguez

Day's break

The day's break, Francesco Failli and Martijn Keizer

FDJ-Big Mat

FDJ-Big Mat did a lot of work at the front today

Stage 13 finish

The charge for the line

Stage 13 finish

Mark Cavendish already knows he's got it and is starting to sit up.

Mark Cavendish

That makes three stage wins this Giro for Cavendish

Joaquin Rodriguez

Joaquin Rodriguez will take the maglia rosa into the mountains tomorrow.