BikeRaceInfo: Current and historical race results, plus interviews, bikes, travel, and cycling history

find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter See our youtube channel Melanoma: It started with a freckle Schwab Cycles South Salem Cycleworks frames Neugent Cycling Wheels Peaks Coaching: work with a coach! Shade Vise sunglass holder Advertise with us!

Search our site:
Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter

2012 Giro D'Italia: Stage 10

Back to 2012 Giro page | Stage 10 map and profile | Photos from Stage 10 |

Stage 10, May 15: Civitavecchia - Assisi, 186 km

Stage 10 finish

The Race: The day's break was caught just before the high-speed rip up the hill to the center of Assisi. Tom Jelte Slagter led for a lot of the ascent in the town, but Joaquin Rodriguez was in his element with a clean win that gave himthe 20-second time bonus, and the maglia rosa. I think it's going to be very hard to take it away from him.


  1. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) 4hr 25min 5sec. 42.099 km/hr
  2. Bartosz Huzarski (NetApp) @ 2sec
  3. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) s.t.
  4. Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF) @ 6sec
  5. John Gadret (Ag2r) s.t.
  6. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  7. Tom Jelte Slagter (Rabobank) s.t.
  8. Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) s.t.
  9. Roman Kreuziger (Astana) s.t.
  10. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) s.t.
  11. Gianluca Brambilla (Colnago-CSF) s.t.
  12. Benat Intxausti (Movistar) s.t.
  13. Sergio Henao (Sky) s.t.
  14. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana) s.t.
  15. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) s.t.
  16. Hubert Dupont (Ag2r) s.t.
  17. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) s.t.
  18. Eros Capecchi (Liquigas) s.t.
  19. Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) s.t.
  20. Mikel Nieve (Euskaltel) s.t.
  21. Marzio Bruseghin (Movistar) @ 12sec
  22. Damiano Cunego (Lampre) s.t.
  23. José Rujano (Androni Giocattoli) @ 15sec
  24. Marco Pinotti (BMC) s.t.
  25. Jon Izaguirre (Euskaltel) s.t.
  26. Sergio Pardilla (Movistar) @ 20sec
  27. Sergey Lagurtin (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  28. Johann Tschopp (BMC) @ 23sec
  29. Serge Pauwels (Omega Pharma-Quick Stp) s.t.
  30. Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil) @ 26sec
  31. Frank Schleck (Radio Shack-Nissan) s.t.
  32. Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  33. Sylvester Szmyd (Liquigas) s.t.
  34. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 29sec
  35. Julien Vermote (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 38sec
  36. Juan José Oroz (Euskaltel) @ 42sec
  37. Kevin Seeldrayers (Astana) s.t.
  38. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Barracuda) s.t.
  39. Bart De Clercq (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  40. Francis De Greef (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  41. Daniel Moreno (Katusha) s.t.
  42. Grischa Niermann (Rabobank) @ 57sec
  43. Gaetan Bille (Lotto-Belisol) @ 1min 0sec
  44. Sandy Casar (FDJ-Big Mat) s.t.
  45. Juan Antonio Flecha (Sky) @ 1min 7sec
  46. Lars Ytting Bak (Lotto-Belisol) s.t.
  47. José Herrada (Movistar) @ 1min 9sec
  48. Oscar Gatto (Farnese Vini) @ 1min 11sec
  49. Carlos José Ochoa (Androni Giocattoli) @ 1min 13sec
  50. Volodymir Gustov (Saxo) sa.t.

GC after Stage 10:

  1. Pink Jersey Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha) 40hr 27min 34sec
  2. Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 17sec
  3. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana) @ 32sec
  4. Roman Kreuziger (Astana) @ 52sec
  5. Benat Intxausti (Movistar) s.t.
  6. Ivan Basso (Liquigas) @ 57sec
  7. Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) @ 1min 2sec
  8. Dario Cataldo (Omega Pharma-Quick Step)
  9. Eros Capecchi (Liquigas) @ 1min 9sec
  10. Rigoberto Uran (Sky) @ 1min 10sec
  11. Michele Scarponi (Lampre) @ 1min 11sec
  12. Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF) @ 1min 12sec
  13. Frank Schleck (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 1min 25sec
  14. Sergio Henao (Sky) @ 1min 27sec
  15. Damiano Cunego (Lampre) @ 1min 37sec
  16. Bartosz Huzarski (NetApp) @ 1min 48sec
  17. Sergio Pardilla (Movistar) @ 1min 51sec
  18. Sylvester Szmyd (Liquigas) @ 1min 53sec
  19. Johann Tschopp (BMC) @ 2min 2sec
  20. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 2min 3sec
  21. Thomas De Gendt (Vacansoleil) @ 2min 5sec
  22. Giovanni Visconti (Movistar) @ 2min 6sec
  23. Marco Pinotti (BMC) @ 2min 9sec
  24. Christian Vande Velde (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 2min 11sec
  25. Daniel Moreno (Katusha) @ 2min 16sec
  26. Serge Pauwels (Omega Pharma-Quick Step) @ 2min 28sec
  27. Tom Jelte Slagter (Rabobank) @ 2min 43sec
  28. Marzio Bruseghin (Movistar) @ 2min 47sec
  29. John Gadret (Ag2r) @ 2min 55sec
  30. Gianluca Brambilla (Colnago-CSF) @ 2min 58sec
  31. Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil) @ 3min 3sec
  32. José Rujano (Androni Giocattoli) @ 3min 5sec
  33. Juan Manuel Garate (Rabobank) @ 3min 8sec
  34. Kevin Seeldrayers (Astana) s.t.
  35. Mikel Nieve (Euskaltel) @ 3min 35sec
  36. Bart De Clercq (Lotto-Belisol) @ 3min 45sec
  37. Sandy Casar (FDJ-Big Mat) @ 4min 1sec
  38. Francis De Greef (lotto-Belisol) @ 4min 10sec
  39. Sergey Lagutin (Vacansoleil) s.t.
  40. Ivan Santaromita (BMC) @ 4min 16sec
  41. Hubert Dupont (Ag2r) @ 4min 27sec
  42. Diego Ulissi (Lampre) @ 4min 47sec
  43. Volodymir Gustov (Saxo) @ 4min 51sec
  44. Grischa Niermann (Rabobank) @ 5min 3sec
  45. Jon Izaguirre (Euskaltel) @ 6min 9sec
  46. Przemslaw Niemiec (Lampre) @ 6min 12sec
  47. Oliver Zaugg (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 6min 42sec
  48. Jackson Rodriguez (Androni Giocattoli) @ 7min 8sec
  49. Thomas Rohregger (Radio Shack-Nissan) @ 7min 12sec
  50. José Herrada (Movistar) @ 7min 55sec

Points Competition

  1. Red jersey Matthew Harley Goss (Orica-GreenEdge): 65 points
  2. Mark Cavendish (Sky): 62
  3. Joaquin Rodriguez (Katusha): 55
  4. Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF): 49
  5. Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli): 36

Climbers' Competition

  1. Blue Jersey Miguel Angel Rubiano (Androni Giocattoli): 24 points
  2. Michal Golas (Omega Pharma-Quick Step): 16
  3. Paolo Tiralongo (Astana): 9
  4. Domenico Pozzovivo (Colnago-CSF): 9
  5. Cesare Benedetti (NetApp): 7

Young Rider

  1. White jersey Damiano Caruso (Liquigas) 40hr 28min 36sec
  2. Rigoberto Uran (sky) @ 8sec
  3. Sergio Henao (Sky) @ 25sec
  4. Peter Stetina (Garmin-Barracuda) @ 1min 1sec
  5. Tom Jelte Slagter (Rabobank) @ 1min 41sec


Filippo Pozzato (Farnese Vini)

Stage 10 map and profile

Stage 10 map

Stage 10 map

Stage 10 profile

Stage 10 profile

Photos from stage 10:

JJoaquin Rodriguez

Before the start Rodriguez checks his bike.


The peloton gets underway.


Nice picture from Fotoreporter Sirotti of the pack riding in echelons (ventagli in Italian)

Ryder Hejedal

The Garmin team at the front with Hesjedal tucked in behind them.


After 10 stages there are 190 riders left in the peloton.

Frank Schleck

Frank Schleck lost time today.

Paolo Tiralongo

Paolo Tiralongo leads Joaquin Rodriguez up into the heart of Assisi. The famous basilica of St. Francis is behind them

Paolo Tiralongo

Tiralongo attacks.

Pelton in Assisi

The same place, from further back.

Stage 10 finish

Is the man who is going to win the 2012 Giro?


Huzarski and Visconti

Bartosz Huzarski and Giovanni Visconti finish right behind Rodriguez

John Gadret an Ryder Hesjedal

John Gadret and Ryder Hesjedal rode well today.

Damiano Caruso and Michele Scarponi

Damiano Caruso and Michele Scarponi

Christian Vande Velde

So far Christian Vande Velde has been turning in a really solid ride.

Mark Cavendish

Almost 8 minues after Rodriguez, Mark Cavendish with Geraint Thomas and Matthew Harley Goss ride the final meters.

Joaquin Rodriguez

Joaquin Rodriguez celebrates taking the maglia rosa.